Sorry, i dun really understand. You mean the YFC clubhouse? I dun see anything wrong with it. The replacement for the piper warriors would probably be the CT-4 since we already have 2 of them.Originally posted by cavsg:at this moment, the aircraft still not decided. anyway where to get the money is a problem, you should know yourself. your building is in what state.
the building is not fully completed to the original specs.Originally posted by eurofighter:Sorry, i dun really understand. You mean the YFC clubhouse? I dun see anything wrong with it. The replacement for the piper warriors would probably be the CT-4 since we already have 2 of them.
as far as i noe saf is sticking to the flyer as the spider lsv is for export...but can only confirm when i go bk for reservist this julyOriginally posted by eurofighter:I see. Thanks anyway. Is SAF interested in acquiring the spider LSV or are they satisfied with the flyer?
never wonder why only one CT-4 is flying, why the other one is always in hangar. go ask.Originally posted by eurofighter:ah..insider stuff. dun know much..
So far i have seen one CT-4 doing circuits a few weeks back though. What have they missed out in the building?
I didnt know so many people are crying for the blood of SYFC students.Originally posted by cavsg:never wonder why only one CT-4 is flying, why the other one is always in hangar. go ask.
somemore I'm not from your club and i know more than u. I'm not eligible under YFC rules. the singaporean taxpayer is paying u to get a CAAS ppl-r. but under the air nav order, as long as the eye sight is corrected by visual aids, anyone who have less than ideal eye sight can fly. however, the yfc decided to use rsaf medical rules to select students. so that makes me not eligible to join the yfc. you think its fair for me and the rest of the population who pay taxes and their sons and daughters are not eligible to get a chance which under caas rules they have the right to do.
the yfc should not be called the yfc. its an airforce squadron. look at how you all operate, down wind change tank, stupid! becos airforce follow the policy of downwind change tanks, the yfc must follow, the correct procedure is change to the fullest tank, if its at the fullest tank, you don't change. your instructors cannot have ratings on more than 2 aircraft becos rsaf policy says so but CAAS does not have this policy and yfc is operating under the rules of CAAS!
kid, i tell u lah, u got no passion for flying ok. u just hope to fly and next time join the airforce and hopefully fly the f-16. this is not what i call passion for flying. u dun even know all these things happening in wssl, everyone on both sides of the runway knows it except 'the kids from yfc' u go ask lah, how many of yfc ppl-r went to convert to a full ppl, u never even bother to find out rite, how to get a full ppl. cos u want to go airforce fly f-16. i've seen pple not from yfc who show more passion about flying than you kids over there.
i know a ceo of an mnc who was taking his singapore ppl then, he tells me how he always envy u pple when he see u yfc kids at the flight ops on fridays taking the gnd papers. "those kids are lucky, they just have to study. i got to fly overseas regularly and i can only study on the plane. i have family and i work till late at night" and some more he does not have the 'computer based questions bank' to help him. everybody knows that yfc keep a question bank of caas ppl questions except caas lah. my fren did not have your luck. he studied very single page of travor thom and memorised by hard, he didn't even have a single instructor to teach him ground school. once i was outside seletar camp, there was this girl complaining to her fren that the instructor scolded her, but 'its not my fault, i 3 months never fly already, i got so many things to study' i told myself, why the f-u@c$k am i paying tax to sponsor such a person to fly. govt give let her fly for free and she never cherish it and still want to complain. u guys are lucky, go solo instructor bring you all go tioman eat lunch, pass ppl got cash reward. i always tell your instructors, yfc is wasting my money.
and sad to say, this is what general aviation is about nowadays. i tell pple i'm a pilot and they dun believe me, you wear specs how can be pilot. rsaf, yfc, caas and sia have done alot of damage to general aviation in singapore. more sad to say, i may live long enough to see ga die out in singapore. to me yfc is not about getting ppl, its an airgrading squadron for rsaf. singaporeans are now heading to malaysia to get their ppls, perhaps in 20 years time, if anyone wants to get a ppl, they have to head to malaysia. becos most probably yfc won't accept them and the rest of the flying clubs operating out of seletar will have closed down. even sia closed its flying club and it became seletar flying club, i wonder how long that club can survive.
so kid, you better cherish what u have now. i've seen too many spl who paid their own money and struggle thru the way. learn from them, thats call passion for flying. and if you got time, learn from madam teoah, she got a wealth of experiences that all your instructors combined lose out to her. i'm always honored to have her fly with me.
nonsense, there is 2 other flying clubs in singapore, all u need is $$$. lots of it. or u go johor but its almost the same u pay cos u need to go kl to take ground papers and medical examination, think of airfare and hotel.Originally posted by Moonstriker:i want to join SYFC also cannot..
there goes my dream..... took off and flew away
Originally posted by wombat:If DTG re-wrote the source code......won't they be using another MCU probably COTS (and super garang MIPS back then)?
I believe I read that DTG rewrote the entire source code or something....make it smaller and easier to maintain. More importantly, gives it the ability to update the threat library anytime.
Not much info on the upgrade, as mindef thrown a big blanket of security over it, and is best remain that way. But I am sure being Singaporeans, we sure KS and cramp a lot of interesting items inside...
Article on what I can find on the E2C upgrade.
http://www.ainonline.com/Publications/asian/asian_02/asn_d102_sporeopenspg2.html
[b]Quoting from website
http://www.navyleague.org/seapower/navy_gives_northrup_grumman_gree.htm
The Hawkeye 2000 improvements include a mission computer upgrade (MCU), based on commercial-off-the-shelf technology, that features the use of advanced control indicator sets (ACISs) for workstations. The MCU--smaller, lighter, and more powerful than computers installed in earlier versions of the E-2C--gives the Hawkeye 2000 a cooperative engagement capability (CEC) that provides the aircraft the ability to fuse data from sensors of other platforms and distribute the information to weapon-firing platforms to permit target engagement by any platform in the net. Hawkeye 2000 also features a new cooling system and integrated satellite communications.
External differences in the Hawkeye 2000 include a steerable circular end-fire array antenna mounted on the underside of the fuselage and a conical satellite communications (SATCOM) antenna mounted atop the rotodome. (Company officials said that a shudder caused by the SATCOM antenna may require relocation of the antenna elsewhere on the aircraft.)

Just as I expected, as I've stated on Page 2 of the NGF sticky thread. Of the old A-4 units, 143 has transitioned to the F-16, 145 will follow soon and 142 will most likely be using the NGF. That leaves the AJT detachment of 150 Sqn which is using the A-4s in the LIFT role.Originally posted by damienthedevil:More news from AA04 :
2. Flight Magazine indicates that SG will be looking for a new Military Trainer after SG selection of the NGF. It will replace the TA-A4 based in France ( What about the 30 S211 we have in Australia, can't it be used for this role??? ). Bristish Hawk, MIG-AT130, Aermacchi and Korean T-50 are in the so called running.
You mentioned Aermacchi, the company builds quite a few aircraft, which particular Aermacchi type? MB.339?I think he was reffering to the Aermacchi M-346.
correct, awst feb 23 issue pg 63, aermacchi is planning to involve singapore companies already.Originally posted by eurofighter:I think he was reffering to the Aermacchi M-346.
Tubroprop trainers like the KT-1, as mentioned earlier, will probably replace the S.211.
Thanks eurofighter and cavsg, can't keep track of everything!Originally posted by eurofighter:I think he was reffering to the Aermacchi M-346.
Tubroprop trainers like the KT-1, as mentioned earlier, will probably replace the S.211.
back to the same issue again. i prefer rsaf go for nftc instead, i got the newsletter for 2003 from the nftc chaps at aa2004, 14 rsaf pilots were produced by nftc in 2003, 2 got best in a/a and a/g during the course. with the shortage in manpower, sending them to train on the hawks is not a bad idea. we don't have to maintain it, that save us a big pool of technicians required to service it and we don't have to maintain spare parts for it.Originally posted by Viper52:Just as I expected, as I've stated on Page 2 of the NGF sticky thread. Of the old A-4 units, 143 has transitioned to the F-16, 145 will follow soon and 142 will most likely be using the NGF. That leaves the AJT detachment of 150 Sqn which is using the A-4s in the LIFT role.
The S.211s cannot be used, as they are basically basic jet trainers. Performance is too far below a fighter which pilots will have to get used to, this is where the LIFT will come in. LIFT are high performance jet trainers which have real combat capabilities, to train pilots on fast jet operations as well as perform weapons training.
You mentioned Aermacchi, the company builds quite a few aircraft, which particular Aermacchi type? MB.339?
I hear ya cavsg, but I wonder if NFTC would be able to handle training of the RSAFs entire pool of student fighter pilots, along with its regular commitments, if we do drop LIFT from our requirements and go entirely for NFTC. Your thoughts?Originally posted by cavsg:back to the same issue again. i prefer rsaf go for nftc instead, i got the newsletter for 2003 from the nftc chaps at aa2004, 14 rsaf pilots were produced by nftc in 2003, 2 got best in a/a and a/g during the course. with the shortage in manpower, sending them to train on the hawks is not a bad idea. we don't have to maintain it, that save us a big pool of technicians required to service it and we don't have to maintain spare parts for it.
well, rather true if those from s.211 are stream to fighter course, nftc may not handle that many but usually the numbers will go down quickly as most dun make the cut after a few lessons. the europeans are setting a similar school,eurotraining, in europe, perhaps both schools can accomadate all our students in future.Originally posted by Viper52:I hear ya cavsg, but I wonder if NFTC would be able to handle training of the RSAFs entire pool of student fighter pilots, along with its regular commitments, if we do drop LIFT from our requirements and go entirely for NFTC. Your thoughts?
I suppose if both schools have a similar syllabus, it might be workable. Then again, does anyone have a ballpark figure how many graduates from S.211s end up as fighter pilot trainees (ie AJT at Cazaux)?Originally posted by cavsg:well, rather true if those from s.211 are stream to fighter course, nftc may not handle that many but usually the numbers will go down quickly as most dun make the cut after a few lessons. the europeans are setting a similar school,eurotraining, in europe, perhaps both schools can accomadate all our students in future.