SOF is consider part of commando.....Originally posted by SpecOps87:Hello all,juz a new point to ponder on.SOF are troopers who are the "Pinnacle of SAF" right?But it seems that the NDU is on par with the SOF,in terms of their training and stuff.And Commandoes are the peak in the SAF,so any guess if the three fight it out,who will win man?
And is there any SpecOps unit in RSAF?Don't seem to be any.
Lastly,if SOF is considered a unit,den why isn't the SOF included in the SAF's Annual Best Unit Competition?
Out of interest, does NDU have this ?Originally posted by chunyong:1) SOF can do wat NDU and CDO can do. But not vice versa.
2) NDU can do wat CDO can do but not vice versa
3) CDO can do all the overt ops and claim the 'trophy' but not SOF
Lastly...there is still the Special Diving Unit.

i think tat is only partly true..most US Navy Seal candidate r chosen from NDU..most of them..Originally posted by zenden9:All Spore US Navy Seal bound candidate r chosen only from NDU!
I agreed w NathanOriginally posted by NathanG5:i think tat is only partly true..most US Navy Seal candidate r chosen from NDU..most of them..
no ture, there'r quite a considerable numbers of Seals in the sof. the number is not less than ndu.Originally posted by zenden9:All Spore US Navy Seal bound candidate r chosen only from NDU!
To latch on:Originally posted by NDU:i dont agree with the ... what SOF can do and others cant and what NDU can do and other cant
SOF mainly deal with BLACK OPS which its totaly different from what the Commando and NDU are expected to perform.
as for me ... i will consider SOF as a independent UNIT in Commando and in NDU, we have A team (Bugs)
im not good in words .... in short it will be
SOF= Black
Commando= green
NDU/A team = Blue
on top of this.... I DONT AGREE THAT OUR SOF ARE ABLE TO CARRY OUT UNDER WATER DEMOLITIONim not saying that they are not good... but... they are not really trained towards these area and you will NEVER SEE SOF CARRY OUT MINE CLEARENCE
Hmm, but how come CO willing to "release" their so many men to go for the the course? Or was it the Thailand Wing that u saw?Originally posted by smisig:I agreed w Nathan
errr i tot during the '96/ or '97 NDP the Captain leading the Cdo contigent wore a trident badge....damm garang afew cdo oso wear the trident badge saw a sargeant in No.1 oso have that badge on his right breast side.
he is toking abt the captain who lead the contingent...not the men..Originally posted by Kaczynski:Hmm, but how come CO willing to "release" their so many men to go for the the course? Or was it the Thailand Wing that u saw?
AFAIK, SOF is a independent unit resides in Hendon camp, becos not all SOFs are from commando, some are from other units as well.Originally posted by NDU:as for me ... i will consider SOF as a independent UNIT in Commando and in NDU, we have A team (Bugs)

u have a gd point there..but if im not wrong all SOF wear the red berets..n they were given a option to stay as commandos or go back to its original vocation..Originally posted by gary1910:AFAIK, SOF is a independent unit resides in Hendon camp, becos not all SOFs are from commando, some are from other units as well.
Since some of the SOFs are not from commando, therefore they could not call themselves commando, & therefore SOF cannot be called a commando unit.
Actually...Originally posted by NathanG5:he is toking abt the captain who lead the contingent...not the men..
n not all will go for the same SEAL course also..
btw..BMTC CO Loh Yong Poh also got a trident a commando also..
I guess he saw a few men("afew cdo oso wear the trident badge" ) in addition to the Captain and the specialist mentioned...Originally posted by smisig:I agreed w Nathan
errr i tot during the '96/ or '97 NDP the Captain leading the Cdo contigent wore a trident badge....damm garang afew cdo oso wear the trident badge saw a sargeant in No.1 oso have that badge on his right breast side.
maybe wat he saw is not men..maybe nia..or it was a different time he saw afew cdo?Originally posted by Kaczynski:I guess he saw a few men("afew cdo oso wear the trident badge" ) in addition to the Captain and the specialist mentioned...
For the Captain/Specialist concerned, maybe his service in other units had allowed him to advance for such course but for the men....
I guess we're almost on the same line...just puzzled by his comment and the availability of the men there to be able to go for such courses...Originally posted by NathanG5:maybe wat he saw is not men..maybe nia..or it was a different time he saw afew cdo?
think abt it..there aint that many SEAL train cdos...
i think mostly regulars will go this goodies..
i dun mind going...but im a specky..handicap liaoOriginally posted by Kaczynski:I guess we're almost on the same line...just puzzled by his comment and the availability of the men there to be able to go for such courses...
Yah, regulars mostly I guess...A few JWOC candidates that I saw did have the trident on them...It's either that or what he saw was really the Thai wing, which is much more common...
Well, as for whether issit a "goodie" depends on the perspective...Good for career advancement, provided you're willing to tahan these months away from your family, which I would say is quite tough considering u already dun see them much...and of course, the physical..
if im not wrong..... the whole camp got less then 15 seal trained cdosOriginally posted by NathanG5:maybe wat he saw is not men..maybe nia..or it was a different time he saw afew cdo?
come to think of it..there aint that many SEAL train cdos also leh..
i think mostly regulars will go this goodies..
sof is part of the commando formation.Originally posted by gary1910:AFAIK, SOF is a independent unit resides in Hendon camp, becos not all SOFs are from commando, some are from other units as well.
Since some of the SOFs are not from commando, therefore they could not call themselves commando, & therefore SOF cannot be called a commando unit.