Why thank you, but I'll never put myself up on the same plane as Gordon and Shugart. And that is why unlike you, I'll not judge the actions of others so flippantly and summarily unless I'm sure I can do better than them.Originally posted by gary1910:You're wrong, You are just been emotional and illogical, just like two snipers!!!
Yes. Look at your own judgement and the circumstances which you've made them under. You never once stepped into their shoes, you've never considered the circumstances they were in, you've never even bothered to read the facts from the book. As I've said all along in this thread, no one is fit to judge the 2 snipers actions until they've been through a similar situation, and you, Armchair General gary1910, sitting safely behind your keyboard, is ESPECIALLY not fit to judge them simply because of the fact that you are not objective enough to.
The BG has of course reviewed all his option when the 2nd crash happened, he tried to divert a group of men to 2nd crash but they were stuck.
Next of course to send a sufficient group men via helo but he did not have such luxury, otherwise if he has more than 10 men he would has given the order for them to go in but no, he has only two snipers in the air.!!!
He and his commanders knew that 2 men will not survive long against a 100 that was why they did not order them to go in !!!!
Only after the third requests from the snipers that he has relented even against his initial better judgement.
Why did he let them in? Was his initial assessment wrong?
No, his initial assessment was right, he relented based on emotions rather than logic.
[/quote]
Again, you're plucking partial facts and pure fiction, and moulding them to suit your own judgemental opinions. From Blackhawk Down (the book not the Hollywood version):
1) The first request from the snipers was not vetoed outright by the Colonels in the C2 bird. They were told to hang on because no-one was sure if there were survivors. This prompted Super Six Two to go low over the Durant crash site, where both Ray Frank and Mike Durant were confirmed to be alive by those on board Super Six Two. The Colonels then told Super Six Two to hold on (again, not a veto) and take down as many targets as possible from the air, which the snipers did, while waiting for the 2 convoys to try to reach the crash site.
2) It was then observed from Super Six Two that both convoys trying to reach the Durant crash site were in trouble. That was when the pilots (not the snipers) asked for the snipers to be inserted AFTER telling the snipers of the odds (in case the 2 Delta couldn't see for themselves), to which both snipers concurred with the request and agreed to go in.
Now, to quote from the book directly (bold are mine to highlight points):
-----------------------------------------
Up in the command bird, (Colonel) Harrell pondered the request. It was terribly risky, maybe even hopeless. But one or two properly armed, well-trained soldiers could hold off an undisciplined mob indefinitely. Shugart and Gordon were experts at killing and staying alive. They were serious, career soldiers, trained to get hard, ugly things done. They saw opportunity where others saw danger. Like the other operators, they prided themselves on staying cool and effective in extreme danger. They lived and trained for moments like this. If there was a chance to succeed, these two believed they would.
In the C2 bird, seated side by side, Harrell and Matthews weighed the decision. Their entire air rescue team was on the ground already on the first crash site. The ground convoy wasn't going to get to Durant and his crew fast enough. But dropping Shugart and Gordon would most likely be sending them to their deaths. Matthews turned down the volume of their radios momentarily.
"Look, they're your guys," he said to Harrell, "They're the only two guys we've got left. What do you want to do?"
"What are our choices?" Harrell asked
"We can put them in or not put them in. Nobody else is going to get to that crash site that I can see"
"Put them in" said Harrell
So long as there was even a tiny chance, they felt obliged to give it to the downed crew.
------------------------------------------
Therein in the last sentence, is the difference between good soldiers and armchair critics like you. They had loyalty to their men, while you, will leave them to die in the name of "rationality" and "logic" while debating statistics. Error in judgement? Maybe. But illogical and ermotional? You're delusional
Now had you read the book, you'll have realised the decision was not made on a whim, like you're claiming throughout this entire thread based on watching a Hollywood movie. Duh.
You talk abt hindsight, do I really need any?!?
Wrong again!!! Slim, but not none. And whether as a soldier (the snipers) or a leader (the 2 colonels), you owe it to your comrades to try no matter how slim the chance, especially if you knew that theyÂ’d do it for you.
2 men against a hundred, what the chance of them surviving and able to escape capture or kill especially with casualty?
None!!!!
yes it was difficult for the snipers to see this, that was why they wanted to go in , letting emotion ruled over their logic just like you did in your reply.
Of course, but again, after all that I posted, are you still so sure the decisions made was based on emotions?
My view on this based on rationality, the BG as a commander with many men under him should likewise make rational decision, not emotional one. This case clearly show why it should be.
Of course, this angle I totally agree with. But then, at the same time, if everyone were to, has generally agreed that in war, men fight mainly because of the man next to them, and less for the rights and wrongs of their cause.Originally posted by storywolf:Yes, in a war 100% effort from your fighting men is needed, if your fighting men enter the battlefield knowing that they will be send on missions that have totally no value, no chance and to their death in vain, than the only motivation is, at the 1st chance for them put a bullet in you, themselves.
Not according to gary1910, he wasOriginally posted by spencer99:Looking at the MOH citation... he this Gordon guy really deserve the MOH .......
Originally posted by storywolf:Why bother with stubborn arrogant "kid", otherwise he will start calling you armchair general, lamer and later pea brain!!!!And that especially coming from a mod!
I still think that the decision is still bloody wrong in a miliary propective. Sniper are expert in killing people and survival, only if they are not seen ! The greatest danger a sinper is to be seen and shot at, They are totally unequip for gun fight with mobs ! Their main weapon is mount with a 10x or at least 8x scope, which is tune to shoot at 600m to 700m, at the crash site with mob so near, that rifle is almost useless. Their seconday weapon should be a M16 variants. In the crash site, they became nothing much than 2 infantry with rifles, unable to use their unique sniper skills.
Yes they may have got medals for it, yes that is for their bravely which we all admired but that does not mean the decision correct. If getting medals is a measure that decision are correct, then we should count the medals that was given out the the people in the mob for killing the snipers too.
x2Originally posted by storywolf:Hi gary1910
We had already posted our view with supporting facts. If others have different views, let be gentleman and let them post theirs.
Don't worry, I don't mind being call an arm-chair critic or names. Thanks to my former course commander, all the terrible name known to man-kind had been used on me at least 3 times
The postings here already show how much knowledge, depth and experience in military and military tactics each one of us had. Calling other people "armchair critics" or names is not going to change that, it will only serve to reflect on their own character.
Agree and Thanks.Originally posted by CenturionMBT:now now, all of you, please calm down. Views may clash, names maybe called. But i will just treat this as an isolated incident. So yar guys, just ignore whatever that has been said to you so far and continue your discussion. And please, no more name calling from this post on thank you.
Originally posted by meander:whose blog?
[
Sorry bout the profanities and sacarstic psedo-conversations. I just read Xiaxue's blog ... it has an unfortunate effect on my language. Those who've read it will know.[/b]
whose blog?Xiaxue. No I don't think she's in any of the sgforums. Pretty funny 19yr old girl who makes up tons of stories. Aiyah ... read it and you'll understand.
Originally posted by meander:
To those who say : "No, screw the pilot, leave him there. Paiseh ah buddy, but you had to be stranded where no one could get you quick. Now I do have 2 snipers here sitting pretty that could hold out while others come rescue you, but nah it's too risky. Tough luck."
Look at the local nicoll highway accident. According to you people, because the collapse site is still dangerous due to water gushing in, unstable soil movement blah blah, we shouldn't rescue any survivors coz [b]we would risk losing rescuers. But days passed, our CD rescuers continued despite danger and hard work. Even though the possibility of survivors was getting lower every passing moment, the rescuers wanted to at the very least retrieve the body. All this, to give closure to the families of the victims. And finally today, all rescue work was halted for fear of affecting nearby buildings.
Detractors would now point out and say : "Haha, see isn't it too dangerous now, rescue works stop liao."
My point is, it was dangerous in the first place, and rescue work was still carried out. Now it's too dangerous so we stop. Who says it too dangerous? Engineers at the site itself.
So can we go down now and say "Hey continue the rescue! It looks quite safe to me leh. Afterall nothing else fall down what."
NO. Because we do not have the knowledge of an engineer.
So while all of us armchair generals (damnit we are ALL armchair generals like it or not) debate the issue, let us consider the fact that we were never there at the site. We cannot just base our arguments on "facts" from the movie and books. We were never there, it was never our call to make whether it was too dangerous to attempt rescue. That's why certain final decisions are always left to commanders in the field.
Col Harrell felt the snipers could handle the mob. Mind you this was a commander who had been in battles before. He probably had seen more battles than any of us ever would in movies. He would have seen from where he was, the current situation then.
More importantly, he, more than anyone one of us in the entire forum, knew his own guys. He knew what the enemy was capable of, and what his own men can do. If he felt his guys can take the heat, who the heck are we to say no?
To detractors who say :
"Bo liao send 2 sniper in. Sniper can only shoot from far far one. Useless at close range. Not their type of job leh ..."
They were from the delta force. One of the BEST special ops forces in the world. Nuff said.
"Wah liao this Col Harrell is a bad commander lor, send his men in to die"
Name me any other confirmed situation where he handled a similar combat situation badly.
Sorry bout the profanities and sacarstic psedo-conversations. I just read Xiaxue's blog ... it has an unfortunate effect on my language. Those who've read it will know.[/b]
On the last statement...in the first place, Rangers were not the right supporting element for the search-and-kidnap mission. Lightly armed and armoured relative to the opposing forces whether they knew it or not. They could have brought in the overwhelming firepower of the nearby M60s from the start, knowing these stuck-up 'Rangers Lead the Way' 'heros'. Their doctrine is outdated in the light of street warfare. Frankly, they need to make themselves heavier and be willing to be less mobile in order to fight this kind of war. Either that, or let the regular Marines or Army/Armour lead the way instead.Originally posted by Tango1:Ahhh...you are talking abt BAT-21. It was based on the true story of what actually happened. The truth was that he was more than just a colonel. He was dealing with intelligence, and knew alot of classified information; you can imagine what would happen if he gets caught...in essence he becomes a value-added package on top of his Top Priority status...
But I agree with you on that part. We are all expendable. It was an irrational decision. But what I think the commander could have done was to send in Little Birds on strafing runs...keep them going long enuff for a rescue force to reach Durant. Or at least have Shugart and Gordon pick the enemy off from the Blackhawk. Once you leave the helo, you basically lose two elements: mobility and optimum tactical view of the scenario.![]()
Thanks for the WAG on my age, but FYI its a matter of public record. More lack of adequate research?Originally posted by gary1910:Viper, debating with you is really wasting my time. Not only you resort to name calling, bloody immatured kid. All the postings you have did not change the odds at all!!!!
On the contrary, it has not been ignored. It has been addressed over and over again in various ways. You just chose to harp on and on about it more different ways.
Your only reason that the snipers should be send in becos if there is any possibility of saving of down fellow soldiers, they should be regardless of risk! How stupid can one be!!!!
Becos if the chances is so slim, getting more friendlies been killed to do it is simply stupid!!!!
[/quote]
It might be stupid to you, but as have been repeated over and over by the others here, there is an extremely good reason for this. That was the basis of CSAR from the day the concept was mooted, from the days of the Vietnam War (as exemplified by the Bat 21 rescue) and it will always remain the case.
Let me say this again in my previous post where you conveniently ignored:
A standard military offensive against heavily defended objectives is 3 : 1 to be successful.
Now you are talking defending an area with no fortifcation against the enemy number more then 20-50 times against yours?!?
That, unfortunately, is not enough reason to abandon 2, maybe four, injured friendlies minutes away from being captured or dismembered.
You said it yourself that the snipers is survival is slim, even they could hold the perimeter, they eventually will run out ammo , which was the case.
Even with unlimited ammo, where could they go with an injured soldier surrounded by enemy at all side???
As I've stated, I've looked not just at the odds, but also looked at things at all angles. That was the reason why I concluded that I cannot make a judgement on their actions without having been put in the same situation. And that was what I've been trying to say all this while to you.
So who is being delusional, one who do not look at the odds, making decision w/o regard to risk and value.
And thingy abt the MOH, they are awarded for their bravery not their intelligence. I dun think any panel in the world will award them for that!!!
Haha, nice try Gary. There are lots who concurred with my points too. But I won't use their names to get into a "My gun is bigger than your gun" argument.Originally posted by gary1910:Calling ppl "pea brain" just becos that he dun agree with my points where many other in this thread like storywolf, the.raven, spencer99 and shotgun thwho have have more or less concurred with my points, so he was indirectly saying the same thing to them too!!!
]
Storywolf, if you want to look at it from just a purely military perspective, talk 3:1 odds, military textbooks et al, you might have a case. But as have been repeated over and over again, things are not so simple in this case. Before we call judgement, we must look at things from all those perspectives before making that call.Originally posted by storywolf:Viper52
I still think that the decision is still bloody wrong in a miliary propective. Sniper are expert in killing people and survival, only if they are not seen ! The greatest danger a sinper is to be seen and shot at, They are totally unequip for gun fight with mobs ! Their main weapon is mount with a 10x or at least 8x scope, which is tune to shoot at 600m to 700m, at the crash site with mob so near, that rifle is almost useless. Their seconday weapon should be a M16 variants. In the crash site, they became nothing much than 2 infantry with rifles, unable to use their unique sniper skills.
Yes they may have got medals for it, yes that is for their bravely which we all admired but that does not mean the decision correct. If getting medals is a measure that decision are correct, then we should count the medals that was given out the the people in the mob for killing the snipers too.
Just a question for storywolf and gary1910: You seem to take quite a fair bit of umbrage at being termed "armchair critics". So what kind of real combat experience do you have to make that tag untrue when applied to you?Originally posted by storywolf:The postings here already show how much knowledge, depth and experience in military and military tactics each one of us had. Calling other people "armchair critics" or names is not going to change that, it will only serve to reflect on their own character.