this is the perfect question for sinned!Originally posted by nismoS132:big oversight i forgot to check in my project.
since you're not shooting straight at the target, how do you aim?
spray and pray?
i just answered...Originally posted by wuming78:this is the perfect question for sinned!![]()
150 by 150?Originally posted by s|nNeD:should i actually tell you how? coz i come from the artillery vocation
i guess i should
its a complicated process but i will just tell you the outline of it... firstly there must be a process called ranging to be carried out first... like zeroing of the rifle, ranging is done so that the rounds would land on the target... for this we need "eyes" to observe the target area and hence Foward Observers or in short FOs are needed to observe on the target... FOs would give the target grid of the target by reading it off the map. Then the GPOs (Gun positioning officers) would calculate the line and the quadrant that the howitzer should fire on. So when the artllery howitzers fire off their rounds, we give corrections to adjust the round closer to the target and then GPOs would then calculate the new line and quadrant that the howitzers should fire on...
Basically thats abt it but there is more to the process
cheers...
anyway just some extra info for you, Artillery unlike small arms hits an area target and not pin point target so there is no need for pin point accuracy... one artillery round (155mm calibre) covers and area of 150m by 150m.![]()
ahem... its King of Battefield...Originally posted by laurence82:150 by 150?
No wonder arty is the queen of the battlefield.
How about large arms like aircraft bombs (dumb bombs, carpet bombs, cluster bombs,Fuel Ordnance, mortar rounds, etc etc
wow thanks alot.Originally posted by s|nNeD:So when the artllery howitzers fire off their rounds, we give corrections to adjust the round closer to the target and then GPOs would then calculate the new line and quadrant that the howitzers should fire on...
Originally posted by nismoS132:wow thanks alot.
anyway, during a battlefield, got time for corrections meh? after the 1st shot, the enemy's bound to be alerted and on the move liao right?
area of 150x150 means it's like a cluster bomb? lots of mini rockets inside the main shell?
or it's impact is so strong it blankets an area 150x150?
btw, what's the color of your berets?![]()
Tan can shoot, so can you!Originally posted by Parka:Maybe the arti can cover long range like a few km...if I remember correctly.
Originally posted by nismoS132:Tan can shoot, so can you!
okie... ranging is done even before the whole war thing gets going. and normally... ranging is done somewhere away from the enemy in case of alerting them... if i would have to explain further, it would need you to have the knowledge of a qualified artillery officer to comprehend.Originally posted by nismoS132:wow thanks alot.
anyway, during a battlefield, got time for corrections meh? after the 1st shot, the enemy's bound to be alerted and on the move liao right?
area of 150x150 means it's like a cluster bomb? lots of mini rockets inside the main shell?
or it's impact is so strong it blankets an area 150x150?
btw, what's the color of your berets?![]()
yes you are right... the FH88 155mm field howitzer can cover to a max of 30km while the FH2000 155mm field howitzer can cover up to a distance of 40km.Originally posted by Parka:Maybe the arti can cover long range like a few km...if I remember correctly.
yes... all has to be computed...Originally posted by nismoS132:ooooooh.
got do any compensation for wind?
yeah... i did go thru an arty l/f. have to go thru it then you call yourself an arty officer they say...Originally posted by wuming78:i presume sinned has gone thru an arty l/f? did u get to see the actual impact of the arty rd? isit realli 150 x 150? and how much damage is actualli done?
Originally posted by s|nNeD:You are serious? The amount of explosives packed in a 155mm shell can create a 75m crater when a 9-ton MOAB can barely scorch 200 meters?
yeah... i did go thru an arty l/f. have to go thru it then you call yourself an arty officer they say...well at least thats wat the CO of School of Artillery says...
erm... did my l/f in taiwan... didn't realli manange to go down to the impact area as the taiwanese ppl were doing their l/f too... Anyway, the true impact area (crater) of one round upon detonation on the ground is of a diameter of 75m and the shrapnel supposedly travels for another 75m to make up the figure of 150.not very sure abt this though...
yeah... thats wat they say in the books... plus the speed of the round travelling down... maybe loh...Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:You are serious? The amount of explosives packed in a 155mm shell can create a 75m crater when a 9-ton MOAB can barely scorch 200 meters?
i did say the impact area and not the killing area... but the shrapnel pieces are damn sharp and big big pieces... i've seen it before...Originally posted by wuming78:actualli mabbe to qualify we shud say the danger area is 150 x 150. the lethal area mabbe smaller (or mabbe the same). but the danger area o cos applies to humans - and this means shrapnels and simply thrown up rocks tt can easily kill us. in terms of direct physical impact, dun think it can cause an equally distributed damage over the entire 150 x 150
see? my speed reading skills failed me again.Originally posted by s|nNeD:i did say the impact area and not the killing area... but the shrapnel pieces are damn sharp and big big pieces... i've seen it before...
Originally posted by wuming78:see? my speed reading skills failed me again.![]()