Originally posted by ditzy:Combat-proven since World War I.
The Fokker:![]()
In real, ditzy maybe right.Originally posted by ferret69:What a beautiful way to bring down costs. But after we purchase this, RMAF will order the Sopwith Camel and Indonesian Air Force will get Spad XII.
As for my irrational choice RSAF. It's gotta be the following
BAC TSR 2
http://www.thunder-and-lightnings.co.uk/tsr2/history.html
Lockheed YF-12
http://www.globalaircraft.org/planes/yf-12_blackbird.pl
Yummy Mach 3+ interceptor
Vought F8U-3 Super Crusader
http://www.cloudnet.com/~djohnson/superf8.htm
Sentimental choices would be F-14 Tomcat with strike capability and Flankers.
Will throw in my favourite Fw-190D (long nose Doras) for VIP flights.
dun forget that planes of those age can take off frm a bloody football field ahhaOriginally posted by storywolf:In real, ditzy maybe right.
You may laugh at the thoughts, but if ever there is a world war 3, and a very prolong war, the production rate to replace current fighter planes will not be enough, then don't be surprise, something like the mustang will which is simple and cheap and fast to mass produce, may be the answer again.
f-14 is a lovely bird..especially with the phoenixes, if the pilots weren't bound by any ROE that required VID before engaging..Originally posted by Langley:F-14 Tomcat. Lao chio.
Wouldn't a Mig-21 do better than Mustang.Not as easy to produce than Mustang but definitely easy to produce than other modern aircraft and of course,far more better than a propeller aircraft.Originally posted by storywolf:In real, ditzy maybe right.
You may laugh at the thoughts, but if ever there is a world war 3, and a very prolong war, the production rate to replace current fighter planes will not be enough, then don't be surprise, something like the mustang will which is simple and cheap and fast to mass produce, may be the answer again.

I heard from very old timer that in the 70s one dutch guy actually build a replica of it at the singapore flying club when they were still at paya lebar airport, caas won't let it fly here, he bring to m'sia, they won't let him fly it. in the end he ship back to holland.Originally posted by ditzy:Combat-proven since World War I.
The Fokker:![]()
My 2nd choice, could not remember the name nia, so I picked the Fokker.Originally posted by zenden9:Wouldn't a Mig-21 do better than Mustang.Not as easy to produce than Mustang but definitely easy to produce than other modern aircraft and of course,far more better than a propeller aircraft.
It is beautiful too!

Originally posted by sgFish:Still, it's pretty classic design. Coincidentally I made a few rubber band powered paper missiles for my nephews just yesterday. Stick a few firecrackers with long burning fuses and chuck it across the Causeway and cause an international incident. What a way to war!
[b]
is much easier to produce...see below
Keep your fingers cross, who knows that maybe the first UCAV for the RSAF will look just like it!!!!!Originally posted by ferret69:But can it carry guns and AAMs and bombs? I believe you have misrepresented the thrust-to-weight ratio of this thing, not to mention range.
Still, it's pretty classic design. Coincidentally I made a few rubber band powered paper missiles for my nephews just yesterday. Stick a few firecrackers with long burning fuses and chuck it across the Causeway and cause an international incident. What a way to war!
This craft must be the latest in UAV warfare right.Originally posted by sgFish:
is much easier to produce...see below
Originally posted by Merkava MK4:This craft must be the latest in UAV warfare right.
Although both Apache and Warthog use 30 mm calibre weapons, is the DU-tip on the Warthog's 30s dat make significant difference in armour penetration as compared with Apache's. Just dat very natural for local military to not go for DU ammo because of fall-out effects and after signing the so called moratoriumOriginally posted by Merkava MK4:Imagine you are the Chief of Air Force. What new aircraft, helicopters included, would you like to implement into our current order of battle?
This is just pure fantasy. It can be anything of your choice. Your choice can be the F-15E Eagle, F-22 Raptor, maybe the latest Russian Mig? Just pick a plane you would love to see the RSAF fly.
For me.. it would be the A-10 Thunderbolt, or the Warthog. I drool everytime I read about this badass piece of aviation hardware. 30 years of service and still going strong, it would be just to call it the ultimate close support and assault aircraft of the past century. It can carry up to 10, yes 10 Maverick Air to Ground Missiles (AGM) baby.
But the thing that sets me to near orgasm is that 30mm cannon. 30mm?! Wakau soooo badass sia. That thing alone can effectively kill a Main Battle Tank from over half a kilometer away.
Donno how people can all it "ugly" somemore.. sobsob.. such a beautiful piece of military hardware.
But I admit that it would be redundant for the RSAF to purchase A-10s la.. since we're getting the Apache attack helicopter. Haiz.
So what's your dream plane? I'm very keen to learn about your views. I want pictures ar.![]()
Think the material shortage and production rate, something like the mustang which production rate is so much larger still better than mig-21. Remember the Germany have jet engines, but production rate so slow that they cannot effectively use them. And that is why they lost.Originally posted by zenden9:Wouldn't a Mig-21 do better than Mustang.Not as easy to produce than Mustang but definitely easy to produce than other modern aircraft and of course,far more better than a propeller aircraft.
It is beautiful too!
It will be wrong to use german jet engines as comparison as jet at WWII that time is just like F-22 in present,sophisicated and expensive. While jet technology is already a wide know knowledge and many aviation factory is already mature to produce jet engine! Plus Mig 21 is one of the most widely produced aircraft since WWII and only supercede in production by C-130 ,shown how cheap and easy to produce this aircraft! Mig-21 is not advance in avionics and combat system but its pure agile and mach 2 speed make up for it!Originally posted by storywolf:Think the material shortage and production rate, something like the mustang which production rate is so much larger still better than mig-21. Remember the Germany have jet engines, but production rate so slow that they cannot effectively use them. And that is why they lost.