Just take it as it comes.Originally posted by dumbdumb!:hmm i was planning on enjoying ns.. its a change of environment la.. but now i not so sure.. like everything i dunno.
what advice can u give to prepare?
go with a positive mind and take everything positively.Originally posted by dumbdumb!:hmm i was planning on enjoying ns.. its a change of environment la.. but now i not so sure.. like everything i dunno.
see here http://www.sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=53849Originally posted by dumbdumb!:hmm i was planning on enjoying ns.. its a change of environment la.. but now i not so sure.. like everything i dunno.
gonna agree with you......Originally posted by Patrik:Haiz....Haben go in army sae army sucks liao...-_-
Compared to last time...now the welfare,food,etc, is so much better than last time...
The generation is getting from bad to worse...wonder how our next generation is going to take ns?
Well, i went into NS in the early 90s and there was complaining back then. I am sure pple complained back in the 80s and 70s as well. i would put money down on seeing kids complain abt NS 20years from now. The fact of the matter is that people will always complain, especially when they are forced to do something, whether good or bad.Originally posted by Patrik:Haiz....Haben go in army sae army sucks liao...-_-
Compared to last time...now the welfare,food,etc, is so much better than last time...
The generation is getting from bad to worse...wonder how our next generation is going to take ns?
actually was looking foward to it u know... and BMT was fun. but my current unit is NOT fun. slowly u realise how farked up it is as a whole, and how things are done up nicely in BMT for show, to let the parents see, and how much worse BMT is if u are in a mono-intake in some of the camps on mainland.Originally posted by Blockhead:Well, i went into NS in the early 90s and there was complaining back then. I am sure pple complained back in the 80s and 70s as well. i would put money down on seeing kids complain abt NS 20years from now. The fact of the matter is that people will always complain, especially when they are forced to do something, whether good or bad.
Anyway, a lot of pple complain abt NS because it is percieved to be the cool thing to do. See what happens if somebody said "Yes, i am looking forward to NS" and how his frens would react. On the other hand, most guys who come thru NS would agree (grudgingly) that it was interesting and that they had their fair bit to look back at with some fondness. Of course, there will be those bitter people who leave with a bad taste in their mouth.
Personally, i think i enjoyed my NS days, but only after i ROD'd and thought back about the times i had. However, its a bit difficult to enjoy it when u are going thru it.
For those who are going to go into NS, just remember, take it one day at a time. U go in thinking u are wasting your time, u will end up feeling that u are wasting your time. Just go in, and keep an open mind, and be positive. A positive attitude is everything, especially during NS, and even so during life. If its one thing NS taught me, it's the importance of a positive attitude. Sometimes, it will be the only thing that's keeping u going.
Sometimes, its also the luck of the draw, cos its also the officers or NCO's or pple in the unit who can make your NS interesting or just painful. I was from a log unit, so i didn't have to run around in the jungles, but i appreciate the fact that i had a good crew and good higher-ups (ok, most of them!) watching out for us.
I wouldn't sign-on as a regular, and i am not crazy about the army, but i appreciate what its taught me, and the experiences i had in there. besides, NS stories are also a great way to break the ice when u meet other singaporeans!
just my 2 cents worth.
Well, the beds there may not have always been Tekong standard but they are "sleepable"...you know what I'm talking about, just don't go 6th floorOriginally posted by HENG@:actually was looking foward to it u know... and BMT was fun. but my current unit is NOT fun. slowly u realise how farked up it is as a whole, and how things are done up nicely in BMT for show, to let the parents see, and how much worse BMT is if u are in a mono-intake in some of the camps on mainland.
Sad to say, the real world is manufactured. Its nothing more than a big movie made to look good. But this is what you learn from going thru all this. Life is not a bed of roses. No pansies.Originally posted by HENG@:actually was looking foward to it u know... and BMT was fun. but my current unit is NOT fun. slowly u realise how farked up it is as a whole, and how things are done up nicely in BMT for show, to let the parents see, and how much worse BMT is if u are in a mono-intake in some of the camps on mainland.
har? how bad is it? i tink i mono intake lehz... juz got letter fr medcheckup. :/Originally posted by HENG@:actually was looking foward to it u know... and BMT was fun. but my current unit is NOT fun. slowly u realise how farked up it is as a whole, and how things are done up nicely in BMT for show, to let the parents see, and how much worse BMT is if u are in a mono-intake in some of the camps on mainland.
Well said...echos more or less my thoughts exactly.Originally posted by Blockhead:Well, i went into NS in the early 90s and there was complaining back then. I am sure pple complained back in the 80s and 70s as well. i would put money down on seeing kids complain abt NS 20years from now. The fact of the matter is that people will always complain, especially when they are forced to do something, whether good or bad.
Anyway, a lot of pple complain abt NS because it is percieved to be the cool thing to do. See what happens if somebody said "Yes, i am looking forward to NS" and how his frens would react. On the other hand, most guys who come thru NS would agree (grudgingly) that it was interesting and that they had their fair bit to look back at with some fondness. Of course, there will be those bitter people who leave with a bad taste in their mouth.
Personally, i think i enjoyed my NS days, but only after i ROD'd and thought back about the times i had. However, its a bit difficult to enjoy it when u are going thru it.
For those who are going to go into NS, just remember, take it one day at a time. U go in thinking u are wasting your time, u will end up feeling that u are wasting your time. Just go in, and keep an open mind, and be positive. A positive attitude is everything, especially during NS, and even so during life. If its one thing NS taught me, it's the importance of a positive attitude. Sometimes, it will be the only thing that's keeping u going.
Sometimes, its also the luck of the draw, cos its also the officers or NCO's or pple in the unit who can make your NS interesting or just painful. I was from a log unit, so i didn't have to run around in the jungles, but i appreciate the fact that i had a good crew and good higher-ups (ok, most of them!) watching out for us.
I wouldn't sign-on as a regular, and i am not crazy about the army, but i appreciate what its taught me, and the experiences i had in there. besides, NS stories are also a great way to break the ice when u meet other singaporeans!
just my 2 cents worth.
back in NCC(kids in uniformOriginally posted by Kaczynski:Well, the beds there may not have always been Tekong standard but they are "sleepable"...you know what I'm talking about, just don't go 6th floor
True,known to be "wayang" sometimes but when you think back about this, this is very true of what the outside working world is about...
Nice....Originally posted by larrenV2.003:I also must admit that NS do sucks in some way lah but there r some good points in it even though i hate ns...........
Ever since i log on to the sgforums i've been seeing forumite posting something like ns sucks & whatever.......really hor i individually can't change the mindsets of ppl hating NS but one of the paracounseller enlighten me with the christian poem when i told him that i hated ns. Here as it says:
God, grant me the
serenity to accept
things i cannot change
courage to change the
things i can
and wisdom to know
the difference
If u r a christian it should not be a prob 4 u. I hope these piece of msg can make u have 2nd thoughts abt ns......
and the sponge mattress have hell lot of bed bugs if u forget to mention, i was in PLC and had sleepless nite...Originally posted by HENG@:back in NCC(kids in uniform) I had the great opportunity to sleep in a run down bunk and stay in a falling apart camp. to be honest the sponge matress is actually pretty comfy too!
anyways i feel maybe becos of my NCC experience, where we wore 1 uniform for 6 days straight, helped me to appreciate tekong BMTC much more