hmm. cool idea. while we're at that, y dont we build gundams as well. den when ppl attack our battle isles, our gundams can jump out and shoot them!Originally posted by RussianPower:I have an idea that can solve the land use problem in singapore and the manpower problems in singapore.
Firstly what we need are battle islands. Imagine giant floating platforms linked together. For servicing, each individual platforms can be towed back to CNB for repairs. As for manpower problems, we can have the entire base transplanted onto the base. We won't have a need to find new people since people who can work on mindef HQ can work on the floating platforms.
We have no problems making floating platforms. The US government even contracted ST Marine to build a offshore platform for surveillance purposes.
We can have even airbases that can launch F-16s and F-15s. Currently only F-18, Rafale and Su-33 (su-27 variant) are naval capable.
The best part is that these bases are mobile. Somewhere in the south china sea. That mitigates the first strike vulerability we have. Then we can lower our need for "extra" forces to counteract that threat. This translates to lower manning requirements.
Wah lau!Originally posted by Groovee:hmm. cool idea. while we're at that, y dont we build gundams as well. den when ppl attack our battle isles, our gundams can jump out and shoot them!
crap aside, it feasible, mayb a few missile battle isle may be helpful towards our defence and deterrence. howeva, such installations will oso need more guards.(imagine our isle being towed away under our noses), big problem. singapore no babies, no guards. i have an easier solution: place 155m howitzers on the top of hdb flats in woodlands and aim them at our dear neighbour. =D much less hassle.
From a civil engineering point of view, I do not believe that the roof are sufficiently well reinforced to withstand the recoil of 155mm. The placement of the howitzer on the roof top would immoblise the 155, leading them vulnerable to counter battery. The fixtion of them would prevent them from being deploy for other missions which are equally important. It would be blazingly obvious to your intention if you see 155 sprouting up on roof top all over the place. Regarding the floating island concept, this idea is being proposed for as a replacement for the US Kadena Air Force base in Okinawa. It would be prohibitively expensive, would require a high manpower expenditure and they are fixed assets. There are manpower requirements in MINDEF and you cannot just transfer them. From another posting [DefensE cost is crippilingOriginally posted by Sardaukar:Wah lau!.Seriously,most original and effective idea I have heard about deterrence.Best way to counter their MLRS system.You shoot me with rockets,I shoot you with 155 mm Howitzers from every bloody HDB roof in the whole bloody island at Johor Bahru.
Now that is deterrence.or maybe overkill.
Originally posted by solaris:Another addendum to the battle island concept. These mobile bases are not neccessary invulnerable to first strike. You would want to base them a distance not too far from Singapore so as to allow the assets base on them to be usable in a crisis. Looking at the geography of the region, they will probably be within range of any adversary air bases. You would need to invest heavily as well in their defense since they would be isolated outpost and cannot be effectively reinforced. They would turn out to be prime targets for attacks. There are numerous other disadvantages that I mentioned as well.
thats not true, we have a deep habour that allows any ships to berth here.. even the biggest. if not how would our port do its business? with regards to the acquistion of a battleship, logistically we can and our waters allow it... but its a matter of whether its feasible or not considering we have no interests to protect overseas other than pedra branca...Originally posted by epImetheus:the straits are too small for container ships,oil tankers and battleshipsto use together.
Too small not too shallow......Originally posted by hotwire:thats not true, we have a deep habour that allows any ships to berth here.. even the biggest. if not how would our port do its business? with regards to the acquistion of a battleship, logistically we can and our waters allow it... but its a matter of whether its feasible or not considering we have no interests to protect overseas other than pedra branca...
HelloOriginally posted by RussianPower:The battle island I have in mind is not as huge as to be immobile. It is not the same as the U.S. base concept. Imagine an aircraft carrier but much larger.
As for the deployment, of course it's not going to be deployed in the straits... the only time it's going to be there is when parts of it are towed for servicing.
In the case of defensibility, do you think our airbases/army camps are defensible in the event that our enemy, whoever it may be, attacks first? Is there any secret that we can keep in this crowded island of ours?
As for the cost, think of the amount of land that could be freed up for commercial use if most of the airbases/ military bases are put to sea?
Why do you think most nuclear nations put their arsenal in submarines? France puts 90% in SSBNs. Britain intends to have 100%.
i mean the Straits of Malaysia(the body of water between Malaysia & Indonesia) & the Straits of Singapore(the body of water between Singapore & Indonesia) which ships have to pass through B4 getting into the harbour.Originally posted by hotwire:thats not true, we have a deep habour that allows any ships to berth here.. even the biggest. if not how would our port do its business? with regards to the acquistion of a battleship, logistically we can and our waters allow it... but its a matter of whether its feasible or not considering we have no interests to protect overseas other than pedra branca...
Is that right?Originally posted by RussianPower:We can have even airbases that can launch F-16s and F-15s. Currently only F-18, Rafale and Su-33 (su-27 variant) are naval capable.
*thinks really hard*Originally posted by RussianPower:Why do you think most nuclear nations put their arsenal in submarines? France puts 90% in SSBNs. Britain intends to have 100%.
Technically yes. America has always held a markedely superior submarine force. It is common knowledge that during the early years of the Cold War, every last SSBN was trailed by a SSN. In case of the balloon going up, or a missile tube being flooded, the policy was shoot first, ask later.Originally posted by RussianPower:Why do you think americans are putting their nuclear deterrent on submarines? Are they invulnerable to first strike? No? but hell you can't keep track of them reliably.
Fighters flying CAP are hell better than SAMs on the ground. Even with "outdated" SAMS even the americans had to go in with their tomahawks, F117s and B2s before they let their F-18s soften the targets futher.
Yes. Strong message.Originally posted by tripwire:uhmmm... if ever we are ever allowed to get TLAM and TASM... i think we can just install them inside the bukit timah hill and viola... we still send a strong message but no need the stupid BB.
hello JohnstonOriginally posted by Johnston:*thinks really hard*
Um, because it costs uber-huge amounts of $$$ to build ICBM silos? Also bear in mind that such installations should not be placed near cities, due to a iffy factor in nuclear warfare called "counterforce/urban-industrial" strike.
The gist of the idea is that... your missile installation is within XX mile of civilian city. Under "normal" rules, strikes against missiles are allowed, but not cities. But... if a high CEP missile is used, we're not responsible if it goes off target, or by the way, killed millions of lives with the blast effects/fallout.
too small? i don't think its too small for all the 3 types of ships to operate on the straits altogether... they just have to be extra careful when navigating if not the RSN Courageos type accident will repeat itselfOriginally posted by |-|05|:Too small not too shallow......
Quite simple really. "Don't put your eggs in one basket".Originally posted by solaris:hello Johnston
In your opinion, what could be their rationale for the continued use of land base launchers? Could it be a hedging of bets or the reduced complexity and costs of developing and maintaining such systems?
It was political consideration such as the fear of killing Soviet personnel or the fear of Chinese intervenation that prevented them from obliteraing key targets such as Haiphong. A air defense umbrella based on SAM/AA guns alone is also much more vulnerable than an integrated one. .
Regarding the effectiveness of a complete air defense system invulnerabilityOriginally posted by Johnston:Quite simple really. "Don't put your eggs in one basket".
You forgot to mention the air arm of the Triad.
B-52s! B2s! B1s! F117As!
By diversifiying their nuclear arsenal, they make it extremely unlikely that a single pre-emptive strike, no matter how massive, can take them all out.
Besides, land based missiles are infinitely easier to safeguard. Ring a missile installation with one or two motor rifle battalions, toss in a couple of heavy ADA installations, and garnish with a tank battalion ready to response.
By safeguard, it also helps ensure there are no rogue launches. Somewhere along the line of Peacekeeper and Crimson Tide. You never really know if that janitor might be an Internal Security agent.
I am aware of the US unholy trinity but after the introduction of the SSBN into the trinity, most of the nuclear deterrent role was shifted from the land based silos and SAC to the SSBN. The % of the arsenal remaining in the US silos was insignificant vis a vis the % of the Soviet arsenal in the mobile launchers. Air Force planners of that era were aware of the tremendous casaulties and difficulties of executing their nuclear mission should a nuclear war break out. How could the B52 and others penetrate the Soviet air defense after their less than expected performances against the NVN air defenses. Then again, I am in general agreement with your assesement of the hedging of bets via land based launchers. Some minor points of contention: a massive pre emptive strike would not knock out all the SSBN. I could imagine why the Chinese would want to develope a land based alternative. Their current Xia class SSBN probably would not survive in a heavy ASW environment against the USN and their operation in a "protected bastion" such as the Yellow Sea would probably have to depend on the ability of the PLAN to protect such a bastion - a rather risky strategy in view of the USN superiority. Hence a land based alternative would in contrary to western dogma be a safer bet
While im not intimately familiar with the Vietnam war, i do know that a COMPLETE air defense complex, such as was possible during the Cold War, virtually ensures your base's survival. While we're on the subject of wars in the middle east, you may be interested to know that during a certain war, the IAF's airforce was effectively out of action during the first few days due to the Syrian's ADA complex.