i heard from one sgt during a recruitment drive that most of the study awards would be snapped up by jc students..Originally posted by BMEngineer:How many people got the LSA a year? What is the citeria for getting a LSA?
hm.. i dunno abt how many of the awards go to jc or poly students. and regarding this ata or lsa overseas or local, u can apply for a local award, get it, and go overseas - u jus haf to top up the rest of the money, cos u will receive a local amount.Originally posted by kY|e-_-o:i heard from one sgt during a recruitment drive that most of the study awards would be snapped up by jc students..so pray hard to get one if you are a poly grad..
btw wuming, if im not wrong.. only poly grads can apply for ATA or LSA and study locally... all the overseas awards are for jc pple..
btw.. isn't signin on = selling my freedom away?
as i have to stay in all the time or most of the time.. hardly hav any own personal time with family and frens.. much less to socialise and further my studies on my own..![]()
i did..Originally posted by wuming78:signing on is just like signing a contract with any other organisations to work, hence i do not consider it as signing one's freedom away. the nature of the work may entail some loss in personal time but when u signed, it should haf been taken into account in ur consideration as part of the job.
well, in a way, we all haf to weigh our priorities lor. if the personal time is quite impt, o cos den perhaps one would haf to think twice b4 commiting. but also do take into consideration that as a regular the actual working hrs is 8-5 too, o cos the exact nature depends on the vocation and job scope.Originally posted by kY|e-_-o:i did..rather i feel it is a huge loss in personal time..
anyway.. i'm still sorting out my options, being a regular is one of them..![]()
Sadly Jc students get all the priority again....Never mind I will still submit an application for the LSA after the result of my final sem. is released. I will be competing with other poly students but not JC students i think.Originally posted by kY|e-_-o:i heard from one sgt during a recruitment drive that most of the study awards would be snapped up by jc students..so pray hard to get one if you are a poly grad..
btw wuming, if im not wrong.. only poly grads can apply for ATA or LSA and study locally... all the overseas awards are for jc pple..
btw.. isn't signin on = selling my freedom away?
as i have to stay in all the time or most of the time.. hardly hav any own personal time with family and frens.. much less to socialise and further my studies on my own..![]()
Hi. Nice to hear that you are from np alsoOriginally posted by kY|e-_-o:mm.. may i ask what are your poly results like? mostly As or Bs?
from your nick, i assume that your are from np's biomedical engineering... hi.. i'm from np biotech.. hee
even though i got mostly Bs for my results and got a nice SAT score, i lost to my frens in entering ntu in terms of poly and o level results even when i aced them in SAT.. ( why did the govt suddently remove SAT?...) they were all single pointers in o lvls and score mostly As and ADs..
kinda regret not goin to jc in the first place.. jc pple seem to be able to have anythin they wan...
so how are you going to go about signin on and applying for LSA? maybe you would like to share with me cos im also interested.. hee..![]()
SAT was removed from the local uni's entry criteria mah.Originally posted by BMEngineer:However going to Uni. doesn't depend on SAT only. You should have known before hand that Poly results are the most important of all. Perhaps you can try to apply for Uni. next year. Don worry, there are still so many years for us to apply for local Uni, if not overseas or part-time. There are a lot of routes for us, so don be despair.
My intention: 1. Get the result of my final module, which is my Industrial Attachment Program 2. Confirm my entry into NTU with my final result. 3. Talk to the recruitment officer and make a trip down to the career centre for more details about various vocations. 4. Get the application form and apply for LSA.
If possible, I will get these all done before I go for my Ptp.
Hey you have the same interest with me to become an intelligence officerOriginally posted by kY|e-_-o:my first choice would be intelligence..
go to ocs and apply to be an intelligence officer.. if i manage to make it to ocs that is.. try my best
mm.. i realli regret not goin to jc when i had the chance....settled for a diploma.. but since it has come down to this.. i still have to make the best out of it.. heeanyway i cant go overseas.. financial problems.. i still have to pay the bank for sponsoring my poly education.. hai..
so i was hopin for a place in local uni and get an LSA.. to ease my financial burden.. mm.. can i get an LSA without a pre-confirmed place in local uni? and can i use an LSA to apply for a place?
Yah loh lucky for me, didn't do that well for the SATOriginally posted by wuming78:SAT was removed from the local uni's entry criteria mah.
anyway any idea wat service and vocation u like to go for?
u can start finding out or asking them now u noe. things take time to move.![]()
Originally posted by kY|e-_-o:my first choice would be intelligence..
go to ocs and apply to be an intelligence officer.. if i manage to make it to ocs that is.. try my best
mm.. i realli regret not goin to jc when i had the chance....settled for a diploma.. but since it has come down to this.. i still have to make the best out of it.. heeanyway i cant go overseas.. financial problems.. i still have to pay the bank for sponsoring my poly education.. hai..
so i was hopin for a place in local uni and get an LSA.. to ease my financial burden.. mm.. can i get an LSA without a pre-confirmed place in local uni? and can i use an LSA to apply for a place?
not too sure if u all haf a misconception of the intel scheme. better that u either visit their website to find out more or call the safcc. its not that the intel scheme is not cbt - it is a tri-svc scheme, meaning that u can come from all 3 services, any vocation.Originally posted by BMEngineer:Yah loh lucky for me, didn't do that well for the SAT
Right now intelligence sounds interesting to me. Me not too interested in the combat side...however if become one also no prob lah.
well if u r certain about it u can. or u may wan to find out more from arc first b4 making a decision.Originally posted by kY|e-_-o:i've read the intelligence officer sticky in the saf forum posted by you already.. hee..mm.. theres this recruitment section in the webbie where one can apply to be an IO..
can i apply now.. since i will be enlistin soon?
i can now only pray and hope for the best.. i dun expect anythin much at the moment..![]()
The route to being an IO i feel, will be very difficult. You get through BMT hopefully get in OCS first.....good luck.Originally posted by kY|e-_-o:oh okie... right now.. im pretty certain i would want to be an IO
thanks alot anyway~ hee
yup. one step at a time dude. get thru bmt and get to ocs first. good luck!Originally posted by BMEngineer:The route to being an IO i feel, will be very difficult. You get through BMT hopefully get in OCS first.....good luck.
i was actually talking about JC students getting more of the study awards than poly students..Originally posted by meander:In any case, I wouldn't say JC students have a higher chance of going into OCS. Because JC and poly students basically have different intake timings. JC peeps usually enlist in the first half of the year, poly peeps in the 2nd half. Officer selection is mostly independant of each other. You're not going to compete with the other JC/poly people, just within your own batch.
FYI, for people aiming for anything higher than LTC, they must be government scholarship material and even then, it's no garauntee you will make it so far. Personally, I won't recommend joining IO before you actually get a feel of it. My CO tried to convince me to convert when I decided not to continue with my contract but the scheme was quite new and the route of advancement was real murky for the junior officers so you might end up hanta kaki on one position for longer than expected. Shit happens.Originally posted by kY|e-_-o:my first choice would be intelligence..
go to ocs and apply to be an intelligence officer.. if i manage to make it to ocs that is.. try my best![]()
hmm....Originally posted by |-|05|:From what i know the LSA is given to anyone in OCS who has already gotten a place in a local Uni and is willing to sign on.Meaning if u get a place into uni liao high chance u will get LSA....the reason why most students who get LSA's are jc students is because the ratio for jc to poly getting into a uni is skewed towards the jc students.