dui bu qi, wo shi jing cha.Originally posted by Praetorian111:Aiya just joking lar... u see the smileyface?? I know lar.... By the way where u learn shooting from?
Jazzswing, think you got the wrong perception from your NPCC experience. If so easy people like Specop87 will not be joining shooting clubs. Sorry to be frank, NPCC .22 shoot is just desgin to make you feel good, and let you think that you can shoot ! If they don't give you so large human size target, standing so close to make sure some of you hit something, where the fun of joining NPCC ?Originally posted by Jazzswing:Ok..first please excuse my ignorance...but is a pistol that hard to shoot? If a person who is new to a particular firearm..and uses it for the first time..all you have to do is..align the front sight and rear sight..align aiming eye i don't see why the bullet won't hit where you aim. (Assuming the gun is properly maintained.) I have only experienced shooting a .22 during NPCC (crap huh?) the only time i missed is when my hands are trembling..
alamak, i joking lah, every 5 shot must reload, very un-tactical and un-combat effectiveness. somemore range is not even 100m...how to really deploy ?Originally posted by SpecOps87:Well,in NPCC competitions and NCC competitions,I belief that once weapons are drawn from the Armoury,the SAF or SPF people incharged will do a sort of neutral zeroing,where-by the weapon is zeroed to the original when it is out of the box or zeroed to their own eyes.Coz durin my NCC shooting competitions and classification shoots with the M16S1,it will most of the time be slightly off,no matter how well i aimed.And since we were forbidden to do any form of zeroing ourselves,we were told to fire a grouping,then can aim off if needed.So,it sucks...Haha.
Anyway,why S&W .38?I feel that an automatic pistol will be better.Easier to reload and holds more rounds.Would prefer it to be 9mm or .40.The .45cal is somewhat slightly heavier recoiled then the 2 above.And 9mm is more common too.
The news last time was that smith & wesson don't manufacture revolvers that suit us anymore that is why they turn to Taurus but it is a good choice with the laser. Anyway all the revolvers from police totally super old, must retired.Originally posted by chunyong:should issue Smith & Wesson revolvers, cos since SPF now using Taurus, the old S&W revolvers bo lung eng....so might as well give to SAF. good leh, fire 5 rounds liao then reload, hhhahahaha. save cost then if not enough .38 Spl rounds can get from SPF, so convenient. then won't ganna kaobeh for not putting Safety cos no Safety to speak abt. isn't dat good ? Some more won't ganna scald by hot carts...so good....can play Russian Rolette to kill yourself, oooops, i mean kill time....worth recommending. 5 stars out of 5.
so u like Stephen Chow Xing Chi ..so do i.Originally posted by chunyong:dui bu qi, wo shi jing cha.
erm....sometimes u squeeze the trigger, u hear a 'tack' but no 'bang' leh....especially when u do double action...happens once in awhile.Originally posted by Troy437:so u like Stephen Chow Xing Chi ..so do i.
Just to share. Pistol may jam after several rounds or misfire when dropped. Revolvers dun have dis prob. Dats y Spore Police use revolver.
Think the real reason is ordinary poilce did not have enough shooting training, i was shock that some policemen told me that they shoot only 30+ round per year only ! Can anyone confirm that ?Originally posted by chunyong:erm....sometimes u squeeze the trigger, u hear a 'tack' but no 'bang' leh....especially when u do double action...happens once in awhile.
but Taurus no such problem, so far lah...Taurus is 'safer' too loh.
regarding S&W no long producing dis model....not totally true lah although dats wat i'm told too
'dui bu qi, wo shi jing cha' is the classic phrase from Infernal Affairs
30+ rounds is too little. its more than dat. laser is for dim light conditions and for 'hi-tech' look. got other reasons also lah...Originally posted by storywolf:Think the real reason is ordinary poilce did not have enough shooting training, i was shock that some policemen told me that they shoot only 30+ round per year only ! Can anyone confirm that ?
There was some high profile cases of policemen missing target in shooting near distance, so that may have trigger them to buy Taurus, with in-build laser to make up for the lack of practise.
Jazzwire, you are most proability sabot by the zeroing, I used to assist in conducting a lot of the ranges or competition for NPCC and police, so can tell you now, they don't dezeroing for NPCC competition ! I know, alway help to draw out the revolvers and ammos, escort them to the ranges. All of them sights are out to left or right a little. Everyone is too eager to start the moment it arrive, as teacher don't know about zeroing issues, range officer expect shooters to know how to adjust shooting instead but gauging 1st shoot.Originally posted by Jazzswing:Actually...what does it mean by zeroing the weapon..(my ignorance again..) Does it mean..adjusting the gun sight?
During my little experiance with the .22..the target was a small circular thingy as it was a competition..Didnt do so well for it anyway..so was it due to poor aiming or the weapon was not zeroed properly..?
such errors contribute to little off-aim. unlikely will cause the shot to miss the target but if shooting bowlingpin then most likely is totally miss liao loh....0 marks...hehOriginally posted by storywolf:Jazzwire, you are most proability sabot by the zeroing, I used to assist in conducting a lot of the ranges or competition for NPCC and police, so can tell you now, they don't dezeroing for NPCC competition ! I know, alway help to draw out the revolvers and ammos, escort them to the ranges. All of them sights are out to left or right a little. Everyone is too eager to start the moment it arrive, as teacher don't know about zeroing issues, range officer expect shooters to know how to adjust shooting instead but gauging 1st shoot.
About zeroing. Everyone of us is not perfect, all have some cockeye, left or right and up or down by some degree. So even center the front sight and back sight is not going to suit us. So what we do is to shoot and see if you cockeye to left or right and up or down, by how much. Then we can adjust the back sight left or right to compensate for your left or right cockeye and adjust the front sight up or down to compensate for your up or down cockeye. This adjustment process is call zeroing, sort of makeing the gun sights suitable for the shooter. Hope that help to explain zeroing.
I see no wonder you know such things....Originally posted by chunyong:dui bu qi, wo shi jing cha.
Yes rather unfair. But in NPCC ranges or competitions, the Range Officer is a police shooting instructor, he be too busy ensuring safety of folks and security for the revolvers and ammo first. The rest are teachers or a few cadet inspectors, all just know the basic shooting training only, not much better than you all, so very hard to be fair without more help.Originally posted by Jazzswing:Oh...how can they do that..like that considered fair competition..coz the targets so far away, can't see whether bullets hit or not so cannot guage by 1st shot. You were with the police?Anyway, another qn about guns since we're in the topic, whenever you fire guns, will there be muzzle flash like what you see in the movies? I see those Iraqis firing their ak-47s, see no muzzle flash..just some carbon coming out from the barrel and shells ejected by the side.
Originally posted by ChineseJunk:I know of someone who brought an AK-47 bayonet for NS.
My choice is a kukri. I'd rather use this rather than the stupid bayonet fighting action stances. But got problem attaching the weapon to the SBO liao.
I only get to shoot the P226, P228, P239 of the Sig family when I was in america.Originally posted by Praetorian111:So can I conclude that both storywolf and chunyong both handle revolvers be4? .... any experience wif sig suer series?![]()
Movies must have more flashes from guns to make it more interesting. Even explosion scenes is also with fire effect which is totally not true. All for look better for the camera, not real life.Originally posted by Jazzswing:Anyway, another qn about guns since we're in the topic, whenever you fire guns, will there be muzzle flash like what you see in the movies? I see those Iraqis firing their ak-47s, see no muzzle flash..just some carbon coming out from the barrel and shells ejected by the side.