Originally posted by tankee1981:In the Jan 2004 issue of the Pioneer magazine, there is an small section on the 3rd battalion,Singapore Guards on stand-by duty over the New Year holidays. There are 2 photos included. I noticed that the helmet which was worn is not the usual one which we wear. Firstly there is no camoflage netting on the helmet. Secondly, there seems to be something sticking out in front of the helmet and resembles that of a one of attachment for NVD. Thirdly, the helmet have a more shiny surface(as seen from the reflection of sunlight)as compared to the standard helmet.Does it means that its made of a new material such as composites as opposed to kevlar? One of my friends said that this is a special helmet to be worn for FIBUA operations. This means that one of the missions of the Guards is to enage the enemy in urban environment. Can anyone confirm this?
Another point to bring up is that ,i notice a case on the floor on the parade ground in the photo on the right. I guess its a ATGM,most likely to be the Milan.Can anyone confirm this? Thanks![]()
Originally posted by tankee1981:In the Jan 2004 issue of the Pioneer magazine, there is an small section on the 3rd battalion,Singapore Guards on stand-by duty over the New Year holidays. There are 2 photos included. I noticed that the helmet which was worn is not the usual one which we wear. Firstly there is no camoflage netting on the helmet. Secondly, there seems to be something sticking out in front of the helmet and resembles that of a one of attachment for NVD. Thirdly, the helmet have a more shiny surface(as seen from the reflection of sunlight)as compared to the standard helmet.Does it means that its made of a new material such as composites as opposed to kevlar? One of my friends said that this is a special helmet to be worn for FIBUA operations. This means that one of the missions of the Guards is to enage the enemy in urban environment. Can anyone confirm this?
Another point to bring up is that ,i notice a case on the floor on the parade ground in the photo on the right. I guess its a ATGM,most likely to be the Milan.Can anyone confirm this? Thanks![]()
yeap..i also take out my camo netting..n its look just the same lor..Originally posted by 21Alpha:No lah, not new helmet...just new chinstrap only with a chincup only lah
the Delta are using ice hockey helmets..Originally posted by Moonstriker:the helmets look like the ones used by Delta in Somalia and also airsoft helmet replicas.
Only BRCs wear jungle hat. Scouts like to wear them only when no one is looking.what do u mean by this? scouts, like brc, are also 'qualified' to wear jungle hat...
x 2Originally posted by TVaddict:what do u mean by this? scouts, like brc, are also 'qualified' to wear jungle hat...
probably din get through.....try again...Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Hmm something weird, my post didn't get through... did I post anything considered to be sensitive information? Seems like it was a pretty innae commentary on our PAGST helmets...
huh? dun think anyone wud be so silly as to wax the helmet rite??Originally posted by Shotgun:I think they waxed their helmet for this parade. I never seen helmet so shiny b4....
Stupid hor... Prince Lee decreed no need to polish boots, they go polish helmet.