1. Yes you can. But it is provided U qualify for OCS after BMT.Originally posted by BMEngineer:Hi. I am going for PTP next Tuesday and i have been considering my career with SAF, becoming a Naval Officer is one of them.
Some questions:
1. I can sign on as a naval officer during BMT rite?
2. How long is the contract for Naval Officer?
3. How is life being a Naval Officer?
4. Is it hard to become one?....as in will there be stringent selection for Naval Officer rite?
u from navy???Originally posted by larrenV2.003:Navy + Specialist = sucks big time man.............![]()
Yes as a NSF i've seen how those poor WOSE & Specialist being made out of a sucker when they left 3 years of service & posted to base/camps instead of ship/fleet/sqn..........Originally posted by sgboy2004:u from navy???
Yah true the most important is to get to OCS first,or else the rest all doesn't apply. I am aiming for the LSA, which is a 4 years bond. I am worried that they might ask me to sign on first before applying for LSA. Imagine a 6 years bond + 4 years LSA bond....Originally posted by deathscythe99:1. Yes you can. But it is provided U qualify for OCS after BMT.
2. Contract....depends. Scholarship or no?
3, Life in SAF sucksJ/k.... Naval officers usu go thru about 2 years of stringent training after OCS, and keep going for upgrading courses. Cycle between different appointments and courses also. As well as on ship and on shore.
4. Depends la. If quota almost met then difficult lor. And ur grades should be roughly ok. lol.
You mean there are a lot of officers who didn get much chance on ship/fleet?Originally posted by larrenV2.003:Dear BMEngineer
When u becme Commissioned officer pray that u will be in ship/fleet for your whole career...............& dun get too involved in base/camp.
Ermm you can say so lets say in a group of officers going for PV (Patrol Vessal) they can only select 2-3 as there are positions on a PV ship like XO & CO. Then the reamaining ones will go to base or the lucky ones get another selection.Originally posted by BMEngineer:You mean there are a lot of officers who didn get much chance on ship/fleet?
So submarine/LST officers are fixed one rite? Only the best gets to be submarine officer is it?Originally posted by larrenV2.003:Ermm you can say so lets say in a group of officers going for PV (Patrol Vessal) they can only select 2-3 as there are positions on a PV ship like XO & CO. Then the reamaining ones will go to base or the lucky ones get another selection.
If u go LST(Landing Ship Tank) or Submarine then it is a different case.
Still Officers are also a pawn........to the state.![]()
no you wont be asked to sign on before the award u the LSA....when u get into OCS after a few weeks they will ask if u want LSA,that's provided you have already confirmed a place in a uni.If you say yes then if i recall correctly you have a 4 year bond and a contract that takes you to 40 years old.Meaning after 4 years you can apply to quit....unless the navy no man power then they wont let u quit....then u suay lah.Originally posted by BMEngineer:Yah true the most important is to get to OCS first,or else the rest all doesn't apply. I am aiming for the LSA, which is a 4 years bond. I am worried that they might ask me to sign on first before applying for LSA. Imagine a 6 years bond + 4 years LSA bond....
Somehow i prefer out in the sea rather then chionging in the jungle, thats why i will choose navy over other combat vocations in the Army. You mean the grades during OCS must be good to become a naval officer is it?
actually unless you get promoted out of the ship or request a transfer,you would usually stay there for a long long time.During the navy open house i asked 1 guy and he told me that he has been on that ship for 4 years and he most prob wont be going anywhereOriginally posted by BMEngineer:So submarine/LST officers are fixed one rite? Only the best gets to be submarine officer is it?
Thanks for your comprehensive info. ! Are you a naval officer?Originally posted by |-|05|:no you wont be asked to sign on before the award u the LSA....when u get into OCS after a few weeks they will ask if u want LSA,that's provided you have already confirmed a place in a uni.If you say yes then if i recall correctly you have a 4 year bond and a contract that takes you to 40 years old.Meaning after 4 years you can apply to quit....unless the navy no man power then they wont let u quit....then u suay lah.
yes u can. they will come and do recruitment talks. or u can tell ur pc too.Originally posted by BMEngineer:Can apply for the job as a Naval Officer during BMT rite?
no but my cousin almost took the army LSA he explained to me the whole thing plus he told me why not to take itOriginally posted by BMEngineer:Thanks for your comprehensive info. ! Are you a naval officer?
Hmm...so the reason why not to take it is because you might have to serve until 40 rite?Originally posted by |-|05|:no but my cousin almost took the army LSA he explained to me the whole thing plus he told me why not to take it
its good to have considered first especially with actual experience of the kind of environment u may need to work in.Originally posted by BMEngineer:yea thanks for your advice....i am now seriously considering after 5 weeks in army. Now i think signing on SAF might not be a good choice for me afterall![]()
to be honest i am totally discouraged with my performance....Originally posted by wuming78:its good to have considered first especially with actual experience of the kind of environment u may need to work in.
care to share what made u change ur mind?
u r in ptp rite? fitness takes time to build up. if tt is a major concern, i think u can still consider. however if u r quite sure u will dread the taking of ippt annually then perhaps, yah, its not the rite profession for uOriginally posted by BMEngineer:to be honest i am totally discouraged with my performance....
ippt still cannot pass after 5 weeks and i face soc with quite a lot of difficulty...
plus one more thing that regulars MUST pass ippt every year or their promotions will be halt...