Originally posted by BMEngineer:
Hi. I am going for PTP next Tuesday and i have been considering my career with SAF, becoming a Naval Officer is one of them.
Some questions:
1. I can sign on as a naval officer during BMT rite?
2. How long is the contract for Naval Officer?
3. How is life being a Naval Officer?
4. Is it hard to become one?....as in will there be stringent selection for Naval Officer rite?
signing on with navy as a conventional sailor may be good for some and bad for some... it depends on the class of ship u are posted to and most importantly the ship u are posted to...
If u don't have a degree or can't get a LSA at least, dun sign on with the navy to be an officer... cuz u will be a farmer and u will shit jobs alot and maybe targeted...
An officer with a degree and an officer with a diploma who commits the same mistake, the diploma officer will gets screwed till v jialat... if's wat i have seen...
and lotsa shit jobs oso... i have seen a diploma officer who everytime gets crewed by his CO... and he had grew numb of all the screwing liao...
but 1 thing for sure, he will gets lotsa experience cuz he does most of the shit job...
there's a degree officer who DONT even know how to operates a CIS 50cal MG properly, dun even knows how to secure the gun and dun even knows how to tie knots and so on... but he's favoured than the diploma officer...
if u have a diploma only... it's wiser to sign on as spec if u r considering a conventioanl navy career...