wa seh.. firefight during POI?? I thought POI personnels are issued live rounds????!?!?!?Originally posted by smisig:Hi There..found ur website by chance last week..So here is mine cock up mission
Happen last year during our ICT for Patrolling for installation (POI)of Clementi Camp (next to the indutrial park) .AS part of the duites all vehicles were stopped before a stop spikes, an excersie vheicle was acting as a bomb truck and was cordoen off to 1 area, the civilian vehicle (Lexus) immediaelty behind it getting impatient tot the sgt was waving him to go, (actually the guy was asking him to stop). The poor guy in the lexus just step on the gas ..hehe bang the 1st 2 front tire just could take the spikes..the comms was just yelling and the CO was running toward the guard post.The commotion lasted for 1/2 hr as the guy was agruing with the CO and sentries on duties who shld pay..he lost in the the end.. later in the afternoon there was another vehicles and a motorcycles that was also "stopped" in the same way. the latter had to atted by the MO
The next was the unit before us and it happen. Any one working at Clementi Indutrial park? , went for the briefing for POI and the conducting officer (Maj i think) was not at all happy, he keep telling us not to challenge anyone outside the compond, It turns out that the previous units as contacted by the acting enemy outside the camp at 11++pm , the reservist so garang that they chase all the way into the next road and the enemy in turn fire back. Imagine u working late and all of a sudden GPMG and thunderflash..someone call the police and 1 patrol car came, had to call for more cars as they didnt expect to see the firefight..in the end the brigade chief has to come back to camp to settle all this..

Originally posted by smisig:Wah liao, so cockup. during my time , the POI , firefight portion of the exercise was done in a partially deserted camp where we built up many firing postions all over the exercise area.
The next was the unit before us and it happen. Any one working at Clementi Indutrial park? , went for the briefing for POI and the conducting officer (Maj i think) was not at all happy, he keep telling us not to challenge anyone outside the compond, It turns out that the previous units as contacted by the acting enemy outside the camp at 11++pm , the reservist so garang that they chase all the way into the next road and the enemy in turn fire back. Imagine u working late and all of a sudden GPMG and thunderflash..someone call the police and 1 patrol car came, had to call for more cars as they didnt expect to see the firefight..in the end the brigade chief has to come back to camp to settle all this..[/b]

wah. den he had to forkout $13,000? major bleeding sia.Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:In another case, one of my friends in signals was out on a field exercise where they had to establish HQ comms by stringing out a $13,000 dollar 600 meter lan cable to establish command network.
In the meantime, one of the signals guys got hungry and he took out his mess cooker, set it on the ground, broke out a packet of maggie mee, started a fire, and started cooking. It didn't take long.
Comms down! Comms down!
It turned out he was making his fire on top of the lan cable. As those fiberoptic cables cannot be repaired like normal ones (as well as SAF too lazy to actually repair it), they had to sign the 1206 for the entire cable, cooking up some story on how a generator was placed accidently on the cable causing it to burn through.
I think they got off with their generator placed on lan cable as an "honest" mistake as it was a night exercise...Originally posted by Groovee:wah. den he had to forkout $13,000? major bleeding sia.
can sucker enemy into wasting rounds shooting at it.Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Except for armour plating, of course.
well how come i'm not suprised.Originally posted by Gedanken:The cadet was an SAF scholar, so he didn?t get much more than a reprimand.
Bo-leh.. any1 doing POI at Clementi Camp knows that the contact drill alway at the front gate and side gate which was infront on an open road to some Idust Bldg...I pity those rich pp living there.at nite thunderflash and GPMG fire ( there is some ang-mo hse we can see from our bunks...Maybe after Setp when i m back from POI I can share any cock up mission, may tried to get some photosOriginally posted by gary1910:Wah liao, so cockup. during my time , the POI , firefight portion of the exercise was done in a partially deserted camp where we built up many firing postions all over the exercise area.
We were told then that if we encounter "enemy " outside the compound, we are not to fire or challenge him but report the incident to the police and let the police handle them unless of course fired upon.
If the enemy retreat from the compound, we are to stay put and let the police handle them. That is the right procedure.
So not to kena Tio Hu Li San!!!
The training officers for this incident sure get hell from the TC's commander!!!
Ehh, I'm not going to get into this. I've started enough trouble before and I've learned my lesson!Originally posted by HENG@:well how come i'm not suprised.
how responsible of all involved.
no worries. whats fact is fact. no use hiding the truth, and nothing for ppl to argue about.Originally posted by Gedanken:Ehh, I'm not going to get into this. I've started enough trouble before and I've learned my lesson!![]()
My time, there was no blank issued to us, lot of wayang and running abt at Clementi Camp, I believe it is due the camp is too near to public eye for us to use thunderflashes & blanks.Originally posted by smisig:Bo-leh.. any1 doing POI at Clementi Camp knows that the contact drill alway at the front gate and side gate which was infront on an open road to some Idust Bldg...I pity those rich pp living there.at nite thunderflash and GPMG fire ( there is some ang-mo hse we can see from our bunks...Maybe after Setp when i m back from POI I can share any cock up mission, may tried to get some photos![]()

They still using these?Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Signals is full of funny stories... there's one where my friend in signals was involved in the creation of this battlefield computer... it was actually a ruggerized IBM 250mhz PC... but dunno how they ruggerized it until it's various versions weighed from 250 kilos to 1 ton! Most of the weight came from it's reinforced gigantic monitor to allow the top brass to see it from afar... Apparently nobody in R&D thought of using a projector instead of a screen!
Anyway, that thing was so tough that it could probably survive being hit by bullets or a near miss by an arty shell... it could do anything but work. The IBM PC was slow, the software was buggy and it hung frequently... what's worse, the 200 dollar keyboard cable tended to get loose if you pulled it too hard and the only way to plug it back in was to take the unit apart!
Rumour has it that these battle computer units are siting in storage in some military base waiting for use in a time of war... considering the battlefield computing equipment we have now, my signals friend is not optimistic that anyone might use it at all.
Except for armour plating, of course.
Well we can't possibly deprive the SAF and maybe even Singapore of a future leader just because of a silly and insignificant issue like having a rifle stolen while next to him, can we?Originally posted by HENG@:well how come i'm not suprised.
how responsible of all involved.
is that meant in a sacarstic way or are u defending him?Originally posted by Viper52:Well we can't possibly deprive the SAF and maybe even Singapore of a future leader just because of a silly and insignificant issue like having a rifle stolen while next to him, can we?![]()
Heng, don't worry man, I was being sarcastic.I guess the sarcasm was too well disguised that it caused the misunderstanding...Originally posted by HENG@:If u're defending him, consider these points.
1stly how can u be sure he's a future leader.
2ndly how does it bode for a future leader to be as irresponsible to lose something SIGNIFICANT like a deadly weapon?
3rdly how does it speak about biasedness and fairness in the SAF?
an ordinary soldier might face getting charged to teach him about responsibility. so our future leaders do not need to learn about responsibility. now i feel comforted about our future.
and i didn't know learning about responsibility would ruin ones career. the bad ones stumble from their mistakes. the real talents climb higher still because of their mistakes.
yeah... i actually missed e sacarsm on e 1st pass...Originally posted by Viper52:Heng, don't worry man, I was being sarcastic.I guess the sarcasm was too well disguised that it caused the misunderstanding...
A check with some previous posts would show my stand on the scholar system in place and the large cracks which many "slip through".
I agree with all the points you make, but unfortunately all too often its the story of Singapore today, not just in the SAF.