tt sounds like a good idea! but gonna be quite ex.Originally posted by Tango1:I've seen in the recent years that the U.S. military issues its soldiers combat glasses (MAG-1 Combat Glasses) much like sports glasses. It interfaces with standard goggles, gas masks, and even diving goggles. Take a look:
http://www.actiongear.com/cgi-bin/tame.exe/agprice2/level4s.tam?xax=5372&M5COPY%2Ectx=7549&M5%2Ectx=7549&M2%5FDESC%2Ectx=Eyewear%20%2D%20Wiley%2DX%99%2C%20Gargoyles%99%2C%20Pilot%20Sunglasses%2C%20Safety%20Glasses&level3%2Ectx=results%2Etam&query%2Ectx=GAS%20MASKS&backto=%2Fagprice2%2Fresults%2Etam
With these glasses, they even have speckies in the U.S. Rangers!
I wonder if SAF should standard issue every soldier that wears glasses a pair of these, or something similar...this would cut down on the rate of spectacle breakage, and enhance performance...what do you guys think?
worse is nvg + the toopid 732 headset + specs tt slips down ur nose, fogs up and accumulates grime.Originally posted by CX:wah shiok... SAF should implement also man...
normal glasses dun cut it out in the field... sweat makes it slide down your nose, even if u have the rear strap, its uncomfortable...
if u wear NVG, u're straining to see if u wear glasses. also, always kena dust and sand... and if u ever wipe the sand off your specs with your no.4, good luck... your lens gone already... scratches like u've never seen before.
thinking of buying also..but dunno how to order leh..me ang moh no good..dun understand..Originally posted by Tango1:hmm....i just did a price conversion....each pair of MAG-1 glasses is about SGD$55...still not too ex... Maybe I should order a pair for biking...![]()
can recommend that they take the specs degree for those wearing specs at the checkup before enlistingOriginally posted by Tango1:hmm....i just did a price conversion....each pair of MAG-1 glasses is about SGD$55...still not too ex... Maybe I should order a pair for biking...![]()
Hey Nathan, it seems that you can just order the frame like that. If you see clearly in the picture through the link again, you will see a plastic jig which is the cut-out for the lenses. This comes with the frame when you order it. So you can just bring the jig to any local optician shop and have them cut the lenses instead...save $$$...somemore can ask for scratchproof and shatterproof type of lenses....Originally posted by NathanG5:thinking of buying also..but dunno how to order leh..me ang moh no good..dun understand..
must order with lens?
arrr..thanx alot my fren..Originally posted by Tango1:Hey Nathan, it seems that you can just order the frame like that. If you see clearly in the picture through the link again, you will see a plastic jig which is the cut-out for the lenses. This comes with the frame when you order it. So you can just bring the jig to any local optician shop and have them cut the lenses instead...save $$$...somemore can ask for scratchproof and shatterproof type of lenses....
Yah, I was also thinking about what would happen if it gets mixed up. A good way would be to have a narrow strip of cloth with your name sewn on it (like a miniature version of our nametag), and have it sewn on the straps facing inwards.
As for the varying degrees of eyesight, i believe lenses can be mass-produced...so what SAF can do is to have a mass production line in BMTCs or mono-intake units lor...in one corner, have someone measure the degree of shortsightedness and write it on the prescription to be passed to the recruit, then afterwards, move to another table where he passes the form to another guy who will fit the lenses on the frame. And at the last table, the recruit submit the form again for a spectacle nametag....how does this sound?![]()
No prob...I just found another site that produces specialized glasses for the military...more stylo, and the lenses are interchangeble, but quite ex lar...:Originally posted by NathanG5:arrr..thanx alot my fren..
think i will get it soon...
n u are right abt mass producing non degree lenses..i think the only problem we have now is to how are we gona cut it to its suppose degree..
my solution is..just hire a few guys who knows how to do it..buy the cutting machine...
think it take quite fast to cut a lens right?
it wont cut cost..but it can bring out the efficiency of a soldier..
wont have to worry losing spec when doing movement..
no need... just get the degree and quantity and then order it from a sub-con...Originally posted by Tango1:So all SAF has to do is to subcontract out to a big-time local supplier, and make it the local agent....make them cut a certain number of lenses of say.....1000 pieces each of 200 up till 500 degrees...and then make them go to Tekong for a day or so to fit the lenses to the frame...Hahaha!!!
err...not really...if you see the pic again, you'll see that the sides are actually left open for ventilation, so the curvature of the lenses isn't so extreme. But of cos', it has to wrap around your eye socket...much like Oakleys, for a tight fit...Originally posted by Jazzswing:But won't it be uncomfortable...it's like wearing a swimming goggle and fighting...![]()
u meant the 1st link of this topic?Originally posted by 12qwaszx:there's actually a warrant in ITC who wore that combat specs mentioned at the beginning of this thread.
must say look quite cool..![]()
looks nice! but its more goggles than glassesOriginally posted by NathanG5:hi Tango1
just saw this-->
http://store.knifecenter.com/pgi-ProductSpec?WX70
in a new military shop in Bedok...think its call D & G military(yes the same D & G we saw in most of SAF issue item)..
anyone wana know the exact address can pm me..
there are 2 version of it..Originally posted by wuming78:looks nice! but its more goggles than glasses
oic..Originally posted by 12qwaszx:the one i'm talking about is the MAG-1 version as shown in the link on top of the page.
got picture?Originally posted by NathanG5:there are 2 version of it..
SG-1 V-Cut n SG-1
only SG-1 u can have prescription lenses...
n both have a special fix on call Temple which can turn them into a goggle or sunglasses..without the temple it look more like Oakley kinda sunglass..
Thanks dude...I think I know which place it is, though I didn't know they sell combat glasses...heh heh...gonna get me a pair man....Thanks!Originally posted by NathanG5:hi Tango1
just saw this-->
http://store.knifecenter.com/pgi-ProductSpec?WX70
in a new military shop in Bedok...think its call D & G military(yes the same D & G we saw in most of SAF issue item)..
anyone wana know the exact address can pm me..