according to ST it weights 6 kg with full load of 4 x 40 mm and 20 x 5.7 mm rounds.Originally posted by CX:let me do the honours... here it is.![]()
really can't tell much from the small pic.. looks very star-wars like and futuristic, but that counts for nothing if it jams or doesn't stand the rigours of field conditions.
also, the ammo utilized seems a little primitive compared to the OICW... why ST still using 40mm grenades? the OICW had found the 20mm to be very effective as well. and cos its small, u can put it in a mag.
i can't see how u can put 40mm grenades in a mag on this weapon... anyone knows? or is it a breech-loading system?
and the "fire control systemm".. anyone got any info on it? wonder if its along the lines of what the OICW is capable of...
heh... and any idea how much it weighs?![]()
Originally posted by wuming78:according to ST it weights 6 kg with full load of 4 x 40 mm and 20 x 5.7 mm rounds.
haha... i guess this wont be the std issue so shud be ok lor..Originally posted by Groovee:erm. lug 6kg of guns here and there? by the time u wanna use dem, already bo lad to lift up e damn thing liao, much less aim...
hm.. true.. i guess it has to be so tt it could be used effectively. the weight itself - well. the guys would jus haf to get used to it. but i am thinking wif tt kind of weight, the firing positions would be more limited than normal small arms?Originally posted by CX:hmmm... one thing i did forget to consider with regards to the wait... its not really the weight that matters... its the weight distribution.
if its a well balaced weapon, it might not actually be that bad...
Ahmen to thatOriginally posted by Gedanken:Having been an MG gunner on airfiend assaults, I can say with the deepest of feeling that I pity the poor sod stuck with that monster.
Originally posted by laurence82:Akan datang..
An e squad weapon that allows you to watch TV, surf internet and pay your bills online......
Think you guys should know how heavy is an M203-M16S1 rifle is during ATEC. Normal weight of M203 is 4.8kg, add one miles set grenade launcher, add one miles set that you attach to the barrel of the M16S1 and add a LAD. My PC(he's carrying a SAR21 with no miles set) have the cheek to ask us not to sling our rifle when attacking upwards an objective and expectedly, noone listen to him. With the weight concentrating at the front, it's the heaviest section weapon. Pity me~.Originally posted by Gedanken:Having been an MG gunner on airfiend assaults, I can say with the deepest of feeling that I pity the poor sod stuck with that monster.
MG weight distribution is different lah... misleading to compare this way...Originally posted by Gedanken:Having been an MG gunner on airfiend assaults, I can say with the deepest of feeling that I pity the poor sod stuck with that monster.
law oso very heavy. and v. din dehOriginally posted by jacobs:Think you guys should know how heavy is an M203-M16S1 rifle is during ATEC. Normal weight of M203 is 4.8kg, add one miles set grenade launcher, add one miles set that you attach to the barrel of the M16S1 and add a LAD. My PC(he's carrying a SAR21 with no miles set) have the cheek to ask us not to sling our rifle when attacking upwards an objective and expectedly, noone listen to him. With the weight concentrating at the front, it's the heaviest section weapon. Pity me~.
ATEC?? what about coy support weapon???? 84 more die right. haha.. carry that stupid thing. hahaOriginally posted by wuming78:law oso very heavy. and v. din deh
Haha, 84mm miles set is lighter than the real thing. After the walk to the objectives, their job is done. Even if they have to set their firebase on top of some freaking knoll, they can "take their time". For the LAW, i must say it's really irritating to the gunner. My parang was secured at the back of my SBO, and it got hooked onto the branches at times. So when we are doing our fire and movement, dashing with LAW and M203 through the bushes, proning and running upslope. Who is in a worse situation? :]Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):ATEC?? what about coy support weapon???? 84 more die right. haha.. carry that stupid thing. haha
CX - well, there is weight distribution to consider, but after running up and down a runway a couple of times, anything heavier than an M16 is going to be a cast-iron sonuvabitch anyway.Originally posted by CX:MG weight distribution is different lah... misleading to compare this way...
Why not have a war with each soldier using a Nokia Ngage?Originally posted by laurence82:Soon to come....
Squad weapon that allows you to capture upskirts, oops, uphill battles pictures and send it immediately like MMS to battle commanders
Combining PDA, 3G handphones and digital TV, you can also send pictures of yourself with your kills to your company mates at the next hill, "Hey, Ah Seng, look at this, I just kill one enemy, here is his body!" , call your friend who is in the rear support "Tamade, you guys are lucky, we are being picked off here one by one", watch stocks plunge as the war continues...and post real life war topics on sgforums as you fight!
Batteries not included.
yah.. 84 gunners are not required to carry it and run around and fight. so yes its heavier but not so jialat in a sense.Originally posted by jacobs:Haha, 84mm miles set is lighter than the real thing. After the walk to the objectives, their job is done. Even if they have to set their firebase on top of some freaking knoll, they can "take their time". For the LAW, i must say it's really irritating to the gunner. My parang was secured at the back of my SBO, and it got hooked onto the branches at times. So when we are doing our fire and movement, dashing with LAW and M203 through the bushes, proning and running upslope. Who is in a worse situation? :]