The element of surprise is there...and if mi were the terrorists, mi will incapacitate these units first...Originally posted by tspg:Dun worry SAF always have units on stand by round the clock for such emergencies.
During the blackout they were turn out.
We are prepared and ready.![]()
I wish to ask how many guys know that they hav to report back to camp when the public siren system wails?Originally posted by Troy437:U guys forgot we have public alert sirens...by the time U heard this we men will have the hunch...aren't we required to fight now?
The recent black-out makes us all very uptight now...wat if this and wat if that...What if got one Nuclear bomb drop and we are reduced to ashes before we can even think 'wat if'...
Dun worry...we will know wat to do when it comes. We Sporeans got brain one![]()
my point is...it will be in total chaos at that time esp when the mode of recall via GSM or watever network ... might be jammed or worse if it is downed.Originally posted by Ecxentrique:just on another note..
not long ago got activated. supposed to be a silent recall but activation done by armas. i know of it thru a friend's sms. (activation time was 10am, i have heard of some friends getting beeped when they check out of camp...) if there was a real case of turbulence.. total power blackout, mass comms network jam.. and armas being so unreliable. how fast can we really mobilise our defense..
they will mass-page and mass-sms.Originally posted by Ecxentrique:just on another note..
not long ago got activated. supposed to be a silent recall but activation done by armas. i know of it thru a friend's sms. (activation time was 10am, i have heard of some friends getting beeped when they check out of camp...) if there was a real case of turbulence.. total power blackout, mass comms network jam.. and armas being so unreliable. how fast can we really mobilise our defense..
yup and add to the chaos to the network if its not already down and jammed.. or i suppose they are paging on a separate dedicated network.. but if its really emergency.. there are a lot of numbers to mass page.. so i m wondering about the time we get informed about the activation.. likT+? hr.. when i heard of the experience which my camp mate had.. just made me wonder.. he got the beep from armas after he walked out of camp... i still cant believe it..Originally posted by chunyong:they will mass-page and mass-sms.
eh....they only need to 'page' the whole callsign then got software or wat page one lah, just like u email a grp, the whole group got the email but do u email every single one separately ? no right ? same logic loh wah lauOriginally posted by Ecxentrique:yup and add to the chaos to the network if its not already down and jammed.. or i suppose they are paging on a separate dedicated network.. but if its really emergency.. there are a lot of numbers to mass page.. so i m wondering about the time we get informed about the activation.. likT+? hr.. when i heard of the experience which my camp mate had.. just made me wonder.. he got the beep from armas after he walked out of camp... i still cant believe it..
yeah, but put of his point was also that the GSM networks flooded liao leh... something like new years eve.. i sms my fren and she said only recieve my msg like dunno how many hours later...Originally posted by chunyong:eh....they only need to 'page' the whole callsign then got software or wat page one lah, just like u email a grp, the whole group got the email but do u email every single one separately ? no right ? same logic loh wah lau
not war lah....come on, terrorist attack lah...Originally posted by tripwire:wahh.... you people very dramatic leh....
lets consider something slowly here...
1... the power out is not island wide... if half the island got power and answer a mob... that's at least 150,000 men.. more men then the entire MAF.
2... the power out lasted average 1 to 2 hours.... i dont know who our invaders are... but how much forces can be sneak, move, attack or deploy within 2 hours before the generators come back to life?
3... our RSAF would still be around... probably make a scramble if attack was imminent... i guess the same would happen in the navy and army.
terrorist? they will strike even if there is power..... i never heard of terrorist striking only during power outage.
in a war... power station sure kenna wack one lah... so... any recall system cannot be dependent on these power supply.
nowadays HP very common... even little boy and girl in primary school also carry them...
if need to.... ask singtel shut down all sms and HP from calling out... and reserve for armas sendouts...
the only real and effective way against terrorist is tit for tat (covertly of course)...Originally posted by sgboy2004:not war lah....come on, terrorist attack lah...