Sound equates to power? Huh? Since when does the power of an engine equates to how much sound it generates?Originally posted by MushyMaro:Hello guys!
about 7+ am this morning saw Rafale taking off from PLAB and flew past my block.
but sad to say that engine does not sound very powerful...
Originally posted by kopiosatu:no please... no more loud aircraft... i hear the A4 until sibeh dulan liao... when they take off, the car alarm goes off![]()
since when SAB got A4 one?Originally posted by kopiosatu:no please... no more loud aircraft... i hear the A4 until sibeh dulan liao... when they take off, the car alarm goes off![]()
last time i was from PLAB mah~ then the stupid a/c take off, ground vibrate... then i have to help ppl switch off car alarmOriginally posted by s|nNeD:since when SAB got A4 one?
Tok abt PLAB, when i was there, i had to escort the contractors to fix up the fence ard the Met station opposite the runway... then whenever the F5 take off, wah kao! the whole place vibrates...Originally posted by kopiosatu:last time i was from PLAB mah~ then the stupid a/c take off, ground vibrate... then i have to help ppl switch off car alarm
they should shun bian scrap F5 alsoOriginally posted by s|nNeD:Tok abt PLAB, when i was there, i had to escort the contractors to fix up the fence ard the Met station opposite the runway... then whenever the F5 take off, wah kao! the whole place vibrates...
Originally posted by kopiosatu:they should shun bian scrap F5 also![]()
so u think a fighter jet power is base on its sound?Originally posted by MushyMaro:well the sound of the Rafale is similar to that of F5... sigh.
u should hear that from F-15s.... that is what i call power.
actually i dun only mean the hearing ranges... but also the vibrations that can be felt...
u can feel them...![]()

dude..anything look slow when its far..n if its near n its slow..worst still rite? use abit of imagination before posting..wats the point of making your windows shake? A4 vibrate my bunk door till it fell off after 6 mth..n its keep happen 2 or 3 time..n we have to replace our window pane regularly also..Originally posted by MushyMaro:i know that the sound is rather UN-stealth but note that the F-15 is travelling very very slow... and is able to cause my windows to shake.,...
of cos when travelling at MACH 1 ++ do you think you can hear before u see it?
Hi, F-16 isn't softer than A4. I agree that sound does not equate to power though. A4's F404s are very loud but not powerful enough but still good enough. F-16s are very loud and ground do vibrate when it goes afterburner. Still haven't seen any F-16s take off by military power. Hoping to see it when I go back for ICT.Originally posted by NathanG5:so u think a fighter jet power is base on its sound?
in combat..the less sound u make the better..chances are u will go unnotice n bomb your target..
i hear n feel the sound of A4-SU n F-16 for the whole of my NS life..
when A4 take off..its darn loud...n when u look at it..its darn slow in taking off..
n F-16 is softer..but u can see its pick damn fast...empty vassel makes the most noise..![]()
im not sure how..but everytime when i see a F-16 take at my base..the sound the pick up..its an art piece..especially at nite..Originally posted by Hornet145:Hi, F-16 isn't softer than A4. I agree that sound does not equate to power though. A4's F404s are very loud but not powerful enough but still good enough. F-16s are very loud and ground do vibrate when it goes afterburner. Still haven't seen any F-16s take off by military power. Hoping to see it when I go back for ICT.![]()
friend i never say anything about bombing at MACH 1 so don't put words in my mouth.Originally posted by NathanG5:dude..if u can bomb a target by going MACH 1..i think u shld replace all pilots in RSAF...hey tok abt precision munition..
tat is so...errrrrr....Originally posted by MushyMaro:friend i never say anything about bombing at MACH 1 so don't put words in my mouth.
anyway the jets sounds and feel better for high performace (i dun care about efficiency) ...![]()
my ranking...
F-15
F-16
Rafale
F-5
A4![]()
And this topic is about Rafale...
I'm good, thanks. How are you? Life in Oz sucks, no job no money. Miss Singapore greatly, but gf here......... so how?Originally posted by eurofighter:Hi Hornet145! How have you been?
yesterday and today both had Rafale flying overhead during assembly, took a peak upwards before national anthem in school (school is in bishan) n saw the wingshape n canards to identify d plane.Originally posted by MushyMaro:Hello guys!
about 7+ am this morning saw Rafale taking off from PLAB and flew past my block.
but sad to say that engine does not sound very powerful...