Originally posted by RussianPower:
Disclaimer: I'm not an RSAF pilot, but I happen to know quite a few (guys). I don't personally know any lady ones.
But there ARE lady combat pilots in RSAF. Right now I've come across A-4 and F-16 ones. Although they're just junior pilots. Not seen any F-5 ones though. They all have the 'cute' factor though. Heh. Maybe it comes with the flight suit.
Let the RSAF know your interest as soon as possible. If you can, join in the Youth Flying Club to see if this is what you really want to do.
if u join the youth flying club n got ur private license, u've got an advantage over others. u dun need to go to Tamworth for airgrading (most pple fail during airgrading).
otherwise... it's more or less the same route as guys...
for guys...
1) go for the computerised test
2) go for medical checkup (this 1 damn strict)
3) go for the interview (convince the pple who interview y u can be a pilot)
4) go to bmt
5) pia for OCS on ur own merit
6) airgrading course in Tamworth, Australia - 2 mths
7) officer cadet training - tri-service term - 1mth

air force service term - 2 mths
9) basic flying phase at flying training sch in Pearce, Australia - 11 mths (this stage is where u make ur intentions known to ur in-charge whether u wanna be fighter pilot, transport pilot or helicopter pilot)
10) get ur wings! (machiam license, but not class 3 that 1... LoL!

)
total will take abt 2yrs+... quite long lahz, but benefits damn gd!
here r the requirements to be a pilot (both male n female):
- male or female singaporee citizen
- 18 - 27 yrs old (if u r not graduate then cannot be more than 25 yrs old)
- full GCE A-Level/Polytechnic Diploma/University Degree
- medically fit
- 1.62m to 1.90m
- no more than 500 degrees per eye, correctable to 6/6
- normal colour vision
fyi, those who got wear spects but below 500 degrees per eye hor, got gd news, if u pass the interview n everything hor, air force will sponsor lasik surgery for u. shiok ah!
hope my information can help u, all the best!