Originally posted by psykror7:Issit the ones you pass by beside the roads/paths? Heheh... haven heard any stories about that oso... sigh...
The last time (2nd time) i went Thailand, was lucky only gotta stay at field HQ. One of our teams (guess wat... my indian fren in that team oso... haha) had to return early b'cos one of the guys kana swollen leg, cannot walk properly. MO put it down to insect bite, except too swollen to see the bite puncture. He sure glad no need to stay out in the elements and while his time sleeping away in the Medic Centre! hahaha...
Later when exercise finish, my indian fren (lets' call him prata - we all got nicks in the SR platoon) said my fren shat at an inappropriate place... and by the time prata saw and realised what was goin on... too late. Can't ask him to undo what just shat out right?Overnight leg swell liao.
The next nite after team minus one man, prata spent the night with another teammate who was in the hide some distance away (which not suppose to do of cos). Previously he had wanted to changed the hide to another place b'cos the hide position is among a grove of overgrown vegetation (he obviously saw things), but the controller said it's the best place - nobody can see (ya... and nobody will know if something goes bad). Halfway thru the nite, Prata suddenly woken by teamate mumbling... and then said "Prata, i see ghost". I know it sounds corny (and not a rip-off from Sixth Sense... just say it's a coincidence), but Prata was so shocked he shook him hard and woke him up, then asked if he's dreaming or saw something. Teammate's reply? "huh? no ar... not dreaming of anything ah". Prata never told him what he heard or happened until exercise cut and everyone back in bunk preparing for RnR. Wah.. almost everyone who heard what he related had their imaginations getting almost abit wild, imagining shadows and eyes lookin at us in the bunk.
Well, that's Thailand for us, though am still missing the food in their canteen.Funny when first time went there nothing of this sort happened leh... and Prata was there with me too.
Oh... the guy (oso from my platoon) swelling subsided a day later after sleeping in the Medic Centre, then joined me in HQ... haha.
Wah... Josh, your close calls seem worse as they come!Originally posted by Joshua1975:One more on Statue. As all know that back in the late 70s or earlier till today, some camp have a statue to represent the unit. It can be anything from animal to human soldier. Like 4 SIR have a HAWK Statue, SAFINCO has had 2 soldier Statue, SAFTIMI, OCS etc etc.
Mine was back in 2Guards(closed down liao)LCK camp now where 4 SIR is. At HQ block along the road leading up to coy line where the guard mounting take place infront of the flag pole. There is one lone soldier(the statue)standing. When I 1st posted in in 1993 it was painted in camo colour and din take much notice of it oso.
Here goes. One day after guard mounting and everything else, i went up to my bunk and found that my radio was on and tune to FM92.4, never really bother with it and just off it and carry on down stair to do my laundry follow by going to mass watch TV. washing done went back up, hmm why the radio was on again? Something not rite i tell myself but din do anything abt it.
Go OPS room tell the clerk if anything come up I will be at coy line or the mass and if need to look for me. just call there and tell DO I will not be in the OPS room for the nite. As per normal, staff parade, rountine check of coy line blah blah... ...
At 0355hrs i was at guards house turn out fire picket, all turn out well and good and i carry on proceed to ammo dump to check. On the way, I hear lots and lots crying sound all around me(btw the ammo dump was at the other end of my camp after the MT line) without 2nd tot I turn and head back the way i came passed the guards house heading towards coy line, next i pass the statue and take a look at it, the pair of eyes were bloody red and the statue seem to staring at me. Sh|t, I speed off and reach my coy line in seconds.
Till that day afternoon I check with the senior guys any 'thing' on the statue not? Guess what, they smile at me, fxck man. It was said that b4 this batch of man come in, The statue was a black all painted black just the eyes red. All the previous batch of men doing the guards duty will complain that the statue is missing or the statue change it standing position or lots and lots chatting sound come from the statue.
Than one day one Y.S.L. had a dream of something I not sure what it abt and he went tell CO. Than on the very Sunday all regular were called to come back for one ritual. From the CSMs, the master had so call caught some sprite on the statue itself, and some other place in the camp as well. From him that infront of the statue after the road, a stair way leading up to the field was a gate to hell and he say that must be destroy for good. I myself go to the spot with the other new SGT to comfrim. Sure there is some debris of the stair way that was left behind cover up by the grass.
Arrrrrh... I am lucky that it was the oni incident happen to me, maybe he just want to let me know he is there. same most of the men during my time had compalin abt the statue oso.Oh!!! What a duty that was.
Usually no one want's to mess around there also lah...Originally posted by Joshua1975:Yup, sometime it just outside the house. Well i try not to take this kind of risk and as for my men, it is still somehow my duty to tell them, no one can explain the supernatural power yah. I for sure not going back to pray for this kind of thing noe.
Originally posted by psykror7:Wah... Josh, your close calls seem worse as they come!
Out of curiousity, was that the camp in LCK that can be accessed thru Jalan Bhetara, passing the back of a school (That's my primary school - Lim Chu Kang Pr Sch)? The one that's nearest to the 4 storey HDBs and market? Stayed in LCK for first 15 years of my life and was paradise for me... That area was the scene of some battles during WW2 (as my now-passed granma could attest then), and had alot of "inhabitants". This is slightly out of topic, but i had my tution at tutor's home which was near the camp, deep inside Jln Bhetara (the place was actually quite densely populated then, contrary to popular belief of rural areas), and where one night, while waiting for my mum to pick me up after a session, saw a "ghost fire" floating near tutor's house. Needless to say, was scared to crap then (only 8 years old mah), and that was the last year i had tution there. Had to come up with some stupid excuse to give my tution teacher b'cos didn't tell them what i saw..![]()
Ah.. i see. The camp facing the remaining strip of farmlands.Originally posted by Joshua1975:Nope, it was on the Old LCK Rd across the Chinese cemetery behind LCK Rd. Well the one you say is likely to be Sungei Gedong Camp.
wow meander, thats freaky. honestly... i do believe its better to believe than not to, as u'd be more cautious and wary of things. anyhows, was it a thurs nite?No heng@, it was a wednesday night ... sibei heng huh ...
Originally posted by meander:My sispec section had finished a night section exercise. We checked ourselves clear, had all our expended cartridges collected while still outfield. Then we had our arms cleared by our instructor using his torchlight, then was declared and searched (blah blah usual).
As we walked back to our coy line, we passed our canteen. My trigger-happy section mate was playing with his trigger all the while we were walking. It was going "click click click ..." as there was nothing in the M16 chamber. Suddenly, his rifle just went *bang* and I saw a flash come out of his M16 as if he had just fired a blank round. Yet his ejector port was still closed.
I was rather near beside him on his right. If he had loaded his rifle while on the way back i would have known. If he had been on safe mode, then suddenly put it to fire and squeezed off I would have known too. If he closed the ejector port after firing off, I would have seen it too. Furthermore he had no reason to firing off so near our instructor and risk burning 3 weekends for mis-firing.
The strange thing was that we could not find the expended cartridge anywhere at all. It was a big main road, and was rather well lighted by the streetlamps. But still all our 9 plus pairs of eyes couldn't find that one cartridge.
In the end, we all pretended nothing happened that night and went back to our coy line.
A case similar to Joshua1975's "gui zher yan" experience in Tekong. I was in sispec then, same thing my coy was doing uncontrolled torpor. But this case happened in bright daylight. A particular group was doing torpor (area i forget liao), and they just could NOT get of this certain area. Mind you it wasn't in the vegetation, it was a open place with roads. But no matter how they walked, they seemed to be circling the area. All 4 members of the group were torpor-trained and had maps/compasses ...
In the end they just gave up and sat down on the road. After some time a safety rover stopped in front of them, and the group kena f*** for non-tact behavoir, and for actually sitting down in the middle of a road. From that point, whatever spell over the area seem to be broken, and the group could finally walk out of that area.
Some of my friends got posted to BMTC as instructors and I heard some of their personal stories. Apprently the bridge along the School 1 SOC ground is "dirty". My friend (or one of his prowlers i can't remember) actually saw white figures of what looked like children playing underneath it at night.
And they're not the only ones to see all white figures that same bridge. There are a few stories about that place. Some claimed that they had seen a female white figure, some say japs and so on ...
A freaky one ...
My friend (let's call him B) was doing guardcom in his aircon room when he saw an old man on 1 of his circuit TVs. It was rather late at night then, so he radio-ed the prowlers to go there to check it out. Upon arriving there, the prowlers radio-ed back and claim that there was nobody there at all. But B could still see the old man on the CCTV.
Thinking that the prowlers were playing a trick on him, B went down personally to the spot, but it was as his prowlers said, there was nobody there. B, puzzled, radio-ed back to his guard-2IC and asked him if he could see the old man.
His guard-2IC radio-ed back "He's right above you all ..."
And they all fled the spot.
The field is on a higher level and you need stair to access it. B4 my time, infront the statue there was a flight of stair leading up. I think till today if you go and remove, dig out the over grown grass you will beable to find some short rebars and the debris. it will be still there as no one will do anything down there i think.Originally posted by meander:Joshua1975 i got posted to 4SIR later, and the statue had already been changed. Now it looks more friendly liao, it's a guy carrying a SAR. But i did hear from the more senior specs that the statue was really spooky before it got changed. No one dared to walk pass the statue unless they really had to. Spec/Officers can siam, but the poor men lan lan have to walk pass it as it's part of the prowling route. But none of them mentioned the stairs that you said was there. Maybe it was already removed then ? Anyway there were no more stories about that particular statue during my entire stay there.
Btw, The blocks opposite the ammo dump are deserted and it's still damn spooky there at night. Also it seems like Bravo Coy, the block down the road from the MT line, had minor cases of spookiness. Minor sightings, problems with lights but nothing major. Was it the same during your time ?
thats e camp which later became the sch of military medicine right? now disused liao right?Originally posted by tvdog:I used to be at Ulu Pandan Camp which used to be 3rd Brigade HQ (long time ago).
I was NSF and in S2 branch.
One night I found everyone in my bunk has decided to stay out. Others went to sleep in other bunks with their friends.
I decided it would be OK to sleep alone in the long shaped bunk. I left some lights near the door on.
I dreamt I saw a black shadow running back and forth across the breath of the room near the door. In my dream I got and and ran towards the shadow and grabbed him. That's when I woke up. I was sleeping facing the door exactly the same as my dream. I went back to sleep until morning - nothing happened.
Some hokkien peng commented on my experience and said it was good that I got up in my dream and try to grab the shadow. It meant I was stronger and that's why I slept peacefully the rest of the night.
that place is neo tiew right?Originally posted by psykror7:Wah... Josh, your close calls seem worse as they come!
Out of curiousity, was that the camp in LCK that can be accessed thru Jalan Bhetara, passing the back of a school (That's my primary school - Lim Chu Kang Pr Sch)? The one that's nearest to the 4 storey HDBs and market? Stayed in LCK for first 15 years of my life and was paradise for me... That area was the scene of some battles during WW2 (as my now-passed granma could attest then), and had alot of "inhabitants". This is slightly out of topic.. sorry, but i had my tution at tutor's home which was near the camp, deep inside Jln Bhetara (the place was actually quite densely populated then, contrary to popular belief of rural areas), and where one night, while waiting for my mum to pick me up after a session, saw a "ghost fire" floating near tutor's house. Needless to say, was scared to crap then (only 8 years old mah), and that was the last year i had tution there. Had to come up with some stupid excuse to give my tution teacher b'cos didn't tell them what i saw..
TAB no ghost story?Originally posted by Hornet145:Ok, this isn't about military ghost but civilian one. About 3 years b4 I go for NS, I was working with my uncle and so I stay there more than at home. One day, I went home to get something from my mother. And I went into my room to get something. Guess what? Something "moved" in while I'm not around. My sensors are "on", so I can feel it. My home do have a little ghost and my mum told me that me and my elder sis may have played with it when young. But I'm not sure about this one right in my room. So I just put everything down and talk to it using a serious tone. Telling it to get out and never set foot in my room. It worked becos the next time I come back, my room felt back to normal again.Hehe, sorry for deviating from the post.
Surprisingly, Tengah Airbase is quite clean, never heard any stories or encounter anything during my NS there. But I'm sure 142 Sqn personnel would have stories since they are just across the road from the cemeteries at LCK road towards Sungei Gedong, my old camp.![]()
wah..something obviously dun like u guys to be around..Originally posted by HENG@:seems like there have been many incidents during outfield and exs... i guess its time to share my experiences. For my BMT, things were mostly peaceful. The only thing i've experienced during my BMT happened in the bunk. We had one spot in the bunk suddenly smelling strongly of vomit. very weird as we tried our hardest to locate the origin of the smell. then it started to spread. soon the whole bunk smelt of vomit. stank like hell. we emptied a whole can of air freshener in futility. 10 min later, the smell slowly shrank back to the spot it started from, then disappeared.
after BMT i was a Lobo at the old Sch of Signals(now known as Signals Institute). Once brought a recruit to the sports store in the hall to get a table from the storeman who happened to be a BMT coymate of mine. he wasn't around so i hung out with the rec in the store, reasoning that since we could bum around, why not? The hall was all shuttled up that day, since it wasn't in use. u have to access the store from inside the hall, so its right to say the store is an enclosed room within an enclosed place. so there we are, chatting away, me next to the double doors of the store, the rec standing oppo, when he shifts his stare to the door. i turn to see what hes looking at... the double doors were opening very slowly and steadily. then it stops. then, it starts closing slowly and steadily. but right before it closes completely, it suddenly closes with an increased force. shuts with a bang. boy, i grabbed the rec and got the hell outta there.