Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:In another case, one of my friends in signals was out on a field exercise where they had to establish HQ comms by stringing out a $13,000 dollar 600 meter lan cable to establish command network.
In the meantime, one of the signals guys got hungry and he took out his mess cooker, set it on the ground, broke out a packet of maggie mee, started a fire, and started cooking. It didn't take long.
Comms down! Comms down!
It turned out he was making his fire on top of the lan cable. As those fiberoptic cables cannot be repaired like normal ones (as well as SAF too lazy to actually repair it), they had to sign the 1206 for the entire cable, cooking up some story on how a generator was placed accidently on the cable causing it to burn through.
Originally posted by Gedanken:The mother of all screwups that I've seen has to be a demonstration mass drop at Tuas - a whole lot of Mindef brass were there to watch. The pallet on which the Mercedes jeep is dropped has 3 parachutes. Damn thing rolled of the Charlie ramp and only one opened. One of the boys was on the ground packing up his chute, heard a rushing noise and dived aside just in time to keep from getting squashed. Write off one Merc and one mounted Milan system. That was not a good day for 3rd transport.
Thats what i hate abt armyOriginally posted by vleelee:Employer visit is a BIG thing.
Employer visit with Tony Tan is a damn BIG BIG thing.
so we in Arty reserve trg centre had this employer visit with Tony Tan.
the visit was planned with a full field kitchen demo and all that. the employers were to bring their wives also. Damn big thing.
Anyway, the demo was 120mm mortar live firing. the targets were on this knoll in safti.
so all the people were in the tentage. Chief of Arty and CDF were also there. ok ... fire mission battery, rounds away.
pop, pop, pop ... boom boom boom ... it seems ok enough
then ... pop pop pop,,, boom boom ,,,,, boooom. the booom happened to come from another knoll.
pop pop pop,,, boom boom ,,,,, boooom. the booom happened to come from the other knoll AGAIN !!
then Tony Tan - da man ... asked ... "err ... why ah?"
wah ... chief of arty said its erratic round. it happens sometimes.
Then Tony Tan asked ... "You sure ? the chances of 2 erratic rounds consecutively ... you sure?"
CDF glared. COA got problem. the battery was ordered to stop and check. Yah lah ... one of the tubes were set with the wrong line and sight.
CDF then signalled the end of live firing and the feasting and partying started.
No good. All the way from COA to the det commander got back side buttered. the reservist CO got it big. They actually had 2 days of meeting in the conference room to wack it all out. And I was sure the minutes of meeting were filled with vulgarities had it not been censored out.
I was there... I was typing the minutes of meeting.
Cock lah ....
As I said in my previous posting, POI was mooted way b4 the 911 incident, SAF believe that our 'enemy' might use unconventional warfare by sabotaging our impt strategic during a period of tension(DEFCON #), something like the incident that happened in MY where rifles were stolen.Originally posted by 12qwaszx:i didn't know POI nowadays got training before deployed leh.
when i was deployed late 2001, all we got was crashed course advanced UC, then ROE briefing, then everyone bring 240 x 5.56 go out liaoz... Knn.. we even have to build the MG nests... hehehe... arrr.... good o' days of lobo.

Originally posted by laurence82:Thats what i hate abt army
the cock ups, the blame culture and the LPPL
Originally posted by wombat:
Parachute jump...somewhere overseas years ago.
After ensuring all chutes are open, we waited for the trainees to recover their chutes, and load it onto the tonner.
Was chatting with the officers, when received a radio call for assistance. So left with the medic to take a look. One fellow was entangled in the tree, and hard to be rescued with chainsaw. The other one...we had to control our laughter, cause he landed [b]waist deep into a huge heap of cow dung, and was stuck.
Dragged him out...and the officers were laughing their heads off, 'congratulating' him for having the "softiest landing" in history. Pity his section mates though, cause although he changed, they had to spent the next 10+ days excerise with him...[/b]
Originally posted by wombat:Hehe. Looks like we may have covered some of the same ground, Wombat.
Parachute jump...somewhere overseas years ago.
After ensuring all chutes are open, we waited for the trainees to recover their chutes, and load it onto the tonner.
Was chatting with the officers, when received a radio call for assistance. So left with the medic to take a look. One fellow was entangled in the tree, and hard to be rescued with chainsaw. The other one...we had to control our laughter, cause he landed [b]waist deep into a huge heap of cow dung, and was stuck.
Dragged him out...and the officers were laughing their heads off, 'congratulating' him for having the "softiest landing" in history. Pity his section mates though, cause although he changed, they had to spent the next 10+ days excerise with him...[/b]
It is one of those hushed up failed projects that anybody who had the "honour" of working on would rather forget.Originally posted by Nothingie:They still using these?
Last time I was in the army, I used laptops for outfield ex liao leh...
& projectors oso using... even $60K plasma screens oso got...
luckily, mi not in G3 branch... who had to be responsible for the plasma screen, too ex liao... anything wrong, then 1206... die....
u forgot to mention telt.Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Oh yah, some Singaporean commanders are over reliant on OHP slides with maps copied on them and ink markers to plan their tatical moves, using up tons of slides and ink markers to get their tatical plans out, the poor grunts assigned with the task of drawing the maps on the OHP slides have a running joke that if malaysia cut our ink marker and OHP slide supply, Singapore is doomed.
Originally posted by wuming78:u forgot to mention telt.![]()
:/Originally posted by wuming78:u forgot to mention telt.![]()
Originally posted by Johnston::/
Had to burn some telt a couple weeks back.
Halfway through, with heavy coughing, we were told to stop and cut them up into itty-bitty pieces.
Ugh~
u joking ar? 1 roll of telt need 2 person + trolley? or issit they issue longer telts nowadays?Originally posted by vleelee:I kana lobo before for a short while and the QM asked me to go and collect a roll of telt. So I blur blur walk all the way to the main store.
Man ... the first time in my life that I know a roll of telt cannot be carried by a person. Is so darn heavy.
then kana walk all the way back to borrow a trolley and another guy so that we can load the telt onto the trolley.
man ... industrial use.
oh yah ... ever tried shredding telt ? whew ... esp after a major exercise ... it takes about 20 odd trash bags to clear them.
but 1 of the more 'stress' jobs was lamination .... 1 false error and its game over ... and the maps are .... ehhh ... gives me the shudders.
the one roll i seen is as tall a a person, heavy tooOriginally posted by Nothingie:u joking ar? 1 roll of telt need 2 person + trolley? or issit they issue longer telts nowadays?
I carried 1 box(2 rolls) b4 leh...
Originally posted by laurence82:the one roll i seen is as tall a a person, heavy too
telt PTOriginally posted by vleelee:Yah ... its like straight from the factory like that.
I am quite sure its more than 40kg ...
a good substitute for log PT