Originally posted by cj1t08:I only know that Israel had a favour Abraham, that is the father of the Jewish people and some of the Arabs. I am sure there are many Abrahams in the army.
The israeli army does use the abrahams.
They have been buying their MBTs from the USA since god knows when. do you actually think a M113 would supply sufficient protection and firepower for the ground troops should the event of a full-scale war between the arabs and israelis break out? NO.M113 is NOT a tank. It is an APC, and Israel have different types of APCs (mostly indigenously converted from old MBTs) than M113.
It is spelt BIONIX.
anyway just another question. do you think that the singapore made Bionex (think its spelt this way) is powerful enough to provide the protection and firepower needed?
WRONG again. Singapore has MBT. I shall NOT eleborate more.
hey... maybe one of the reasons why we think the spore got has never bought a MBT is bcos' we already have tank killers ie Apache AH-64[/b]
[/b]Originally posted by cj1t08:The israeli army does use the abrahams. They have been buying their MBTs from the USA since god knows when. do you actually think a M113 would supply sufficient protection and firepower for the ground troops should the event of a full-scale war between the arabs and israelis break out? NO.
[b]anyway just another question. do you think that the singapore made Bionex (think its spelt this way) is powerful enough to provide the protection and firepower needed?
hey... maybe one of the reasons why we think the spore got has never bought a MBT is bcos' we already have tank killers ie Apache AH-64
The SAF gives the impression that it would indeed be madness to test its preparedness.Originally posted by Shotgun:nah, I think the Gahmen would rather have her citizens remember that the country is still small and vulnerable, requiring everybody to give their utmost in order to survive.
Parading weaponry that are too powerful might make singaporeans too complacent of their safety from foreign aggressors.
Before you shout for Abrams, which model of Abrams are you talking about? The basic M1? or M1A1? or M1A2? or M1A2SEP?Originally posted by Shotgun:Not to the extent of projecting an image of aggression. As if we would go to war over every little thing.
Anyways, why do you guys keep ruling out the ABRAMs? Damn?
Can't we actually have abrams? I mean Singapore already selected its new fighter already, and NO, its not the F-15T, rafale or typhoon or any of those. ITS THE VF-1 babe! Gerwalk and robo mode altogether. We even have the AWACs version and Jammer version too! RSAF SPACY. WOO!
Don't forget, the Abrams (& Challenger) employ DU APFSDS rounds. Even Abrams has DU armour. Given the risks of comtamination to crew and unintended fratricidal targets who survive, I doubt SAF will ever want to field a 'double-edged sword' in their armouryOriginally posted by Joe Black:Before you shout for Abrams, which model of Abrams are you talking about? The basic M1? or M1A1? or M1A2? or M1A2SEP?
I can say that we pretty much rule out anything other than the basic M1, which has only a 105mm gun and much lesser armour, not to mention the amount of gas it gobbles down... Furthermore, engineers will have to get Class 60 or 70 bridges to support the M1s, special tankers to refuel these beast. All for what? At the price of 10 million a copy, is that money well spent?
Better to get Merk 4, much cheaper and nearly as good as the M1A2. Of course, the bridging requirements won't change. At least it has a MTU engine, advanced electronics, and the best thing, it is nearly half an M1 price tag.
Sabra II or III, we are looking at even cheaper, probably not more than 4 or 5 mil per copy or even lesser. So, with a limited budget and the current threat level in the region, I can't see the justification for getting Abrams.
We should be happy with Sabra (with an upgraded engine plus additional Merk 4 stuffs)
yes yes yes, our M60 right? duh............haha, okok, jkjk, if it is something more mordern, i am not too sure..........Originally posted by Joe Black:WRONG again. Singapore has MBT. I shall NOT eleborate more.
Yea it's definately something better then that!!!Originally posted by snk86:yes yes yes, our M60 right? duh............haha, okok, jkjk, if it is something more mordern, i am not too sure..........
dude u duno ar? they change name of the DIREWOLF the DAISHI liao lah..u outdated!!!Originally posted by Shotgun:Its a DIREWOLF! We have a few MadCat Primes too.
direwolf is the clan name....daishi is the sphere name...Originally posted by Shotgun:I thot Direwolf was the official nick name? Hahha. oh well.
lol yep yepOriginally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Dire Wolf is what the Clans call it lah, Daishi is what the Inner Sphere call it.
The name Daishi was supposed to mean "Great Death", given by the Draconis Combine (Japanese people), but it appears that Daishi, or "Da-Shi" seems like a chinese phrase to me.
Wouldn't that be a even greater political no-no than killing the Hamas leaders?Originally posted by Shotgun:Abraham or Ibrahim are both considered the father of both the jews n the arabs... hahaha. I would like to see an israeli tank called the abraham though.
Originally posted by zenden9:MBT is indeed not a priority in spore arsenal as some mention our region soil is not suitable for a 45 tons monster travelling around.Abt our neighbour buying some 180 T-72 MBT,I thought we have already done enough preparation by having Apache(I don't know whether it will be equipped with Hell),Primus and latest anti-missiles 'Spike'. The fact that we buy spike arouse so much response from our neighbour that they even criticize us who is so small yet possess such a lethal do not justify our defending policy shown that's how spike threaten their new toy. I think any threat pose by our neighbour is counter immediately and according.By the way,'Spike is produce by israel and will no be available for our neighbours,no worry friends!