Originally posted by HENG@:pretty cool!
btw has anyone discussing this thread, instead of single manned, personal machines, thought in the direction of giant armoured walkers like the AT-AT in star wars instead? seems we are mostly focusing on the personal battlearmour suit. what about mass troop transport or heavy assault?
But then you still need a platform to launch your Hellfire....Originally posted by the Bear:1 AT-AT = $50 million or more
1 Hellfire Missile = $1 million
Why do you want to make a weapon that's so huge and cumbersome in movements when modern technology allows us to advance into the microscales?Originally posted by Saint Valentinian:Ive always wondered why no one has thought of designing a mobile suit, something like a Mech/Gundam style robot, operated by a person inside. Maybe seems far fetched now, but i think it would offer more mobilty and flexiblity. Haha..personally liked the Design of the Mecha in the Matrix Revolutions, with mounted Dual machine guns and all.
Just a thought~! *
once the research is done, manufacturing costs go down, and u still need ground troops to physically hold a place.Originally posted by the Bear:1 AT-AT = $50 million or more
1 Hellfire Missile = $1 million
very much agreeOriginally posted by edLow:anyway i think such technologies should be put to use develop or assist in the building of space coloney technologies instead of using as a war tool.
anyway i think such technologies should be put to use develop or assist in the building of space coloney technologies instead of using as a war tool.but my friend...it is through war that advances come about....
sort of truth too lah.Originally posted by |-|05|:but my friend...it is through war that advances come about....
The correct term is APU (Armored Personnel Unit)Originally posted by Aulf:Ya .. the APSs in Matrix Rev shooting dn the sentinels ... those were my favorite scenes in the movie .. awesome graphics and special effects
think there have sth like dat albeit smaller scale and used in the hyeavy duty industrial applications

Originally posted by SlowPoke:
But then you still need a [b]platform to launch your Hellfire....
hahaha... hardly conjures up the image of gundam MS pilots...Originally posted by edLow:sort of truth too lah.
human being has the nature to destroy stuffs.
but den.. looking at how f*ck up the new recuits these days are.. i wonder how war will be with a mobile suit system. haha. all the fair fair ah pui kia controling the MS. hahaha.
Lol actually hor i meant that when there is war and stuff they will pump more $$$ into R&D...also new concepts will be more easily embracedOriginally posted by edLow:sort of truth too lah.
human being has the nature to destroy stuffs.
but den.. looking at how f*ck up the new recuits these days are.. i wonder how war will be with a mobile suit system. haha. all the fair fair ah pui kia controling the MS. hahaha.
Originally posted by the Bear:bro, dun you think earlier on, your comparison is a little out of context? We were talking about different weapons platform (eg, AFV, walking tanks, etc) and you came along and compared some futuristic walking troop assault carrier with a Hellfire missile. A more relevent comparison might be a M3 Bradley IFV. Because we are talking about the platforms not the munitions they fire. To use a similar metaphor like at an Assault Rifle beauty contest, other contestants are entering rifles like FN2000, SAR-21, Steyr AUG and you walk in with just a 5.56mm tracer round.
[b]it's called a Hellfire, or Helicopter Launched Fire and Forget...
but lately, it's ground-launched
Originally posted by SlowPoke:bro, dun you think earlier on, your comparison is a little out of context? We were talking about different weapons platform (eg, AFV, walking tanks, etc) and you came along and compared some futuristic walking troop assault carrier with a Hellfire missile. A more relevent comparison might be a M3 Bradley IFV. Because we are talking about the platforms not the munitions they fire. To use a similar metaphor like at an Assault Rifle beauty contest, other contestants are entering rifles like FN2000, SAR-21, Steyr AUG and you walk in with just a 5.56mm tracer round.
And then I asked for a platform, you showed us a HUMVEE firing ground-based Hellfires. Fine, so in your opinion, we should scrap all our tanks and just buy lots of missile-firing soft-skinned jeeps? How long can your fleet hummers last in a battle?

it should be pretty stable as long not designed by Microsoft. hahahahaOriginally posted by duotiga83:if your OS crash inside.....![]()
i think even no war, lots of money are pumped in liao. just tat it is not make known to public. hahaha.Originally posted by |-|05|:Lol actually hor i meant that when there is war and stuff they will pump more $$$ into R&D...also new concepts will be more easily embraced
Then I can simply wipe out your Humvee fleet with an even cheaper artillery barrage.... after all how much does an artillery shell cost compared to your million dollar missile? And I can do it way beyond the range of your missiles too.Originally posted by the Bear:with enough ordinance, tanks are of no use...
simple as that isn't it?
anyway, the question in the beginning is why won't people design them "gundam" type suits...
still the same result.. they can be wiped out simply with a missile...
tanks? if there are enough humvees with hellfires and tows which are out of the range of MBTs, tanks are useless... because it does not make economic sense to send out tanks when something cheap can easily wipe them out...
war these days is ALWAYS about economics...
and mostly, don't think anyone wants to build mobile suits... coz no matter what is said, grunts are expendable to the REMFs...
hell yeah man!Originally posted by ditzy:Nuff' said...![]()
humvees... under armoured. man look at what happened in somalia 92...Originally posted by SlowPoke:Then I can simply wipe out your Humvee fleet with an even cheaper artillery barrage.... after all how much does an artillery shell cost compared to your million dollar missile? And I can do it way beyond the range of your missiles too.
If tanks are as obsolete as you say...try doing a Thunder Run in your Humvees through downtown Baghdad like what the Yanks did during OIF.
Originally posted by SlowPoke:Then I can simply wipe out your Humvee fleet with an even cheaper artillery barrage.... after all how much does an artillery shell cost compared to your million dollar missile? And I can do it way beyond the range of your missiles too.
If tanks are as obsolete as you say...try doing a Thunder Run in your Humvees through downtown Baghdad like what the Yanks did during OIF.