hmm... not really.Originally posted by NathanG5:wah..something obviously dun like u guys to be around..
any after effect or story?
Which year at SOS? Maybe I know you? Lobo at which wing?Originally posted by HENG@:seems like there have been many incidents during outfield and exs... i guess its time to share my experiences. For my BMT, things were mostly peaceful. The only thing i've experienced during my BMT happened in the bunk. We had one spot in the bunk suddenly smelling strongly of vomit. very weird as we tried our hardest to locate the origin of the smell. then it started to spread. soon the whole bunk smelt of vomit. stank like hell. we emptied a whole can of air freshener in futility. 10 min later, the smell slowly shrank back to the spot it started from, then disappeared.
after BMT i was a Lobo at the old Sch of Signals(now known as Signals Institute). Once brought a recruit to the sports store in the hall to get a table from the storeman who happened to be a BMT coymate of mine. he wasn't around so i hung out with the rec in the store, reasoning that since we could bum around, why not? The hall was all shuttled up that day, since it wasn't in use. u have to access the store from inside the hall, so its right to say the store is an enclosed room within an enclosed place. so there we are, chatting away, me next to the double doors of the store, the rec standing oppo, when he shifts his stare to the door. i turn to see what hes looking at... the double doors were opening very slowly and steadily. then it stops. then, it starts closing slowly and steadily. but right before it closes completely, it suddenly closes with an increased force. shuts with a bang. boy, i grabbed the rec and got the hell outta there.
last year as SOS. 2002 april to 2003 april. 1st month attached to Sch SgtMaj WO Quek. subsequently at Mp Br under CPT Ong.Originally posted by Xprobe:Which year at SOS? Maybe I know you? Lobo at which wing?
Ok then, you are exactly 10 years late. My time was 92. The MPH did not spook me at all. During my time, it was known to all that when we prowl, dont, never cut across the parade square towards the lecture block head on. If so, you will see funny things.Originally posted by HENG@:last year as SOS. 2002 april to 2003 april. 1st month attached to Sch SgtMaj WO Quek. subsequently at Mp Br under CPT Ong.
Originally posted by SpecOps87:Well,this happened to my buddy and I.Both in NCC,at Amoy Quee camp.We were having field camp and as usual,the guys weren't allowed to go to the "proper toilets" to do our business and had to settle it outfield.And wherever we go,must go with our buddy.As it goes,it was round 0230hrs or so,my buddy woke me up and said he wanted to go for a piss.So went together to the bottom of the slope where there was lots of lalang grass,damn high.Since there,I also did my business.I went first while my buddy watched as he was abit apprehensive bout pissing into the unknown.So after i that,it was his turned.
Bloody hell,he was pissing half-way when the grass rustled and swayed.Both of us were feeling alittle spooked as our PCs have told us to be careful.Then out of the grass a bloody stray dog lept out of the bush going for the place where the sun don't shine.Damn,my buddy was shocked shitless,and we ran back to the camp command tent.When the SAF 2nd Sergeant attached to us for the camp asked what happened,my buddy was still fumbling with his pants as he had not buttoned it up,and wet himself with his pee.And we were infront of the female cadets as well.
Haha,though not a ghost story,its one of the most memorable.As for my friend,he became the CSM of our unit.With his hidden history with me...Will post a ghost story told by my OC the next time.
hahaha oh could be worse. later all train until lidat... can u imagine... civilian liao, peeing at urinal... hear some sound... suddenly turn around and pee..... onto the poor chap using the next urinal.Originally posted by Xprobe:Old soldiers told me that sometimes when they pee outfield and sense that something is near by, they will suddenly turn and pee in that direction, reason being that we are soldiers and train to kill, so our Sa Qi is strong. Dont have to be afraid.
I guess why so many stories about ppl kanna after doing it is that they have a civilian mentality while wearing greens.
Dont see any commando out there get spooked so easily. Agree?
Talking abt pde sq, if your camp has dog/s do you guys notice that during the 7th mth all the dog and someother dogs from no where will like to sleep there at nite and during the 15th days mid-nite all the dogs will howl like ppl crying?Originally posted by HENG@:hahaha oh could be worse. later all train until lidat... can u imagine... civilian liao, peeing at urinal... hear some sound... suddenly turn around and pee..... onto the poor chap using the next urinal.
eh anyways, i've cut the pde sq towards the lec block b4... din see anything funny. but the guys in charge of the messing office on the 2nd floor at the rear of the MPH, on the other side oppo the sports store where i had my experience, always complain about being disturbed, even in e afternoon.
haha din notice. but speaking about dogs, u reminded me, of an incident i had almost forgotten. my camp has a soccer field in the middle, with the Sch of Sig HQ block at one end, and some tennis courts at the other end. further away from the tennis courts is the Signals HQ block. once at 9pm, i was walking across the field via a path along one side of the field, to return the office key as i was duty personnel that day. after this task was done, i walked back using the same path. just as i stepped onto the path, a dog which i had not noticed, on my left, suddenly let out a mournful howl. it damn near scared the Shit out of me. but that wasn't as bad as what it did next. it started to follow alongside, barking consistantly at me, at 1st it seemed. then it started to move towards my back and then to my right. while it was doing this, it was following awhile, then stopping awhile, the getting up to follow again. thats when i realised it didn't quite sound like it was barking at me, but, rather, something behind me. boy.... it took me sheer willpower not to run, or to freeze to the spot, but to walk on "normally". and that dog continued barking after whatever it was behind me, until i had reached the other end of the field, and re-entered my Sch of Sigs HQ block. but whatever it was, it had followed me till the bottom of the block because after that, from my office, i could see the dog continue to bark at something downstairs at the entrance to the corridor...Originally posted by Joshua1975:Talking abt pde sq, if your camp has dog/s do you guys notice that during the 7th mth all the dog and someother dogs from no where will like to sleep there at nite and during the 15th days mid-nite all the dogs will howl like ppl crying?
Originally posted by tvdog:Should have a new vocation in the S2 intel branch: S2 BOMOH, with estab rank of SWO.
ya..hving been there before..when went to storeroom to get stuff..also feel that place veri creepy and door tends to close and open very suddenly also..dunno is wind or wht..but cannot feel any breeze leh..Originally posted by HENG@:hahaha oh could be worse. later all train until lidat... can u imagine... civilian liao, peeing at urinal... hear some sound... suddenly turn around and pee..... onto the poor chap using the next urinal.
eh anyways, i've cut the pde sq towards the lec block b4... din see anything funny. but the guys in charge of the messing office on the 2nd floor at the rear of the MPH, on the other side oppo the sports store where i had my experience, always complain about being disturbed, even in e afternoon.
Hi,Originally posted by Unsung_Hero:In 1984 I was an OCS instructor at the old Safti Pasir Laba camp.
One platoon from I believe Bravo coy was in-the-field conducting a junior term cadet navigation test, a pre-requisite to Ex. Lancer. In this test cadets move from checkpoint to checkpoint using map, compass, one or none, given bearing and distance, then perform certain tests at each station before navigating to the next station. Timing between checkpoints was also recorded, so cadets basically ran. Cadets perform this test independently. In those days the test area was in LCK area. It was normal for cadets to be running around passing each other along the entire exercise/test area which was probably 3 sq km in size.
At the end of the day which was around 1830 hrs all cadets formed up at main station and head count was conducted. One man short. Missing man's last known checkpoint ascertained, and several cadets noted they had last seen missing man running off in a certain direction. This direction was counter to the correct direction to the man's required checkpoint.
Since it was dark and platoon had been in the field all day, the platoon returned to camp for dinner while instructors used their land rovers to search for missing man.
Around 2100 hrs some of the instructors returned to camp saying they combed the area and the direction missing man last seen headed with no sight of him. They reported the missing man to HQ. HQ turned out all available instructors, requisitioned all available vehicles and everyone returned to the training area to look again for the missing cadet. By day break he was still MIA and everyone was getting somewhat concerned. Some villagers in the LCK area were said to be reporting seeing a soldier running around their properties but running away when approached.
CO cancelled all training for those coys in camp and the entire OCS conducted a massive search through the area, including all reservoirs, roads, farms, reservoirs, etc. By late in afternoon, Mindef requisitioned choppers and turned out an ops SIR unit to join in the search, which was conducted day and night. Even the drains and culverts were searched day and night.
By the second night everyone was wondering what could have happened to the cadet, and the rumours of his running around and avoiding the search parties led to speculation he had gone crazy. A couple of WO's and the CSM were rumoured to have consulted with a bomoh. The Bomoh had apparently pointed to a gnarled and twisted tree close to the last checkpoint he was seen at and said that a bad spirit in the tree had possessed the cadet, and if he could not be found by the end of the third day, he would be dead.
The search continued through the third day by air and by land with hundreds of men combing all possible territory, hiding locations, ponds, reservoirs, etc...still no sign of the cadet. Everyone was a little spooked by the rumours and even as we checked the drains and other possible shelter areas on the night shift we thought at any minute he might jump out at us.
On the morning of the fourth day a chopper spotted something floating in a small pond and radioed for the nearest search team to go to the area. It was the cadet. He was floating face down in the pond, his SBO still fully attached. He was pulled from the pond by two officers. He was an only son.
Strangely enough, the compass which was still attached with black shoelace to his SBO was set to the right bearing to the checkpoint he should have run to, instead he had run in the opposite direction and had ended up in a pond several km away from the checkpoint, the distance of which was known to him from his prior checkpoint, and had been less than 1 click. The pond he was found in had been searched several times during the three day manhunt. Cause of death was drowning, the cadet was not a swimmer.
Don't have any first hand Tekong experiences and can say I have been over virtually every piece of ground and swamp on the original island. One section a friend of mine led did have one man who did turn into a zombie one night after they had passed through one of the local burial areas, and I did spend some time with this soldier who was one of the platoon's best. He said he had urinated and felt cold then couldn't remember anything further till the next day.
Can't say I'm a believer in the spirit world, and these events may be readily explained, but they do send a chill up your spine when you recall them in the middle of the night in the middle of nowhere.
ah... so im not the only one who experienced it. yes yes, the door, opens and close when there is no breeze. cannot possibly be a breeze because the whole area is an enclosed room within an enclosed hall!Originally posted by rancour5:ya..hving been there before..when went to storeroom to get stuff..also feel that place veri creepy and door tends to close and open very suddenly also..dunno is wind or wht..but cannot feel any breeze leh..
WOW lau, of all place you go sleep in the old pri school ! That place super haunted, used to have some door nailed shut and have tailsman pasted over them.Originally posted by Slywong:My personal experience at tekong...........
Way back in '94, battlion was preparing for exercise in Brunei (1st armour unit to go infantry exercise in Brunei). Pack of the training package was 2 days 1 night training at Tekong.
1st day, day topo exercise.
Me and 3 of my men formed a team and went off searching for check points. things were going pretty well as we were able to locate the check points. Somewhere along the way, we decided to bash through the vegetation to reach a check point.
We bashed and bashed until we came to a small little knoll. On top of this knoll while we were walking, I noticed stuffs like bowls, tea cups, urns littered all over the ground partly covered by vegetation.
Men were commenting how come all this barang barang were here..... told them not to disturbed them and just moved on..... suddenly we heard crashing noise to our right and through the corner of my eyes, I saw a shadow darting into the vegetation... from the outline of the shadow, it looks like a wild boar.
But the size of the boar seems to be out of proportion. I stand at 1.7m tall and the wildboar seems to be almost as tall as me. Maybe my eyes were playing tricks on me from the fatigue. (from carrying the stupid PRC77 set).
Nevertheless, we quickly make haste of our stay there and moved off to search for our checkpoint. Along the way, we heard crashing sound along the way. Even though we shout out, no one replied.
After some difficulties, we managed to bashed out of the vegetation and found out checkpoints and concluded the exercise.
Spend our night at the old primary school but did not sleep well as was very feeling feverish.....next day, went on with our company ex...and by evening time, was on the way back on the RPL.....
Next day at camp, no able to get out of bed and need help from fellow sgts to get up. Went to report sick and temperature measured 40 degree C!!!!
Spend whole day in the medical centre sleeping and bathing. Fever finally subside next day.......
Fever due to the exhaustion? or something else........You decide.