Originally posted by vleelee:wothout disclosing too much, let's share some of our most cocked up missions you have experienced.
Let me start ...
story 1:
my platoon was on fighting patrol. encountered an 'enemy' seciton in our area of ops. set up hasty ambush. sprung ambush on enemy that turned out to be a section of medics on topo exercise. so we lanlan wasted blanks and flashes and moved on. less than 15 minutes later, we heard another ambush being sprung. turned out that the same medic section was ambushed again by another platoon.
story2:
I was on listening post duty. saw a white body within my area around 4am odd. could not distinguish whar it was. asked my 2i/c to come over and both of us blur blur. after 5 minutes (becos we did not have NVD), my 2i/c shouted for authentication. No answer and we stand2 and engaged enemy. turned out to be a white dog with patches of black spots on its head. the whole platoon had to move out and find another spot to camp because of our engagement.
story3:
safincos days. was on fighting patrol. section kana engaged and was in disadvantage position. was suppose to do a fire and withdrawal. for some gung ho reason the section cmd shouted for charge. the problem was that we were in a 1 up position (9 man section - 3 man group) and the other 2 groups did not hear him. then to make matters worse, only the section cmd charged into the enemy ... with a jammed rifle. the instructor was laughing so much that he called off the engagement. the enemy still blur blur what happened ... of how only 1 guy was charging at them.
story4:
ever do trench digging with the enemy company only 50m away from you? it happened to me. i think becos the training schedule and booking of the training area all cocked up. so the enemy company was within ear shot of us. so we carried out fighting missions within a 50m radius ... cock lah ...
story5:
fibua village ... out of the whole platoon, only 6 guys could clear the wall before entering the fibua area. the rest were like flies on the wind screen. sigh ... PC also give up. OC also give up WITS suggestion was to include ladders into fibua missions. are they doing it yet ?
Originally posted by Shotgun:LOL. This isn't a mission.. but it sure as hell is funny.
Location, P. Tekong. One of the field camp locations.
Particular company of recruits were doing their field camp.
Some illegal immigrants were fooled that tekong was Singapore and landed there, stuck and hungry. Desperate for food... they saw the company's campsite in the middle of the night to surrender. And they approached there until a recruit on guard duty spotted them, and gave them the usual "HALT" bullshit.
The illegal immigrants were discovered by this recruit, with an empty M-16. They didn't even have blanks.
Imagine if these desperate immigrant's intention was not to surrender? But to steal food? Perhaps some recruits would have been injured in the struggle that ensued.
Hmmm then again, i would have gladly given my crappy combat rations to them and help me finish them by the next morning.
didnt report? tekong so easy get in?Originally posted by Shotgun:LOL. This isn't a mission.. but it sure as hell is funny.
Location, P. Tekong. One of the field camp locations.
Particular company of recruits were doing their field camp.
Some illegal immigrants were fooled that tekong was Singapore and landed there, stuck and hungry. Desperate for food... they saw the company's campsite in the middle of the night to surrender. And they approached there until a recruit on guard duty spotted them, and gave them the usual "HALT" bullshit.
The illegal immigrants were discovered by this recruit, with an empty M-16. They didn't even have blanks.
Imagine if these desperate immigrant's intention was not to surrender? But to steal food? Perhaps some recruits would have been injured in the struggle that ensued.
Hmmm then again, i would have gladly given my crappy combat rations to them and help me finish them by the next morning.
the previous incarnation of sispecOriginally posted by kY|e-_-o:whats safincos?
I was in E Company Safincos '91. Didn't know that the bunk was torn up...heheh. Somemore I was Section 2 so that should have been my bunk.Originally posted by vleelee:
was preparing for another mission in the infamous pasir laba camp safincos 'f-ing echo' company. it was about 5am and the tonners were coming into our compound. the trainees were preparing and most were in the loo shitting and brushing teeth (incidently we were using the vietnam war method of eating 1/2 jar of peanut butter before going to mission so we dun need to dig shit hole in the jungle). the old echo company was the only company that was using the 2 story long house method. then from out of no where ... BANG !!! the building shook .... wah ... really shook. the whole world woke up and saw the tonner slam into the building. the canopy of the tonner was ripped and the 2nd floor of the ocmpany building was shattered (you see e company was built of wood lah). poor section 2 had to split up and bunk with section 1 and 3 for 2 weeks before repairs were done. wah ... OC screw the MTO and the driver ... then went into the mission bad mood ... man ... we never realise that a tonner doing a slow reverse can have so much 'power'.
Originally posted by vleelee:Hello to you too.
[b]oh hello fellow 'f-ing echo'.
b]
err.. dun think one incident took him out lor.. he prob not realli mentally strong to begin wif. dun be too hard on urself!Originally posted by Silenthunter:Sispec, BSLC
Open-terrain topo exercise in LCK.....My buddy was sick so I was pair up with another guy from the same section... He's a good guy, friendly, hardworking (did own pullups during free time) and good attittude. I was relief and happy comparing him with my bad-mouthing joker buddy...
Day time was happening but too long to talk about it here... so the exercise carried on till night and we continue on our night Topo.Dunno want to say we garang or we cock, we bashed all the way hoping to cross to the other side faster...BIG MISTAKE
It seemed so near in the map....only 500m but we've been bashing for 3 hours to no available, it's like the forest ate us up (dun laugh, it's only our 2nd topo that time in our military life)...
We were tired, thirsty and our specs fog up during the heat and sweat with the cold night. I tried to encourage my partner that we're near. In the dark canopies of the vegetation we saw white exposed patches ahead and I told my partner that it must be the road. We bash towards the "bar patch" only to find a large field of grass and some more thick vegetation ahead. This carry on for a few fields...
My partner, who took point, was bashing cutting away the thick vegetation and suddenly he freaked out and shouted "AAAAAHHHHHH! I DON"T WANNA WALK ANYMORE!!!!" He just sits there and doesn't want to move. I panicked and tried to calm he down and ended up scolded by him..."Fark! it's your fault! We're lost!!" This is the first time I hear him scold the F word in BMT/SISPEC....
I radioed back to HQ and was told to back track so I took point and bash all the way back...After we manage to get out, my partner then started to apologize for scolding me saying he felt remorse.....Oh that a sh*t day!!
I felt i was kindda responsible and I stress him out......cos later he showed sign of stress up and was constantly seeking consultation....he pass out SISPEC and proceeded to Armor Commander course...but OOCed and was never heard of by anyone I knew.....felt bad....
I knew I farked him up!!![]()