haha.. intelligent mosquitoes.. imagine they haf technology to defeat our anti-mosquito moves. oh man!Originally posted by dumbdumb!:.... good thing when God made mosquitoes, He didn't give them too much intelligence...
imagine one whole swarm of thousands of mosquitoes hunting u down like a pack of starving wolves![]()
err.. wat u mean camo? u mean camo cream? or u mean our no.4?Originally posted by cookiecutter:haha thanks guys.
amazingly, some mosquitos can even bite through camo! There was one time i was on course at lumut and we were doing a jungle trek then there was this huge swarm of mosquitos! ran like crazy!
bought dettol antiseptic cream for my friend. he says the bites are bad on his legs. wuming, will try find the wan jing oil you were talking about!
Originally posted by wombat:Just a interesting little "research" I done years ago during my active time.
Tekong - Swan brand mosquito coil
Lim Chu Kang - Tiger brand mosquito coil
Gombas - Baygone brand mosquito coil
There are a few others....can't recall after so long. Damn weird, cause I experiement with different brands of the mosquito coil at different locations......and only those works effectively.
Err....I guess the above doesn't apply to trainees, or during excerises
wah...u power leh... liddat oso can...Originally posted by wombat:Just a interesting little "research" I done years ago during my active time.
Tekong - Swan brand mosquito coil
Lim Chu Kang - Tiger brand mosquito coil
Gombas - Baygone brand mosquito coil
There are a few others....can't recall after so long. Damn weird, cause I experiement with different brands of the mosquito coil at different locations......and only those works effectively. Those spray one...mildly effective...and sticky. ( Err...do check if your instructors / OC allow mosquito coil hor )
Mosquitos at the section life firing area the worst! Wear 2 layers still go through...Commando trained.
Try getting those neck scarf, looks like net one...can use for face / neck. Or do what we did....throw some smoke grenade to smoke out the area first....heee![]()

dun think anything can be done with the cough..ive try everything n it still dun work..n i cough till i spit blood..Originally posted by cookiecutter:i thought that during BMT your are not allowed to use mosquito
coils? heh, but i used the baygon one before and its not bad, pretty effective. But then i was inhaling alot of mosquito coil fumes too!
Sounding really stupid here, but i didnt know that wan jing oil was tiger balm! I bought the tiger balm muscle rub... but not the oil..
then what do you guys advise to take for a case of "tekong cough"?
There are... During my active time, I was outfield very frequently....roughly 2-3 week every month. I think I tried about 10 brands......even ask my relatives in JB to get what they could find over there to experiment.Originally posted by wuming78:i din even noe there were so many diff brands of mosquito coils!
oh tekong cough is not cos of lung infection or anything to do wif our gas tract. if im not wrong, its cos of adjustment - u wil tend to cough cos of the sudden increase in physical exertion. so when u grow fitter both physically and in terms of combat, the cough wil go away. at least tts wat happened to me.Originally posted by cookiecutter:i thought that during BMT your are not allowed to use mosquito
coils? heh, but i used the baygon one before and its not bad, pretty effective. But then i was inhaling alot of mosquito coil fumes too!
Sounding really stupid here, but i didnt know that wan jing oil was tiger balm! I bought the tiger balm muscle rub... but not the oil..
then what do you guys advise to take for a case of "tekong cough"?
wah wats ur vocation and wat u do? so freq outfieldOriginally posted by wombat:There are... During my active time, I was outfield very frequently....roughly 2-3 week every month. I think I tried about 10 brands......even ask my relatives in JB to get what they could find over there to experiment.![]()
Mosquitos at the section life firing area the worst! Wear 2 layers still go through...Commando trained.using smoke grenade sounds like a good idea but doubt that they will be allowed to do that right! hehe when i went to the live range it was not so bad, because got to wear long 4.
Try getting those neck scarf, looks like net one...can use for face / neck. Or do what we did....throw some smoke grenade to smoke out the area first....heee
Combat Signaller. I was always attached to the Commando Training wing.Originally posted by wuming78:wah wats ur vocation and wat u do? so freq outfield![]()
sandfly bites need to c MO? i never did. but yes they r much more itchy than the mosquito ones! u damned heng never to kanna b4!Originally posted by 12qwaszx:for cough relief, drink more warm water
for anti-mosquitoes, SAF insect repellant!
for mosquito bites, normal cream like mopiko will do
for sandfly bites, see MO!!!
that's what i've done throughout 2/1/2yrs... seldom got bitten by mosquitoes and no sandfly bites before. ANd yes, a camou scarf will greatly help reduce bites on your face and neck