You are contradictory, you said it yourself even 1% of chance , then he( Durant) should be rescued, yet why are you saying that now in this case????Too risky??Originally posted by NathanG5:his name n rank is Cpl Jamie Smith..wat a joke..is that the only thing u can come up with?
seriously u are giving yourself a dead end..
read on naive one..
the difference between the 2 incident is so obvious..that i wonder y u brought it up..
Durant crash site-
they were sending in only 2 Delta Snipers..to hold off the mob until the convoy reach them..
simple task..go in n secure as best as possible..but the convoy never reach..
Cpl Jamie Smith-
they were asking for a Black Hawk..how many Black Hawk are available during that time..go count yourself!!!
do u know the procedure of CSAR??
how the hell u gona land a Black Hawk in a hot street?
hey you are the genius here..tell me how u gona do that?
even with the little bird flying around the area..the barely escape being hit by RPG!!
n pls get your FARKING FACTS RITE!!
there is another convoy tryin to reach the wounded..Cpl Smith have people to DEFEND HIM!!! does Durant have people to DEFEND him?
does Durant have medic with him?
stop watching the damn movie arse!
the reason Cpl Smith die because the commander-in chief n some senators are not willing to pull in the Bradleys for the Task Force!!!
Father of Cpl Smith never blame the Task Force commanders..the father even insult President Clinton during the 2 snipers MOH ceremony!!!
i cant believe u farking come up with this lame crap...its 2 different situation!!!!
READ !!!!!
pls imagine it yourself in REAL TIME!!! NOT 2 HOUR!!!
there is a questioning regarding y wasnt any evec for Cpl Smith...
there was no court hearing for Durant incident...
get it?
U STILL HAVE NOT ANSWER MY QUESTION!!!!
Erm, even if they were using the greentips, it was too late to draw out as all the armed forces at that time would be using that round anyway after they phased out the M855 rounds. The greentip is supposed to be the standard issue round and I think they're still using it in Iraq today.Originally posted by storywolf:Hi Nathan,
If you don't even know what the ammos the guys are carrying whether they are suitable for anti-personnal, how it justify to say it is correct to send them in ? The moment you say you don't know, what rounds, you already clearly stated that you are not in a position to jusify their firepower, to do the job effectively !
If you send 2 guy in with M21 & a car-15 with "amoured pirecing" rounds, and ask them to do anti-personal which the rounds is not suited for, then sending them in is not questionable ? Is it not the job for professional commanders to know their ammos and their purpose, even viper52 and other like you, read about it from books ! Oh so the commander who send them in may not read enough books on guns and ammos, or we presume he have amnesia and forgot what rounds they are all issued. Whatever it is still a mistake on someone part !
Originally posted by gary1910:oh man..im not sure if you are stupid or wat? or maybe my england too chim?
You are contradictory, you said it yourself even 1% of chance , then he( Durant) should be rescued, yet why are you saying that now in this case????Too risky??
Really make me wonder????![]()
[b]Medic said that he needed immediate medical attention becos he was dying, as I said , the commanders has to believe that becos they are no medical doctor. Is that so difficult to understand ???
A hundred rangers and 10 doctor will be useless to him w/o the proper equipment to save his life!!!
Why I said that they are lesser risk becos at that moment , there were at least 15 or more rangers and delta in the 1st crash site.
They could actually setup a perimeter for the LZ, let the bird to be in and out in 2 mins. Risky but doable.
Anyway,the commander think it was too risky, therefore they have not sent the bird, as I said noboby will fault the commander for this decision, likewise nobody will fault the commanders if they did not let snipers in the 2nd crash site.
It is all risk and value and the commander have to make the rational decision, if he has to leave someone to die just like this case, nobody will fault them. And this kind of decision have been made in the past as well as the future, that's the reality of war.
As for Bradley , dun know what's the hell you are talking abt?!?
Since they are not even there, so why bring it up?!?
Now your 1% chance is throw out now Huh?!?![]()
Well , it was Nathan not me abt the 1% as quoted below :Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:By the way, I dunno how Gary calculates the odds, but one percent seems ridiculus to me. It's a highly fluid situtation down there and the deck of cards can change in an instant. Those two D-boys didn't put themselves into danger foolishly and they certainly knew what they were doing and the risks involved. They getting killed if more of an effect of the fortunes of war then bad planning. The situtation was not hopeless, it was uncertain.
I suspect Gary's ultraconservative way of leading and hard headed thinking would get more people torn up. And if we follow his line of reasoning, he would be the only trooper electing to stay behind after the convoy decides to saddle up and return because according to him, it seems insane to return into an uncertain situtation for a blackhawk.
Originally posted by NathanG5Since he has said 1% chance , then the snipers should be send in.
the fact that there is a slim chance of rescuing Durant..maybe 1%?
who knows..miracle might happen?
dude..are u blind to see the question mark behind the 1%?Originally posted by gary1910:Since he has said 1% chance , then the snipers should be send in.
Now the Cpl Smith incident, he said it was too risky.
Well anyway all this whether should be send in or not is all subjective and there was always be someone with different view on it.
But the point I would like make is that if the risk to take is too high where more soldiers will be more likely to be killed rather than saving more lives then it should not be taken!!!
So what is the acceptable risk, that itself is subjective.
That another point is that it is all abt risk and value and the commander have to make the rational decision, if he has to leave someone to die just like this case, nobody will fault them. And this kind of decision have been made in the past as well as will be in the future, that's the reality of war.
not related to Black Hawk Down...but something very interesting..Originally posted by storywolf:hi SingaporeTyrannosaur
Care to donate blood ?
You are right about the properties of the different bullets.
What I suppect they are given the AP(M955 - black tips) round which is suppose to design agument M855 to give soldiers add on capability against light amour .The greentips rounds is (M855) which if they are issued with will be good in anti-personal. In fact the M855 bullet wound have the same effect as the M193, only the M855 is a heavier bullet for improve range.
Check out the below website, for the comparison of wound damage.
http://www.fen-net.de/norbert.arnoldi/army/wound.html
hollow tip?Originally posted by meander:out of point ... but it's i'm bored and there seem to be quite a few ammo experts in the thread.
I never knew there was such a big family within the 5.56mm itself or that all projectiles yaw after hitting a body. All i knew was that the projectile spins, the exit wound would be significant larger than the entry wound. I'm ignorant but hey, I've never shot anyone and I don't really intend to.
Anyway i'm curious, what kind of 5.56 round does the SAF issue?
And what about hollow tip rounds? What are they called?
Think this topic should move on from here now....Originally posted by NathanG5:hollow tip?
think got a few kind..
think its those SAF sniper use..there was one 7.62 round that are suppose to be ban by Geneva Convention..
the name sound very malay..but cant remember liao..
Lapua Mag ?Originally posted by NathanG5:hollow tip?
think got a few kind..
think its those SAF sniper use..there was one 7.62 round that are suppose to be ban by Geneva Convention..
Nah, the Finnish Lapua rounds used by our snipers aren't hollow-point.Originally posted by NathanG5:hollow tip?
think got a few kind..
Just a quick correction on that count my friend, this is what I posted:Originally posted by storywolf:incorrect combination of rifle/round = useless gun, thanks viper52 for his arguement on that)
You cannot just compare guns, you have to factor in the ammo as well. You can have the best gun in the world, but if the ammo you use is unsuitable for the job at hand, the gun will be instantly rendered unsuitable for the task.Nowhere did the word useless come up in my argument, nor did I use that word. "Unsuitable" and "Useless" are 2 very different things.
No worries!Originally posted by storywolf:Hi Viper52,
Started a new thread " donating Blood" Thanks.
To meander:yyah agreed..from the book......the D-Boys mostly carry M-4 carbines with teflon coated NATO 5.56 round..which of course go thru the target without stopping..the enemy may not even know they r shot when their adreneline is pumping hard...they still got a chance to run...now the problems comes...is he dead?...mortally wounded?...in such situation we dun wanna guess whether the enemy is wounded or wat..we want them DEAD!...
The spinning of the projectile has nothing to do with the damage caused to the human body as a target. Smoothbore muskets will inflict as much damage as similar rifled weapon. The spinning projectiles are spun to be stable in flight.
The most reliable, and scientifically proven method of killing your oppoent with a projectile, is to cause as large tissue distruption as possible, be it though punching a large hole or using bullets that shatter within the body from hydrostatic pressure buildup.
In FIBUA, shattering 5.56mm is good if you got a good camping spot, because anybody you zap will almost certainly be dead or out of the fight. 7.62 while more powerful, unless propelled to higher then normal velocities, will not shatter and tend to just pass through the body not really doing much damage.