- If the situation is such that Malaysia has a few battalions of ASTROS, we will need to be worried. However currently they have 18 units IIRC.Originally posted by Langley:Wonder if Malaysia/Indonesia can pull the same stunt on us. If I'm not wrong, they have entire airborne divisions, all RDF within a few hours max. If I were them, I would do a 'shock and awe' on Singapore. ASTROS and arty barrage cum air strikes on armour camps, airbases etc. plus large-scale airborne inflitration.
True, but the window of opportunity cuts both ways. It is difficult to gather, prepare and deploy without attracting attention either by other physically noticing your buildup, or catching wind of it via ELINT, SIGINT or COMINT.
Singapore would not be able to respond for several key reasons. One, our air defence artillery is not up to par compared to our air force. Our Rapiers, Iglas and Mistrals are only short-range, low-level weapons and only I-Hawk capable of hitting long-range high-level. Once our airfields kena hit by Malaysian arty or special forces, our skies are wide open. Malaysian/Indonesian troop transports can choose to fly above range of our SAMS.
[/quote]
When mounting a large scale airborne invasion, the planes need to be closely spaced and not too high, to prevent misdrops and scattering the force over a wide area.
I might be wrong, but I don't think the TUDM or TNI-AU has the capability to drop entire airborne divisions at once[quote]
Second, SAF is very formidable no doubt. But it takes time to first mobilize then deploy. Although we claim this can be done within hours but more realistically, I feel this can take days. This creates a 'window of opportunity' where the SAF would be at its weakest. Any comments?
Yea sure fly a complete division in a plane convoy where they are helpess againest our airpower.....Originally posted by Langley:Thanks for the clarification, viper52I not much knowledge about airborne ops and airbase defences. But do appreciate that airborne ops enable Malaysia to avoid direct confrontation with a fully mobilized SAF in Johor and neutralize it right in Singapore where its weakest. Mabbe that's why we had such an exaggerated reaction over Ex Malindo Darsasa in Aug 1991. To sidetrack abit, was wondering if our armour and arty camps hardened as well since they are our vital units too.
Originally posted by Langley:Wonder if Malaysia/Indonesia can pull the same stunt on us. If I'm not wrong, they have entire airborne divisions, all RDF within a few hours max. If I were them, I would do a 'shock and awe' on Singapore. ASTROS and arty barrage cum air strikes on armour camps, airbases etc. plus large-scale airborne inflitration. Singapore would not be able to respond for several key reasons. One, our air defence artillery is not up to par compared to our air force. Our Rapiers, Iglas and Mistrals are only short-range, low-level weapons and only I-Hawk capable of hitting long-range high-level. Once our airfields kena hit by Malaysian arty or special forces, our skies are wide open. Malaysian/Indonesian troop transports can choose to fly above range of our SAMS. Second, SAF is very formidable no doubt. But it takes time to first mobilize then deploy. Although we claim this can be done within hours but more realistically, I feel this can take days. This creates a 'window of opportunity' where the SAF would be at its weakest. Any comments?
Thanks for the article kurios55Originally posted by kurios55:
http://www.asianewsnet.net/template.php?No=3124&logo_name=Asian%20Voices%20Today&SectionID=7&backissue=2002-07-10
A 2002 article carried in ST and mirrored in Asia News Network questioned whether Indonesia had effective force-projection capability given the general bad condition of their equipment. The embargo from the US govt is still in existence and it is unlikely that they will lift it soon.
my 2 cents.
The minute they start to buildup in the prelude to a war? China/US/Japan/Korea will send their warships here to prevent any breakout.Originally posted by Langley:Wonder if Malaysia/Indonesia can pull the same stunt on us. If I'm not wrong, they have entire airborne divisions, all RDF within a few hours max. If I were them, I would do a 'shock and awe' on Singapore. ASTROS and arty barrage cum air strikes on armour camps, airbases etc. plus large-scale airborne inflitration. Singapore would not be able to respond for several key reasons. One, our air defence artillery is not up to par compared to our air force. Our Rapiers, Iglas and Mistrals are only short-range, low-level weapons and only I-Hawk capable of hitting long-range high-level. Once our airfields kena hit by Malaysian arty or special forces, our skies are wide open. Malaysian/Indonesian troop transports can choose to fly above range of our SAMS. Second, SAF is very formidable no doubt. But it takes time to first mobilize then deploy. Although we claim this can be done within hours but more realistically, I feel this can take days. This creates a 'window of opportunity' where the SAF would be at its weakest. Any comments?
'To make intervention possible, the SAF would need to disable the Malaysian armed forces with a brutal and fearless pre-emptive offensive, or ar least to retain the capability to execute such an offensive after absorbing an initial Malaysian onslaught. Probably in conjunction with electronic attacks on the Malaysian armed forces' communications and sensors (such as radars), the SAF would first attempt to establish air superiority by devastating the Malaysian air force on the ground (in the first few hours of any conflict), before mounting further air strikes againist other military targets. Singapore's army would then seize the initiative on the ground, with Commandos-infiltrated by air and sea-and helimobile Guards units securing the Malaysian side of the Causeway (in Johor Bahru) and the 'second link' bridge (to the south-west of Johor Bahru). Combined arms forces, most importantly armoured battle groups equipped with light tanks and other AFCs, would then cross into Johor and conduct a rapidly paced advance into the peninsula, supported by Guards battalions and their associated RSAF transport helicopter squandrons. RSAF strike aircraft and armed helicopters would provide close air support.'Originally posted by spencer99:If we say that the our doctrine is to utilize the "elite" formations of the Army ie SOF, Commandos and Guards in a potential conflict, why should we train and maintain such a large orbat. There is a lot of cost involve even just for the sole purposes of buying and maintaining the equipment for these SIR and NS units. Not to forget the cost of calling them back for ICT ($$$) and sending them overseas for training and so on and then not using them in a conflict. Also if we are only relying on the active forces we wouldn't have restructured our formations from 1 active and 2 reserve Inf DIvision to 3 (mixed active/NSmen) Combined arms Div.
Originally posted by Langley:Supposing our worst case scenairo happens and Malaysia successfully occupies Singapore, how exactly is our much-vaunted ally, the US, going to come to our aid? When Iraq invaded Kuwait in 1991, the US built up its forces in neighbouring Saudi Arabia for almost a year (Operation Desert Shield) before launching Operation Desert Storm. But our Muslim neighbours would NEVER allow the US to launch a major war from their territories. So, even if the US wanted to liberate an occupied Singapore, how are they going to do so? Deploy Marine Expeditionary Forces from Guam? Airborne insertion by the 101st or 82nd? Even then, they are all lightly armed forces with only light armour and arty and would not last against an overwhelmingly superior force. Just to point out that even if the US wanted to liberate us, it would be very difficult. Unless Malaysia really pisses the US off and the US pressurizes Thailand (long-time US ally) to launch armoured units from southern Thailand. Not a very likely scenairo though. All in, I don't think Singapore can count on the US or anybody to come to our aid in the event of an invasion. They may be able to provide air and naval support but definitely not land forces. And remember, wars are won or lost on land.
Yeap you're right. Iraq invaded on August 2, 1990 and got kicked out of Kuwait on Feb 27, 1991. Bit lazy to check the dates upOriginally posted by Jazzswing:First of all, it took the US military SIX months to deploy in Saudi Arabia, not almost a year. No offence, but you seem to have an impression that any liberation of Singapore needs to have a large amount of ground troops, i don't think thats the case. Assuming the SAF could hold out an MAF onslaught for at least a week, it's more than enough for US intervention considering their navy has several carrier strike groups in the pacific. Huge ground troops are not neccessary for an effective response. And considering US 'places not bases' strategy, in the near future each carrier battle grp itself can respond to a MRC independently. A possible situation would be...(if the US chooses to fight on our side) say a CBG comes within the theatre, launch precision strikes on MAF's military centre of gravity (key targets- communications, command and control), followed by other military targets, then perhaps can leave the rest for us..And all these within the first or second week of the war.
If you're talking about US help after Singapore falls...i still doubt we need a lot of their ground troops, assuming the remnants will be taking MAF on out in the streets, there'll be heavy urban fighting. They will realise it's a non-zero sum game, and that will probably deter any invasion in the first place.The same thing applies here. If Singapore has fallen, there's not much point in carrying on the struggle aka Iraq or Somalia. With no food and water, the Malaysian army does not have to engage in bitter FIBUA with remnants of the SAF. It just has to pinpoint and isolate pockets of opposition and wait out the war, like how the US encircled Iraqi cities instead of entering them during the invasion last year. Of course, I'm not sure how effective this strategy would be since, unlike Iraq, Singapore is so heavily built-up. The MAF may really have to do FIBUA if they kena heavily attacked by us with MGs, LAWs and mortars and got no place to take cover. But still, given our resource constraints, we wouldn't put up too long of a fight. Political will wise, I'm not very sure. We have a pragmatic nature and would not have the stomach for heavy casualties. However, since the invading hordes may bloody well rape our women and rip us bare (think the anti-Chinese riots in Jakarta 1998, except on a bigger scale), I think I would fight. Indeed, I feel those NSmen with families would really fight in wartime since everything they have is here.
I haven't served my NS yet, but i have faith that Singapore can at least hold out in defence for at least 2-3 weeks before capitulation. (Blind faith perhaps?)![]()
Heh, I agree with you. Occupation zone in southern Johor would be crazy. How to man? I NSman liao leh. Wait kena recall from job/studies to do duty there and maybe even die there. Morale will fall and the economy seriously affected. An occupation zone in southern Johor would transform Singapore instantly into the Israel of Southeast Asia, as Huxley pointed out. We compare ourselves to Israel all the time but c'mon on, we haven't really experienced what it's like to fear being killed by a suicide bomber everytime we take a SBS bus or go Orchard. Israel pulled out of southern Lebanon for a reason. We shouldn't be stupid enough to repeat that lesson. Hence, Singapore doesn't really have any strong reason to fight an offensive war since we realistically cannot expect to occupy any territory from our neighbours.Originally posted by kurios55:Or would we bite the bullet and actually established a security zone in Johor? In such a scenario, this would mean the long term deployment of troops.
Of course, in the short term, there are immediate benefits to such an approach.
It would
1. Secure our water supply.
2. Eliminate the threat of PTP.
3. Make sure we always have a place to go shopping and eat seafood!!
If we decided that we wanted to hold on to territory, we would also need to factor in the political cost and regional implications of such a move. This is because of the difference in political cost of an actual invasion versus a pre-emptive action.
If our troops were committed to an actual invasion, there would also be widespread disruption to our own economy, especially considering that the majority of our troops are NSmen.
An actual invasion would also be used as a rallying cry for the general populace to strike back at us. Whilst I believe that military targets are fair game, there is no way that Singapore would want to be seen killing civillians. Furthermore, if we do not stay around, there is nothing for them to hit back at.
I also think that we do not have the propensity to endure casualties to our troops. If we got caught in such a quagmire similar to Iraq, with daily casualties, our leaders would soon find themselves inundated with calls to our troops back.
add 1 more cent.. hehe![]()
I agreeOriginally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Stories like ASTROS 2 bombardment blanketing Singapore are far-fetched for the very reason we are not living with neighbours would want to see us destroyed at any cost. And besides, given the fact that there are plenty of civillian and assets from other militaries in Singapore, anyhow shooting rockets into the nation will probably hurt the attacker more in the long run. Sure you can fight a war but when your palm oil kenna santioned and people are forced to buy US soy oil, you might want to think twice about using your toys as if they are some trump card.
While we cannot rely on nations like the US to fight a war for us, it would be more foolish to think that we do not need them as allies.
Who would dare to bully Singapore, if it not only has a credible armed force, but also healthy relations with other nations which bully boy will not dare to offend.
By 2006 the first of the 3 varyvag copies which china is producing will roll off from production.Originally posted by Langley:Supposing our worst case scenairo happens and Malaysia successfully occupies Singapore, how exactly is our much-vaunted ally, the US, going to come to our aid? ... ....
.....All in, I don't think Singapore can count on the US or anybody to come to our aid in the event of an invasion. They may be able to provide air and naval support but definitely not land forces. And remember, wars are won or lost on land.