Originally posted by Icemoon:
[b]1) During the period 1st to 15th June the person tell me is actually the "manning period" issit ?
Yes. But then how come the manning period is more than 1 week?? Is this a practice for armour?
2) Are we confirmed to be mobilised at least once during any of such standby periods or jus liable ?
You are liable. If lucky you get mobilised.
3) Other then field pack with items, SBO, helmet and reporting back in Uniform, bring that small NS Booklet and 11B and IC back, wat else do u guys bring back ?
ID TAG! How can you forget that?
4) Most of the time a mob happens, do we report back and after a briefing, go home, or proceed to a real exercise ? If proceed to a real exercise, is that counted as a reservice ?
There is a third scenario, which you draw arms and combat rations but need not move out for exercise.
5) Other than TV, Radio and other medias ? Will we be contacted by hp ?
The safest bet is to call ARMAS to check whether you're activated.
6) What is the duration to allow us to report to camp in time ?
KAH report by M+2 hours. For main body, open mob is M+6 and silent mob is M+8.
7) What number do we call to enquire abt Reservice Units ? And can we request to change our Reservice Unit back to our original ones ?
Why don't you try calling your active unit to find out what happened? They can direct you who and where to call also.[/b]
There may be no mob briefing. Usually they send you a letter informing you of the manning, what to bring and pack etc.Not in my case. They usually did the general mob briefings at the tailend of my ICTs, but I was also regularly called back - as a recall i/c - to attend half-days briefings in case it's a silent mob. During the latter times, I often see a few unfamiliar reservists - presumably temporarily attached or newly posted to my unit - being pulled aside to get their own general mob briefings. Some of them stood out cuz they were really "old birds", complaining to the SAF regulars that they're too old to be targeted, that they can't understand the English-language regulations, etc.
You have to prepare a standard fullpack in both cases.Actually I've never packed a standard pack; ditto my kakis. We brought in what we usually bring for our ICTs, albeit with prior networked knowledge of whether it's only a sign-in, or draw-arms, or move-out activation. The officers, KAHs & others who reported very early would spread the word by phone (if it's something out of the ordinary). I remember us being caught out only once on the "standby" regimentation, but they didn't formally check the equipment until the M+6 hour was up, so there was some last-minute scrambling to bulk-buy items. Even then, I don't recall any formal scolding on incomplete equipment either. Probably can't say the same for our CO, though.
who actually conduct the check?? ppl from other unit.. or just officer or KAH from ur own unit?? all those i kena is just sign and FO one... so just curious...Originally posted by Moxie:Actually I've never packed a standard pack; ditto my kakis. We brought in what we usually bring for our ICTs, albeit with prior networked knowledge of whether it's only a sign-in, or draw-arms, or move-out activation. The officers, KAHs & others who reported very early would spread the word by phone (if it's something out of the ordinary). I remember us being caught out only once on the "standby" regimentation, but they didn't formally check the equipment until the M+6 hour was up, so there was some last-minute scrambling to bulk-buy items. Even then, I don't recall any formal scolding on incomplete equipment either. Probably can't say the same for our CO, though.
think it's not too appropriate to highlight the lack of equipment checks or lack of reprimand hereOriginally posted by Moxie:Actually I've never packed a standard pack; ditto my kakis. We brought in what we usually bring for our ICTs, albeit with prior networked knowledge of whether it's only a sign-in, or draw-arms, or move-out activation. The officers, KAHs & others who reported very early would spread the word by phone (if it's something out of the ordinary). I remember us being caught out only once on the "standby" regimentation, but they didn't formally check the equipment until the M+6 hour was up, so there was some last-minute scrambling to bulk-buy items. Even then, I don't recall any formal scolding on incomplete equipment either. Probably can't say the same for our CO, though.
Unless you are packing the 7 packets for alert red standby, the items to bring for normal mobilisation are the standard SAF items.Originally posted by Moxie:The bigger context here is many reservists don't possess a complete set of personal equipment in the 1st place - or anymore. I mean, how many of you still have the "green" vest & "blue" shorts? Jackknife & rifle-cleaning kit (I didn't ORD with either)? A fork (to go with your spoon)? Also, they've gotten used to the QM providing the expendables - toilet roll, powder, etc. - but doesn't know if he'll do the same for the mob standbys.
Same here, during my last ICT, long queue for the Brooks running shoes.Originally posted by Moxie:Zenmaster, ah yes, the e-mart. Sadly, I could only take advantage of it during my last couple of ICTs - all of us stocked up on running shoes (& sometimes socks) since we had little use left for the other military stuff - & could only rely on the old-style "gift shop" for most of my serving days. Of course there's the infamous kit-exchange - whose people are either unpunctual or unlocateable, & highly reluctant to accept anything except rotting or totally condemned items anyway.
why do you need the duffle bag? i ord w/o it and i was issued one before my ICT in ROC.Originally posted by raynor:ahh..this is one qns i wan 2 ask around...do u guys know where can get/buy Duffle Bag (ali baba bag)...mine..sigh..long story..the idiot CQ from my unit last time ask we all return to store..n we foolishly follow suit..end up...we dun hav duffle bag after ORD..sigh...so any guys any idea where can buy ? i tried emart, they dun sell it anymore..hmm..beach road ?
My was 3 days before informed posted to X unit than Sat. morning went back camp for personal particular update & was informed unit under standby immediately.Originally posted by raynor:Hi guys, ermm..want to ask a few qns which may sound silly to all NSmen who already ORDied duno how long liao...I just ORDied recently...n started to work..n my Reservist letter haven come yet...but today I receive a call suddenly from 443SAR who tell me I have been posted to 443SAR for reservist. Which I 1st thought was funny, coz I actually disrupted for studies during my NSF, and should joined my old unit from 41SAR b4 my disruption(which is the current 408SAR) for reservist. And wats worst is the guy told me on the phone that 443SAR is currently under Open Mobilisation standby from 1st June to 15th June (and today is already the 5th June then they call 2 tell me!! isnt that too rushed?), and I am liable to be mobilise and report back to camp and so on. Ermm..a few qns I would like 2 ask are:
1) During the period 1st to 15th June the person tell me is actually the "manning period" issit ?
2) Are we confirmed to be mobilised at least once during any of such standby periods or jus liable ?
3) Other then field pack with items, SBO, helmet and reporting back in Uniform, bring that small NS Booklet and 11B and IC back, wat else do u guys bring back ?
4) Most of the time a mob happens, do we report back and after a briefing, go home, or proceed to a real exercise ? If proceed to a real exercise, is that counted as a reservice ?
7) What number do we call to enquire abt Reservice Units ? And can we request to change our Reservice Unit back to our original ones ?
Many thanks bros and uncles, pardon me for my blurness![]()
i squeeze everything, except SBO and helmet, into the fullpack.Originally posted by raynor:need duffle bag 2 put my field pack n SBO n helmet if i return for reservist or MOB lor..hmm..else abit bulky 2 carry so many things isnt it ? or am i illogical ? hahaha...besides, i dun drive...hmm
Yes u are on two weeks manning. very normal when u in a SAR unitOriginally posted by raynor:Hi guys, ermm..want to ask a few qns which may sound silly to all NSmen who already ORDied duno how long liao...I just ORDied recently...n started to work..n my Reservist letter haven come yet...but today I receive a call suddenly from 443SAR who tell me I have been posted to 443SAR for reservist. Which I 1st thought was funny, coz I actually disrupted for studies during my NSF, and should joined my old unit from 41SAR b4 my disruption(which is the current 408SAR) for reservist. And wats worst is the guy told me on the phone that 443SAR is currently under Open Mobilisation standby from 1st June to 15th June (and today is already the 5th June then they call 2 tell me!! isnt that too rushed?), and I am liable to be mobilise and report back to camp and so on. Ermm..a few qns I would like 2 ask are:
1) During the period 1st to 15th June the person tell me is actually the "manning period" issit ?
Many thanks bros and uncles, pardon me for my blurness![]()