doubt it....too small....Originally posted by Moonstriker:just wondering, are there HE rounds for 5.56mm ?
are u sure its not just you???Originally posted by vleelee:I damaged my M16 in Tekong....
...i damaged by rifle by over zealous dleaning of pincers / cloth action that rendered by rifle to only auto mode i.e. kind of cocked up the safe and semi mode. so kana 1206 for that .....
really ... all SAW gunners signed 2 to 3 1206 during their stay because of breaking the gas regulator of the SAW during cleaning.
Originally posted by LRRP:The Israeli Galil is one such example...although Israel isn't exactly a Western country
talk about AK47, no western countries are able to replicate its reliablity , even after 40 yrs[/b]
Yea.. I'm from AF.Originally posted by NathanG5:you're from Airforce too?
i was posting almost the same thing as u...but i guess frontline soldier have different view from us...
we never have the luxary of having a brand new weapon..let alone a new model..
TAB FDSOriginally posted by siaokao:Yea.. I'm from AF.
Which AB are u from?
U know.. i sometimes wonder if Mindef is taking us seriously. We may not be the ones fighting in the front line, bt if EVER we have to fight an enemy, it will likely be some ELITE enemy force. Afterall, its an airbase, the base of our most powerful and important fighting force. With the kinda weapons they give us and the training we get, do they actually expect us to protect base assets effectively?
Everything we have are things other units dun wan.. vehicles, weapons, comms, nightsights.. while they spend BILLIONS on aircrafts.. what kinda maths is this?
Live firing range is posponed over and over again.. i have not shoot a live round from my weapon for more then 5 years now. How i wish in my MAY ICT we have some mad guys dashing into base.. i can then have LIVE firing practice..![]()
ok all...DSTA or STK do notice the present fault of the SAR21..lets hope the weapon will turn into a top class weapon in future..Originally posted by dkhoo:If you have any problems with the SAR21, please make them known to your unit commander. The SAR21 is still undergoing continual improvements and feedback is welcome.
The reason for the fat foregrip is that it was believed to be the most ergonomic shape, especially while prone. The foregrip needs to be big enough for the hand to hold comfortably, yet not too high to avoid the rifle being too high off the ground in the prone position, hence the low, wide shape. A pistol grip like the AUG was considered but made an option rather than the default. What shape would you suggest for the foregrip? How big is your hand, first of all?
The iron sights were not part of the Army's requirements. They were a later addition due to feedback, and are known to be somewhat inadequate. The latest mark of the SAR21 has a zeroable iron sight which should work better.
Regarding dirt and mud with the SAR21, you should have been issued a pair of sight protectors with your rifle, which will protect the sight when on. There is a space in the butt of your rifle specifically to store the sight protectors, though you can keep them in your pockets, of course. Did you receive the sight protectors with your rifle? Do you use them regularly? It is understood that taking the sight protectors on and off in the heat of combat is difficult, and any suggestion to resolve this would be good. I suggest tying the protectors to the sight with comscord.
Regarding the handedness of the rifle, the Army allowed the rifle to only be right-handed. I believe that doctrine in the SAF is to train all shooters from now on to shoot from the right shoulder with the right eye, regardless of eye dominance or handedness, since the optical sight eliminates most issues of eye dominance and handedness has been shown to have little effect on shooting. Standardizing rifle drill would make training more effective. Changing between shoulders is a bad idea, IMHO, since most shooters get too little practice on one shoulder as it is. Splitting training time between shoulders would make you bad with both, rather than at least good with one. An ambidextrous rifle would be ideal, but might be impossible at this point.
Regarding the position of the selector switch -- this was agreed to by the Army. Again, doctrine seems to not favor switching firing modes often in combat. However, the bad feedback has been noted, but there are technical issues with moving the switch forward near the trigger (which hopefully can be resolved).
Regarding the pressure needed to activate the safety -- this has been reduced in the latest mark -- it should now be possible to activate the safety with the trigger hand. If you are suggesting that the position of the safety be moved, please suggest where to move it to. If you are asking for the type of safety to be changed to the rotating lever of the M16 -- this was decided to be less safe than the MG-style safety now in use.
Regarding the position of the magazine release catch -- this has already been moved once due to feedback. Before moving it again, we should at least let the new configuration be tested for a while. A key requirement for the catch is that it not accidently activate -- many of the suggestions here sound like they would activate too easily -- a problem with the M16 (hence the rubber bands tied around magazines some units use on night ops -- which are NOT ALLOWED since they can contribute to malfunctions).
Regarding the rifle's weight -- every effort has been made and will continue to be made to reduce the weight of the rifle. It is important to compare like with like here. The SAR possesses capabilities that the M16 does not have (LAM, optical sight, accuracy). Some weight is also needed to ensure that felt recoil is low -- an important part of meeting the accuracy requirement of the Army. The weight is also carefully distributed such that the point of balance is over the trigger hand, which reduces barrel jump and improves speed of acquisition. The accuracy of the SAR21, particularly in automatic fire, is one of its strongest points.
Regarding the magazines -- it seems that your problems seem to be with the combat webbing rather than the magazines themselves. There is no need to have two magazines in one pouch if we were designing webbing from scratch, for instance.
Regarding stoppages -- the SAR21 has been shown to have fewer stoppages than the M16 in firing tests. Ensure that the gas port selector is set correctly, and that the weapon and ammo are reasonably clean. Many stoppages are caused by bad ammo rather than the weapon -- this can only be corrected to a limited extent by weapon design. A problem with the ejector arm has been corrected in the latest mark of the SAR21, so serious stoppages requiring pliers or worse for rectification should not occur any more. Please report all serious weapon malfunctions promptly -- these reports are given the greatest attention by the Army and DSTA.
Try telling the enemy "chop hor, I take out my ET tool 1st okay"....Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:I propose that in an event of an emergency, a catch can be activated that will split the butt of the rifle down the center, revealing a sharpened axe that can be used to disembowel opponents... yesssss... who needs bayonets...
Come to think of it, if I was really in a melee battle, I'll op straight for the ET tool, lighter weight and greater blade area makes it far more dangerous and a knive on an M16.
[/b][/quote]Originally posted by foga:hmmm... ET stick and plate add together lighter than bayonets meh?
anyway if i had to use my bayonet in battle, it would most likely be in a close combat scenario.
given this scenario : enemy soldiers charge towards your location,at this point u realised your magazine empty liao. you search your sbo for a new mag, u look up and realise enemy soldier 10 feet away, how, i'm jus curious, how does one 'action front' his ET tools in time? i might have left army quite some time ago but if you're still using the same sbo, the ET plate and stick hook at the back of SBO one rite? got time to take out and assemble ah?
if bayonet is already on the rifle, then no need so kan chiong rite rite?
quote]Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:
[b]I propose that in an event of an emergency, a catch can be activated that will split the butt of the rifle down the center, revealing a sharpened axe that can be used to disembowel opponents... yesssss... who needs bayonets...
Come to think of it, if I was really in a melee battle, I'll op straight for the ET tool, lighter weight and greater blade area makes it far more dangerous and a knive on an M16.
Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Aiyah, I mean if got ET tool lying close by, then use it lor. You can use it and anyhow slash and parry. M16 must stab stab stab one. Also, you opponent can fall and die on the ET tool, but rifle, a bit hard.
But if you got ET tool versus empty rifle with knife, you have the edge because an assualt rifle was never really meant to be used as a melee weapon, though drills can help turn it into one.