possible. infact we already can generate it using a nuke, when a nuke detonates, an EMP is release, and electronic Shit are Fucked.Originally posted by octega:I am sure you guys know of Elctro-Magnetic Pulse EMP (ala Matrix).
But in reality, is this type of weapon possible or is it in development?
What are the implications of this type of weapon deployed in a densly-populated-cum-technology dependent area?
yah, just add a layer of metal can liao, cos the metal will get the EMP, leaving the circuitry stuff unharmed, Same theory with those transitors on circuits boards, some got metalcaps, those are 'shielded'Originally posted by |-|05|:Electronics can however be shielded againest this sort of attack so not as effective as most people think.
really meh....Originally posted by chunyong:yah, just add a layer of metal can liao, cos the metal will get the EMP, leaving the circuitry stuff unharmed, Same theory with those transitors on circuits boards, some got metalcaps, those are 'shielded'
dats wat i learn from Electronics in NTU. the metal is conducting right ? so it will conduct the EM Wave, hence very little EM wave will hit the circuitboards loh...but if the EM wave is very strong then might not work lah. some trains coat their windows with a layer of thin metal, so thin u can see through it, they put liao ur HP reception will be severely reduced as the metal layer conducts the EM wave, leaving very little for ur receptors in ur HP to receive.Originally posted by the.raven:really meh....
Why do some trains coat their windows with a layer of thin metal?Originally posted by chunyong:dats wat i learn from Electronics in NTU. the metal is conducting right ? so it will conduct the EM Wave, hence very little EM wave will hit the circuitboards loh...but if the EM wave is very strong then might not work lah. some trains coat their windows with a layer of thin metal, so thin u can see through it, they put liao ur HP reception will be severely reduced as the metal layer conducts the EM wave, leaving very little for ur receptors in ur HP to receive.
maybe sekali lightning strike the window then can conduct awayOriginally posted by ditzy:Why do some trains coat their windows with a layer of thin metal?
but what exactly is EM wave? how come can conduct?Originally posted by chunyong:dats wat i learn from Electronics in NTU. the metal is conducting right ? so it will conduct the EM Wave, hence very little EM wave will hit the circuitboards loh...but if the EM wave is very strong then might not work lah. some trains coat their windows with a layer of thin metal, so thin u can see through it, they put liao ur HP reception will be severely reduced as the metal layer conducts the EM wave, leaving very little for ur receptors in ur HP to receive.
EMP can cause cancer?!?!?!? how come?! its not radiation what. and switching off ur stuff probably wont help, because the electromagnetic field induces a currents in your techie stuff and Shit like that and then the thing will still get Fucked. but let me read a bit more of it first LOL. and rely on technology is no choice one what, u dont rely on technology then what? charge at your enemy with a parang so that u wont be affected by EMP?Originally posted by SpecOps87:Well,EMP is actually extremely useful.Even though it can be shielded,not many militaries/companies/service providers in the world really bother to protect their equipment.EMP is useful as it knocks out euqipment like Radar,Aircrafts,SAM sites etc...But leaves the population untouched.So its a good sort of weapon.But EMP strike is hazardous as it has the effect of takin 1,000 X-rays in a split-second and those in the targetted area have a high-possibility of getting cancer.
Anyway,any ideas if lets say prior to a strike by EMP right,if I were to switch off all my techie stuff would it help?SAF should not go full-fledge 3G,cuz if not our troops will be over-reliant on technology rather then their personnal capabilities to get the mission done.Imagine having an OP carried out my CDo,half-way some trooper the battery for his weapon's optics/computer system runs out or kena strike by EMP attack,then LAN LAN....
most of the time u still use foot soldiers to fight and not call in F 15s and B2s and Shit like that. so tech isnt really that big an issue.Originally posted by LazerLordz:One good example of how its still tough to fight a war even if you're equipped with the latest tech is the ardous battle to root out insurgents in the Pakistan- Afghan border, esp in Waziristan
All nuclear bombers are shielded and almost all modern day fighters have been shielded.Radios and stuf also....left over from the cold war era.So EMP might not knock out anything at all....Originally posted by SpecOps87:Well,EMP is actually extremely useful.Even though it can be shielded,not many militaries/companies/service providers in the world really bother to protect their equipment.EMP is useful as it knocks out euqipment like Radar,Aircrafts,SAM sites etc...But leaves the population untouched.So its a good sort of weapon.But EMP strike is hazardous as it has the effect of takin 1,000 X-rays in a split-second and those in the targetted area have a high-possibility of getting cancer.
Anyway,any ideas if lets say prior to a strike by EMP right,if I were to switch off all my techie stuff would it help?SAF should not go full-fledge 3G,cuz if not our troops will be over-reliant on technology rather then their personnal capabilities to get the mission done.Imagine having an OP carried out my CDo,half-way some trooper the battery for his weapon's optics/computer system runs out or kena strike by EMP attack,then LAN LAN....
erm, some important stuff cannot have shieldings loh...but i won't say wat lah...cos its not really appropriate.Originally posted by |-|05|:All nuclear bombers are shielded and almost all modern day fighters have been shielded.Radios and stuf also....left over from the cold war era.So EMP might not knock out anything at all....
x2. Technology should assist and not be dependent on.Originally posted by SpecOps87:Well,EMP is actually extremely useful.Even though it can be shielded,not many militaries/companies/service providers in the world really bother to protect their equipment.EMP is useful as it knocks out euqipment like Radar,Aircrafts,SAM sites etc...But leaves the population untouched.So its a good sort of weapon.But EMP strike is hazardous as it has the effect of takin 1,000 X-rays in a split-second and those in the targetted area have a high-possibility of getting cancer.