HUDs have been around for generations of fighter aircraft already.Originally posted by nWo:"Things like being able to command the plane through voice control. I can do many tasks by simply talking to the plane. In my helmet, I have tactical information so wherever I'm looking, I don't have to look at the displays in the cockpit. Wherever I'm looking behind, outside I still have information available to me, this head-up-head-out looking out the plane is vitally important," he said.
Yup... a 1:1 wooden scale model. Like in 1996, 1998, 2000 and 2002. Ooohs and ahhhs...forgive me for not jumping up and down in excitement.Singaporeans may get a glimpse of the Eurofighter Typhoon next month at Asian Aerospace.
But the Defence Ministry is not expected to make its final choice till 2005. - CNA
Not to mention Singapore would be able to integrate weapons that are not currently used by the French, such as Python 4, Derby, Mavericks, etc.Originally posted by NathanG5:sound like a gd deal to me...
Python 4? Behind time liao Joe Black!Originally posted by Joe Black:Not to mention Singapore would be able to integrate weapons that are not currently used by the French, such as Python 4, Derby, Mavericks, etc.
If RSAF does end up with Rafales, I hope we get both the active radar Mica as well as the IR version as primary AAMs.
HUDs have been around for generations of fighter aircraft already.the pilot is talking about his helmet mounted display (HMSS)
As for voice-activation, he conveniently forgot that the first operational (which is more than we can call the Typhoon) fighter to use that also happens to be one of the Typhoon's rival; the Rafale
Originally posted by Viper52:I cannot help but feel the need to correct your points. i've always held your comments with high regards but this time u write no different from many xiao di di here.[/b]
Yup... a 1:1 wooden scale model. Like in 1996, 1998, 2000 and 2002. Ooohs and ahhhs...forgive me for not jumping up and down in excitement.
A fighter that
1)has not even been cleared to make intercontinental flights to visit potential customer countries
[b] did LM flew a blk 52 anywhere to sell it to customers? did the F-16A flew here to convice rsaf to buy? did eurofighter flew to greece or austria to convice them to buy? did gripen flew to south africa to convice them to buy it? u are not a pilot so don't comment anything about 'cleared for intercontinental flight' u think what, need faa, caa jaa certification just to fly across borders ah? or to cross the atlantic? the fu!cking costs of AA is putting off alot of companies, its bloody expensive to come for AA. 1998 the sukhoi's fuel for the flying display was sponsored by alpha-s cos they got no more $$ to buy fuel. its cheaper to fly rsaf pilots on 1st class to europe and fly the plane there then to come for AA and what? just to give CAF a joy ride huh
2) Has a test program that has delayed again and again
rafale A flew 1st 4 july 1986, rafale C 1991, wow no delays huh
3) suffered so many cost overruns it scandalous
rafale dun have meh? well maybe french have better accountants
4) designed and built by a partnership about as solid as a house of cards
and still can convice so many countries to buy it
5) claims to be multirole...eventually (when the eventuality is, well another matter)
correct on this one
6) is dependent on a BVR missile from a country we can trust as far as we can throw as its primary BVRAAM, until 2012 (best case scenario)
no comments
I don't want to mention the crash because it was a one-off accident that I believe does not reflect on the product in any way
up against a solid combat proven design which proven its multirole ability, and the other who started life on the drawing board later than the Typhoon but whose pure A/A version is in operational service already while the delivery date of the first operational multirole version is imminent.
Need I say more?[/b]
My bad. But all the same, helmet-mounted displays are not new, and certainly not pioneered by the Eurofighter.Originally posted by cavsg:the pilot is talking about his helmet mounted display (HMSS)
DVI? no big deal, it was took out of the raptor becos the pilots didn't like it. some more its not used for safety critical systems like weapons firing.
The question is will it be economical/worth it to buy this plane? The carrot being dangled to the Mindef is the opprotunity to develop the AESA version of the Rafale's radar, and probably plus some other technology thrown in for good measure...Originally posted by wombat:Source : MIW Website
Article dated 3rd November 2003
Singapore assured of French support in warplane deal
Singapore gets French government support in joint on-board radar development and greater access to training areas in France if Rafale is chosen over two other aircraft...
Should Singapore go with the French aviation giant, Dassault Aviation, in opting for Rafale as the warplane to replace the SAF's aging A-4 Super Skyhawks, greater collaboration is expected in the pipeline. For one, a joint development of the Rafale's on-board radar - the advanced RBE-2 radar, is expected. This was reinforced by Marc Perrin de Brichambaut, the French Defence Ministry strategic affairs director, "It's true that if you get involved in the Rafale, the development of the new radar is to be done jointly."
Another plus factor for choosing the multi-role French fighter craft would grant "air space scarce" Singapore greater access to air force training areas in France.
Currently, MINDEF has short listed 3 fighter crafts from 3 respective contenders - F15T Strike Eagle from Boeing; Rafale from Dassault Aviation and Euro Typhoon from a consortium of European aircraft companies, in supplying sophisticated warplanes for the Republic's Air Force. If MINDEF does go with the Rafale deal, this will supplement its previous order of 6 stealth frigates from France's Direction des Constructions Navales International (DCN). The 110m-long frigates are being built both in France and in Singapore. They are expected to be commissioned here in Singapore in 2005.
The stealth warship is built with maximum security and firepower under its hood. It will be armed with guns, anti-aircraft and anti-ship missiles, making it self-contained. To add to its already "invincible" status, each frigate will have a naval helicopter on board for search and destroy missions of enemy submarines. According to Mr de Brichambaut, the frigates are equipped with the best equipment, "...you (Singapore) have tended to choose the best equipment on these frigates. Most of that equipment has not been integrated before on a project of this scale."
A spin-off from this defence arrangement is France benefiting from Singapore geo-political knowledge of the region. Singapore's awareness of regional developments in a broader context will as a consequence aid France it its counter-terrorism planning. - Patrick, G.
Typhoon is not coming to AA2004. Featured in Fri 13 Feb ZaoBao, page 2.Originally posted by Viper52:Yup... a 1:1 wooden scale model. Like in 1996, 1998, 2000 and 2002. Ooohs and ahhhs...forgive me for not jumping up and down in excitement.
A fighter that
1)has not even been cleared to make intercontinental flights to visit potential customer countries
Originally posted by Viper52:Well from what i heard...the Singapore version still being assembled......
[b]
did LM flew a blk 52 anywhere to sell it to customers? did the F-16A flew here to convice rsaf to buy? did eurofighter flew to greece or austria to convice them to buy? did gripen flew to south africa to convice them to buy it? u are not a pilot so don't comment anything about 'cleared for intercontinental flight' u think what, need faa, caa jaa certification just to fly across borders ah? or to cross the atlantic? the fu!cking costs of AA is putting off alot of companies, its bloody expensive to come for AA. 1998 the sukhoi's fuel for the flying display was sponsored by alpha-s cos they got no more $$ to buy fuel. its cheaper to fly rsaf pilots on 1st class to europe and fly the plane there then to come for AA and what? just to give CAF a joy ride huh
The original thrust of my argument is similar to that in the 2nd point below. For an aircraft that has been in development so long, it is nothing short of surprising, to say the least, that it is still not cleared for long flights. If you want to use yardsticks of its competitors, Rafale C flew in 1991 yet it managed to make its first flight here in 1996 (actually it was the Rafale B that came then, and it's first flight was in 1993). DA1 made its first flight in 1994, has 7 test aircraft and yet its test program has not achieved the milestones of its rival. Of course its simplistic to use this head-to-head consortium, and I'm not using it to knock the Typhoon, but my point, like it always has been, is that the delays and other political issues affecting the consortium and aircraft make it a very risky choice to make.
As for the part of FAA, CAA etc etc, thats not what I'm talking about. The fact is that he aircraft is not cleared by the consortium for long flights. Not the authorities, it is the companies who are developing the aircraft who have not cleared their own product for long flights. And that, is the official word. Not some rumour
I don't know what they mean by that, Singapore version being assembled? The Tranche 1 is still in low rate production, going to the 4 consortium members. The Tranche 2 is still mostly on paper, like the Tranche 3.Originally posted by |-|05|:Well from what i heard...the Singapore version still being assembled......
Oh and 1 more thing...the french actually flew the damn plane all the way here?Who refueled them ar?
That's what the people at the eurofighter at AA04 said.Originally posted by Viper52:I don't know what they mean by that, Singapore version being assembled? The Tranche 1 is still in low rate production, going to the 4 consortium members. The Tranche 2 is still mostly on paper, like the Tranche 3.
The Rafale has flown here since AA'96, usually with Mirage 2000s. Refueled by French AF C-135FR tankers with stopovers in a few countries.
Of course S'pore would get all this, no problem at all. And with some SCALP-EG and AASM on top of that !Originally posted by Joe Black:Not to mention Singapore would be able to integrate weapons that are not currently used by the French, such as Python 4, Derby, Mavericks, etc.
If RSAF does end up with Rafales, I hope we get both the active radar Mica as well as the IR version as primary AAMs.
On Typhoon probably, on Rafale forget it.Originally posted by touchstone_2000:Any idea we will be allowed to use US missiles (AIM-120, Maverick, Harpoon etc) on the Typhoon and Rafale?