Agree!!!Originally posted by Transmission:SOC is a very very very big playground... for adults... and i hate it...
SIS? no lah...should be SIT TEST.. situation test where they are given situation to solve... see who can give the best idea, have the best leadership... the better one have higher chance to go OCS lor...
hmm...actually i had some views on all these...
OCS are meant for ppl that truely wanna be commander... if your bf can become an officer NATURALLY... good for him, deserve my respect..
if your bf get into OCS because of his wayang-ness, so that he can get the shortest term of sign on...which is 4 years... its abit wrong lah ...
not trying to offend you ... but thats just my views ah ...
Should definitely be able to save. I juz ORDed 2 years ago and during my time, recruits got only 240 bucks. Now, NS allowance is x2 of what it used to be. And dun forget ur bf will get promoted and get more payOriginally posted by shirurinu:Actually well.... if u enter NS ur allowance is only like $400 the maximum as a recruit... seriously speaking, u think thats enough To pay bills? I know i can't so i don't expect him to do it too. Futhermore his mom is not going to support him with allowance anymore. And there's transport and bills and insurance.... how do u expect him to stand on his feet with 400 bucks?
I know he's not feeling good to let me pay also.. thats y he consider signing on too.... i'm one of the factor... but 10 years is a long long time... Mayb i should ask him consider the 3yr contract scheme... but whats the chances of being selected for OCS course? If u r not selected then how... right
I didn't get any allowance when i was in NS too...Originally posted by shirurinu:His mother had mentioned that after going to the NS, she will not give him any allowance...
the 10 years... the best time to save.Originally posted by CX:one thing though...
SAF see paper one... for a diploma holder, the advancement just might not be there... u hit a ceiling rather quickly...
but all in all, what is 10 years?
enlist at 21 for poly grads, stay there till 30, 31, take your savings, gratituity, whatever, and move on.
u've got at least 10 more good years.
but as what everybody says, if u do something for money, its the worst possible situation to be in for the long run...
and to me, its much easier to drop a dead-beat boyfriend than to take on HIS worries into your life.
I think a lot of us don get any allowance from mum during ns due to the very fact the allowance is enough and the spending is not big during ns.Originally posted by kopiosatu:I didn't get any allowance when i was in NS too...
anyway, if he wants to be a senior tech in the RSAF. i guess you have to ask a few more questions and i'll see if i can answer it
How far can an officer with a poly dip go???Originally posted by CX:one thing though...
SAF see paper one... for a diploma holder, the advancement just might not be there... u hit a ceiling rather quickly...
the max is LTC.Originally posted by BMEngineer:How far can an officer with a poly dip go???
a very hardworking LTCOriginally posted by wuming78:the max is LTC.
Thats quite big already....wah then degree can be a general already is it?Originally posted by wuming78:the max is LTC.
no lah. the max means tt is the max. and as kopio said, they have to work hard to get there lor. for degree holders, den should be COL max. o cos their performances are mediocre then its LTC oso lor.Originally posted by BMEngineer:Thats quite big already....wah then degree can be a general already is it?
wah until i think by the time you get there you are already an old man alreadyOriginally posted by wuming78:no lah. the max means tt is the max. and as kopio said, they have to work hard to get there lor. for degree holders, den should be COL max. o cos their performances are mediocre then its LTC oso lor.
no lah. degree can liao. in the end its the military trg tt matters.Originally posted by BMEngineer:wah until i think by the time you get there you are already an old man already
So i guess those generals have at least a Masters or doctorate rite?
He wanna sign on as a senior tech because he thought that he might be able to get that certificate which could help him get a job as an engineer in the aerospace industry in future. However after going through the interview, he realised that he might not be able to get that cert if he's not posted to that relavant dept. So he is having doubtsOriginally posted by kopiosatu:I didn't get any allowance when i was in NS too...
anyway, if he wants to be a senior tech in the RSAF. i guess you have to ask a few more questions and i'll see if i can answer it
shirurinu mentions about Air Force, not NavyOriginally posted by CX:what i wonder is, how come he never find his own solutions, but instead, depend on his gf to support him financially.
the navy isn't a dead end. some pple go in and grow lazy and rot there... but some go in and find out that there are other opportunities outside and decide to leave for something better later.
if he wants to "make it big", first priority is capital... unless u wanna support THAT too. gov't jobs are good for getting one's finances in order cos it offers a stable income for at least a few years.
my stupid advice? get a new boyfriend. best if its someone who can take care of YOU for a change. he doesn't need a gf... he needs a sugar-mommy.
The air force doesn't want to give him the joint polytechinic scheme because his results are only average. not that good.Originally posted by SnowFlag:My opinion is that signing on the Airforce is ok, with or without the payback. One don't have to worry about retrenchmentIron Rice Bowl
What first started, joint diploma scheme allows needy student who cannot afford a polytechnic eduation, to have a monthly pay and the school fee paid by SAF. This scheme allows SAF to recruit more people to sign on.
AFAIK, in the past, the joint diploma scheme offers a 9 years contract. One will need to sign the contract before he starts schooling at polytechnic. This 9 years of contract includes 3 years of study and 6 years of working after the study. When he ORD, he will be about 25 - 26 years old.
As years goes, they (SAF) find it hard to recruit people to sign on as regulars. The joint diploma scheme is extended to people who has already finished their 3 years of study. So inorder to get the back pay, they still sign on for 9 years. But they actually only served for 6 years. This is because the SAF needs some "paperwork" for the finance dept to pay out the back pay. The back pay includes all the monthly pay that he should have if he were to sign on 3 years ago. Plus all the 3 years of schools fees that he paid for.So I am not sure what does this 10 years of contract that u mention.
The 1st option seems good because when he ord, he is only 26 / 27 years old. The contract also includes the 2 and 1/2 years of NS.Originally posted by shirurinu:The air force doesn't want to give him the joint polytechinic scheme because his results are only average. not that good.
So they only give him the oppotunity to sign on 7 yrs or 10 yrs contract. 7 years without graduaty, 10 yrs with graduaty
what certificate? anyway, currently they are working out a way to enable RSAF personnel to go on to the civilian aerospace industry more smoothly.Originally posted by shirurinu:He wanna sign on as a senior tech because he thought that he might be able to get that certificate which could help him get a job as an engineer in the aerospace industry in future. However after going through the interview, he realised that he might not be able to get that cert if he's not posted to that relavant dept. So he is having doubts
Fwahhhh first time see tonytan post in these type of topic!!!!Originally posted by TONYTAN:Well I suggest you ask him to sign on or least explain the situation to him. He have grown up and need to be independant. At least he will be financially responsible for himself. Least of all look at all the things he will learn from the army.Discipline.
My 2C worth.
And he will have a sum of money after his service which he can do whatever business he had in mind. If not where would the $$$$ come from???????
(PS. Hopefully will not be from you totally. )![]()
Hello... what bills? HP Bills? PUB Bills? Internet Bills? Look, these are WANTS. not NEEDS.Originally posted by shirurinu:Actually well.... if u enter NS ur allowance is only like $400 the maximum as a recruit... seriously speaking, u think thats enough To pay bills? I know i can't so i don't expect him to do it too. Futhermore his mom is not going to support him with allowance anymore. And there's transport and bills and insurance.... how do u expect him to stand on his feet with 400 bucks?
I know he's not feeling good to let me pay also.. thats y he consider signing on too.... i'm one of the factor... but 10 years is a long long time... Mayb i should ask him consider the 3yr contract scheme... but whats the chances of being selected for OCS course? If u r not selected then how... right
10 yrs contract = PP1 (Premium Plan 1)Originally posted by SnowFlag:So I am not sure what does this 10 years of contract that u mention.
The licensed aircraft engineer certificate. He's someone who's dedicated to his work once started and i know he can performed well. I have faith in him. I saw him working in the final year project ALONE! He managed to get a good grade even though he had to do it alone due to unforseen circumstances. I believe he will perform well if he decide to sign on.Originally posted by kopiosatu:what certificate? anyway, currently they are working out a way to enable RSAF personnel to go on to the civilian aerospace industry more smoothly.
During the past, when RSAF personnel ORD and choose to work in the aviation industry, they will have to RETRAIN. Meaning you're gonna start from scratch, trainee onwards with the measly pay compared to the final few years you're gonna be in the RSAF.
As a senior tech... well, from what is happening now, they are starting to cross train people, meaning one person do many jobs. So you'll gain more knowledge. Where you'll be posted to is one thing, but you can request for overseas detachments... or posting to somewhere else after staying sometime in that particular unit.
Aerospace is only these few things, engine, structure, electronics etc. I don't know what your bf is looking for, but from my point of view, no technician is obsolete or useless in the RSAF. Even the drivers who drive the bowsers to top up fuel for the aircraft are important.
The tiniest things like NDI (Non Destructive Inspection), which is under structure, is important in the aviation industry.
First things first. Why does he want to sign on for? For the money? If so, is he open to military lifestyle? you may hear that the airforce may be slack, but we are all still wearing uniforms...
If he's not prepared to wear a uniform, and behave himself and know how to handle the life in the military and constantly think about the better life out there... I suggest that he don't sign on.
Life as a technician is no joke, you have to be alert to look out for anything that is wrong on the aircraft. You sign and declare that the aircraft is fit for flight, something goes wrong, the technician is going to get it. If his mind is only thinking about the life out there, then he'll be easily distracted at work, which might lead to an accident. One accident is too many.
Does he really want to go into the aerospace industry? Or does he prefer to make it big? If he wants to stay in the aerospace industry, i've got suggestions.
Hmmm..regarding the 5th year thing, it's actually dependent on scheme and also WHEN you sign on... 'cos they have a basic set of working principles on counting of your ERD (Early Release Date).Originally posted by Langley:Yeah. I remember one of my regular specialists left the army in his 5th year without having to pay anything. But check it out with MINDEF first. Also, agree that your bf should learn to stand on his own two feet, especially after he enters NS.