oh..u figure it out? congratOriginally posted by Moonstriker:Personal flaming issit nathan?
U finish NS doesn't mean u know alot abt military stuff. You are making an unfair statement.
Originally posted by SpecOps87:this reminds me of a joke... we were on course in sispec... there was about 8 pple in that office that day... mostly dirty weapons and misfire (which included me)... all waiting for cwo to sign the "holy book" .
And btw,the M-16 will fire off with if you drop it when it is loaded with a live round in the chamber.Even when on safe.Not all weapons are built to be safe.And to be frank,the fact remains that a safe holster is not a speed holster and a speed holster is not a safe holster.Although companies try to constantly come up with newer and better holsters to suit the different purposes.
U decork the pistol and shoot issit??Originally posted by storywolf:zenden9
"Have u fire P226(SAF pistol) before? The first time I shoot at 20m,miss a half human size object completely.Pistol still need pratice,their recoil is very strong(more than M-16)!"
Yep fire the P226 before. Yep the first few round went totally wide as the recoil is more than I expected. Not sure about you, but I find the P226 slightly too big for my hand to be shooting it comfortably. I perfer the P229, more compact and comfortable in hand to shoot properly.
ya it protects your vital organs but the shell will end up hitting u....Originally posted by chunyong:Pistols are more accurate generally and deployment is much faster. there is so much to learn in pistol shooting....its not just point and shoot. there is the horse riding stance and lots more. there is also a newly developed stance that u position the pistol very close to your eyes compared to normal posture, u use it when in super confined places. works good and the posture 'protects' your vital organs too.
Originally posted by HENG@:see prae, both storywolf n zenden9 are saying what i siad, that it is not easy to shoot a pistol even at close range.
Actually, to be blunt,Originally posted by Praetorian111:![]()
hahaha kena shoot.... by so many....
... next time then we discuss abt it over lunch....
SAF should allow use/issue of knuckle-dusters over normal gloves during combatOriginally posted by Praetorian111:![]()
yo no prob. after I ORD, can meet u for lunch if u free since u study so near my home.Originally posted by Praetorian111:![]()
erm...the gun not held the normal way loh and i have tried it multiple times, not once hit me before. if such obvious thing also not ruled out the method won't be taught liao lah...wah liew....Originally posted by Praetorian111:ya it protects your vital organs but the shell will end up hitting u....![]()
eh, knuckle dusters is a prohibited item in S'pore leh....dun play play.Originally posted by panzerjager:SAF should allow use/issue of knuckle-dusters over normal gloves during combat
Use in wartime against enemy when enemy just got caught and hands-up - initial interrogation periodOriginally posted by chunyong:eh, knuckle dusters is a prohibited item in S'pore leh....dun play play.
no problem.Originally posted by SpecOps87:Eh Heng,thanks for the pic.The Frequent Flyer looks more like a throwing knife.Anyway,once again thanks.
And fellas,another reason for me posting this thread is that someone posted in another earlier thread that BMT now no longer teaches Bayonet Fighting.So,look at it this way,a pistol is useful when it your main weapon is empty or jammed.So it helps you stay alive.And since SAF don't issue any big,menacing combat knives,shouldn't they issue a pistol too?So that we at least have a descent chance to defend ourselves rather then sitting there with our thumbs in our drool covered mouths?
And someone posted bout how t join SRA,well you can go check out their website.Not sure if its still operational.But quite costly to join.
ha, our STAR can do pullthrough effectively, trust them. double-action got its safety factor too. for those non-static shooting, its amazing to see how fast Gurkhas move but their accuracy is slightly behind. how many people can jump right into a dry canal unhurt and continue to hot-pursue ? not many eh...Originally posted by storywolf:Chunyong
"double-action is more for competition shooting. some people prefer the squeeze through and wouldn't use double-action while others vice versa. we do not use P22x for law enforcement duty locally. P22x once came into the picture sometime back but the idea was replaced by a 'better' pistol...which we have no say, as usual.¡±
Double action is not for competition only. Some competitions have time factor in, so very fast shooting, not the classic type you expect.
In fact all shooting classes teaches double action for pistols, revolvers and rifles including SAF, Police and shooting clubs. Trainees are usually make to practise double action, which they pull and hold than follow through, this is to get them into the habit and feel. This is to train them so that, in actual shooting, well trained shooters are actually doing double-action while they aiming, all this they are doing unconsciously, and so fast that the by-stander see it as a single squeeze which you call "squeeze through".
In close quarter combat situation, a swat team member with a pistol will not just squeeze it off, and hope for the best that he hit the target instead of hostage. He is trained till he can do the double action super fast and hit target precisely.
1) there is this thing called snatching where u 'compensate' the recoil by either jerking down (most of the time) or jerking up just before the pin engages, dats how ur shot misses.Originally posted by Jazzswing:Ok..first please excuse my ignorance...but is a pistol that hard to shoot? If a person who is new to a particular firearm..and uses it for the first time..all you have to do is..align the front sight and rear sight..align aiming eye i don't see why the bullet won't hit where you aim. (Assuming the gun is properly maintained.) I have only experienced shooting a .22 during NPCC (crap huh?) the only time i missed is when my hands are trembling..
yes it is that hard to shoot.Originally posted by Jazzswing:Ok..first please excuse my ignorance...but is a pistol that hard to shoot? If a person who is new to a particular firearm..and uses it for the first time..all you have to do is..align the front sight and rear sight..align aiming eye i don't see why the bullet won't hit where you aim. (Assuming the gun is properly maintained.) I have only experienced shooting a .22 during NPCC (crap huh?) the only time i missed is when my hands are trembling..
Aiya just joking lar... u see the smileyface?? I know lar.... By the way where u learn shooting from?Originally posted by chunyong:erm...the gun not held the normal way loh and i have tried it multiple times, not once hit me before. if such obvious thing also not ruled out the method won't be taught liao lah...wah liew....
Wat competition issit?? Safisum?Originally posted by storywolf:Praetorian111,
"U decork the pistol and shoot issit?? I think p229 or p228 there is a version specially made for Asian."
I don't de-cork the pistol and shoot it, sorry they don't allow it in shooting competitions. Last time, me blur blur sotong, got drag into a special full 2 weeks course for revolver shooting for competition.
heh... quite awkward leh... weapon is horizontal, ur fren is proned down, HOW he knock the butt hard on the ground???Originally posted by SpecOps87:Eh CX,actually to be frank right.I dun think your fren was tokin cock.Coz rite,I in NCC.Den during our 100m Classification shoot,I assisting one bugger.He loaded,safe liaoz.Den instead of resting the weapon on sandbag,due to his small size,he knocked the butt on the ground pretty hard,and a round went off.So,yes,I have seen it before,and yes,it has been proven that the M16S1 does fire even though it is placed in the "SAFE" mode.
I know that from personal experience cuz I was farked by the range conducting officer and also the safety officer for not ensuring that my the firer's weapon is at "SAFE".The firer,also blur,he showed his weapon which was still at "SAFE" to the both of them.They both down there paiseh,change the weapon.So,I ain't making it up man.