well....Toa Payoh indoor range is virtually a smoke chamber...Originally posted by storywolf:Movies must have more flashes from guns to make it more interesting. Even explosion scenes is also with fire effect which is totally not true. All for look better for the camera, not real life.
Well nowaday most pistol or rifles are design to minizes muzzle flash. You don't usually see notice muzzel flash during day but night time, possible. Usually you see flash, smoke or carbon, that mean that rifle is not clean or oily inside.
Is he like the Nazi/neo-Nazi character in the film in which Michael Douglas as a just-fired defence rocket engineer, kills him (and stole his AT-4/M-72 LAW) ?Originally posted by SpecOps87:Well,movies are all exaggerated lah....Imagine this,a revolver holds 5-6 rounds,they shoot and shoot count more then 20 round then reload.And also,look at Rambo man,firing an M60 LMG from the hip,then always kill the Commies with a shortburst,possible mehz?Even US NAVY SEALS using the shorter M60E3 have to bring up to shoulder to fire.Then not only that AK-47 30 Round mag,he can kill 150 commies den when battle over den reload....HAHAHA!!!
Well,yah gun laws in US damn lax.When I was in LA,I encountered this thug who was trying to sell his wares,he drives this big van and is sort of a mobile gun-r-us.Inside his van.From FULL-AUTO M-4 to handguns and whatever.He has loads.And best of all,he even haad a goddamn AT-4 inside.
Hopefully one day SG will allow people in S'pore to own and keep their Airguns at home legally.Haiz...control is not the way to go.But gun education is.
Guns for civilians : no and never, will not change very the soonOriginally posted by SpecOps87:Well,movies are all exaggerated lah....Imagine this,a revolver holds 5-6 rounds,they shoot and shoot count more then 20 round then reload.And also,look at Rambo man,firing an M60 LMG from the hip,then always kill the Commies with a shortburst,possible mehz?Even US NAVY SEALS using the shorter M60E3 have to bring up to shoulder to fire.Then not only that AK-47 30 Round mag,he can kill 150 commies den when battle over den reload....HAHAHA!!!
Well,yah gun laws in US damn lax.When I was in LA,I encountered this thug who was trying to sell his wares,he drives this big van and is sort of a mobile gun-r-us.Inside his van.From FULL-AUTO M-4 to handguns and whatever.He has loads.And best of all,he even haad a goddamn AT-4 inside.
Hopefully one day SG will allow people in S'pore to own and keep their Airguns at home legally.Haiz...control is not the way to go.But gun education is.
its possible, the movie just doesn't wanna show him reloading, who would want to see the star reloading ? they wanna see 'bang' 'boom' and 'kaboom'...dats wat lines the director's pockets with $$$$...not reloading scenes.Originally posted by panzerjager:Is he like the Nazi/neo-Nazi character in the film in which Michael Douglas as a just-fired defence rocket engineer, kills him (and stole his AT-4/M-72 LAW) ?
It may work in Isreal or Switerland, but in singapore, forget it. Education is not just one factor, there is still other things like culture, life style, religion......... In singapore, you will find a lot of folks shooting at each other for fun or whatever, as soon as they do it.Originally posted by SpecOps87:Well,its all boils down to the simple fact of educating the people.And we must realise this,guns don't kill people,people kill people.And example,being that if you leave a gun loaded and cocked on a table,even without the SAFETY on for ten yrs,its jus an object,no dangers.Until one fine day when someone sees it,and picks it up.And pulls the trigger,then it will go off.Its juz like this old movie called "The gods must be crazy in Africa".
And imagine this,in countries like Israel and Switzerland,their servicemen and servicewomen all bring their issue weapons back home,so that they will be ready at a moment's notice.And the weapons they are equipped with are FULL AUTOMATIC weapons,this definitely shows how much they educated the people on their responsibilities.
The thing is when people pick up a firearm,they feel almighty and powerful.They feel that they have control over the life and death of the people they point the gun at.Just like in StarWars,we must bear in mind that GREAT POWER,COMES GREAT RESPONSIBILITY.Thus,it all boils down to the simple fact of educating the people
Now,enough said,lets get back to the topic bout if the SAF issues Handguns to Troops serving durin actual war conditions..
Frankly I rather carry more 5.56 rounds, I rather make sure I shoot enemy way out. Anything less then 2m your would better off using a rifle as a bat or do baynet fighting. Anything 2 m away I still can shoot it with my rifle, no reason why still I want a pistol and more 9mm ammo.Originally posted by chunyong:hmmmm....guess will not issue unless Special Forces bah...cos majority of them aren't trained to use them. somemore u got to think, if issue then they need to carry extra load of .45 or 9mms etc. somemore the pistols range is not very the far, even if as far as the assault rifles...accuracy also decreases terribly outside 200m...so no point unless close quarters which most likely handled by SOF, NDU and CDO people. even if CBQ, they also use MP-5 most likely. Pistol more often come into use when one of your hand is not free and the suspect is confined within a small space, like u have to hang-onto the window ledge of a bus while ur buddy give u the extra height by letting u step on his thighs, in dis situation, u use the pistol which gives u more freedom and speed in shooting.
think the planning office in mindef also share ur thinking, dats why no pistols issued loh....Originally posted by storywolf:Frankly I rather carry more 5.56 rounds, I rather make sure I shoot enemy way out. Anything less then 2m your would better off using a rifle as a bat or do baynet fighting. Anything 2 m away I still can shoot it with my rifle, no reason why still I want a pistol and more 9mm ammo.
If I want a spare, I rather carry an extra colt commando, which share the same ammo ! A pistol + all the 9mm ammo, they are around 1.5 to 2 kg already, so why not a colt commando not much different in extra weight?
.....not only CID can bring back...bring back = more liability = more danger, rather troublesome abit leave it at armoury.Originally posted by zenden9:Join police force and become a CID.Can bring revolver back home!
certain units in CID can like SSB etc etc...Originally posted by SingaporeMacross:CID can bring back meh? I thought only CNB can..
bb only cause small blueblack mark lah.Originally posted by chunyong:Guns for civilians : no and never, will not change very the soon
air-soft or replicas : no but not never
reason ? wait people spray black paint over the orangetip and go rob bank, people will think its real gun and....the security will fire real bullets using real guns....we dun want dat to happen so we deter. we have 18 yr olds bringing a knife to stab someone in Westmall liao, we dun wanna a farkalando go wrap blacktape over barreltip and use it to stage a robbery and got himself killed for nothing. furthermore, airsoft can kill at closerange too....u can seriously injure people with the BBs too....its too dangerous.
they have to come with orange tip, its a law now...but of cos, people disobey law, who suffer ? those who buy. who gets killed ? those who buy. ha, if BB ganna eye how ? wah liew...blueblack mark is enough to get u charged for VCH.Originally posted by Moonstriker:bb only cause small blueblack mark lah.
btw... airsoft guns don't neccessary come with orange tip.
Seen them on sales in Japan, Hong Kong, all not orange tipped !Originally posted by chunyong:they have to come with orange tip, its a law now...but of cos, people disobey law, who suffer ? those who buy. who gets killed ? those who buy. ha, if BB ganna eye how ? wah liew...blueblack mark is enough to get u charged for VCH.
i know due to CS and many games featuring realistic weapons will get many teens wanting to purchase replicas and such but better dun let such things spoil ur future.
Originally posted by Jazzswing:Actually...what does it mean by zeroing the weapon..(my ignorance again..) Does it mean..adjusting the gun sight?
During my little experiance with the .22..the target was a small circular thingy as it was a competition..Didnt do so well for it anyway..so was it due to poor aiming or the weapon was not zeroed properly..?
U SRA as well??Originally posted by sgFish:how you join SRA arh?