well...if he continues in this manner.... he is sure to get a hell of an experience from real life military ... too badnow the army had gone soft.. so short time with increased pay...gg looks like pampered NCC boy ...Originally posted by LazerLordz:He provides comic relief.GOD help us if he ever went to OCS, we might see some revolting going on then.
Send him to Music and Drama Company.Originally posted by LazerLordz:He provides comic relief.GOD help us if he ever went to OCS, we might see some revolting going on then.
Whats the point of sending him there? He's so full of his own ideas he dun need OCS to teach him anything. Just give him the stars and watch his VR soldiers fight the battles for us!Originally posted by LazerLordz:He provides comic relief.GOD help us if he ever went to OCS, we might see some revolting going on then.
Originally posted by baer:[/b]
[b]Simulation or Stimulation?
Maybe too much stimulation instead of simulation is the problem (check your dictionary what the difference is..)
Challange any of the "armchair generals" here to walk 1km with me into our Nature Reserve then we shoot the breeze overnight on a hilltop before bashing out to BKE (another 2 km) then we see if all your simulation can match the 'real thing'. Nothing martial just sweat, mosquitos and the terrain. any takers??
FYI - even the simulations of aircraft like F-16, strike eagle (and the newer games) are a generic model which every game uses, only the 'look' is real enuff. Nothing about the feel or boredom of real flight.
Send him to the iraq ! He will stop traffic and the fighting there !!! We just broadcast him live, he will be such a big comic hit there !!! He will do better than the former Iraq information officer ! " I tell you, there is no US troops in iraq, why because I say so lor ..... "Originally posted by paperchicken:Send him to Music and Drama Company.![]()
LoL , mammoth tank is impossible in real life =DOriginally posted by esesce:No, he will tell you, US army should just send in their Abrams tank in large platoons of say 40 tanks total & overwhelm the enemy. Why? Because I tried the Mammoth Tank rush in Red Alert & it worked.![]()
My "Ang Moh Lew Lian" view exactly!Originally posted by tvdog:Peninsular Malaysia is many hundreds of times bigger than Singapore. Now add to this land mass the territories of Sabah and Sarawak. And then think of the borders they share with Thailand, Indonesia, Brunei, Singapore and Philippines - all of whom at one time or another were hostile to Malaysia. Thinkof all the thousands of miles of coastline, land, sea and airspace they have to defend.
And then compare little Singapore to that.
Should it be surprising that Malaysia needs a much, much bigger armed forces than us? And yet, the truth is opposite: Singapore has a much bigger and modern armed forces than Malaysia.
So it should not surprise anyone that they NEED to address this imbalance not because they want to invade us, but quite simply, Malaysia is a big juicy piece of poorly-defended meat.
The only thing going for them is that there are no real foreign threats - for now. But there are always the threat of internal rebellion etc. And even for that, they would need more equipment to be effective.
Many countries do not maintain a large armed forces during peacetime but have the ability to mobilise large numbers of both men and material quickly during emergency. Malaysia does not. One of its problems is that the ethnic Chinese Malaysians do not normally join their army. But the total ethnic Chinese population in Malaysia is about 45%. In terms of material, that's the problem they are now trying to address.
But even in their procurement programs someone here pointed out rightly that they seem to be buying randomly and have a mad variety of equipment. And they also have only a few token pieces of each weapon. So it seems they are out to put on a show. If you just look at the variety of weapons they have or are going to purchase, it seems like... WOW!!! And then you find they have merely 20 pieces of this, 40 pieces of that etc.
Whereas Singapore seems to buy in bulk. We have mainly the F-16 for now but I think we have 50 or more of them? We don't even have enough airspace for this many aircrafts. And our AMX-13s - small little buggers compared to their 50 PT-91 but hey - we have 300 of them. We apparently also have 100 Centurions. And it goes on...
Even in terms of manpower in the military, we easily outnumber them 3 to 1.
So who started the arms race?
I think Singapore is doing a good job of being the "poison shrimp" by being so well-armed. We must be the most heavily-defended piece of real estate on earth. Maybe even the DMZ in Korea has less troops and weapons.
We are bristling with weapons and live on an overcrowded island. And we Singaporeans are a rather cocky and aggressive lot, let's be honest. This combination cannot be something Malaysia feels secure about.
Although I am not saying their armed forces is a write-off, we should not view their weapons procurement as a threat meant specifically for us. It is really a deterrent against us and their other neighbours.
So relax, no need for paranoia for the ones sleeping badly at night should be our neighbours, not us.
Underneath all their recent bravado - what the Malaysians are hiding is the fact that they are woefully underarmed for too long. Seeing the near disintegration of Indonesia recently and its humiliation in Timor must be a wakeup call for them.
please don't even suggest that Gonegoose, our boy here will keep it to write a book. Which will be grab of the shelf by everyone, as it will provide, every soldier of what not to do in war. Possible will be more famous than sun-zi art of war, but known in the sense, that the right is doing opposite what the author say.Originally posted by gonegoose:*slowly claps* "overwhelm with aerial power instead of tanks" you sound like you're ready to skip OCS altogether and head straight to SCSC instead. And with that last comment, we have now TOTALLY veered off the topic AND scope of discussion.
So since we are already off topic, (mods, humour me here for a moment yeah?) SBSK, when will you be enlisting? It may be good for you to do an online (or offline, whichever suits you) blog to record your current level of thinking now and as you progress through NS and after you have left. I'm not attempting to mock you here, but just do it for your own personal benefit, you might be surprised and learn a couple of lessons on the way.![]()
maybe your tagline says it allOriginally posted by SibeiSuayKia:LoL .
Opposite of attacking is defending
Opposite of forward is backward
Opposite of conventional is unconventional
Whatever may it be, opposite or not, i still see it as a possible military strategy.
"Guns blazing" means to shoot without looking or aiming is more like images of US troops in Vietnam not Gulf War where precision was key. Using night vision equipment does not equate with precision DUH. You are the MTV generation which think power equals effort and more is only way to do anything right. Sigh! so sad to think that our next generation think in terms of 10+10=100Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:Don't be dumb, alot of stuff is done by "gun blazin"
take the gulf war for example , on tv, u can see the cannon and artilery gun blazing thru the night vision cam.
Not only does it show power , it shows control as well.
Neverthless , Gulf War and Operation Desert Storm is one of the most successful campaign in 1990's . Do you dare disagree with me?
Originally posted by pufferfish_79:yea sure ill lend u mine copy.....PM me
[b][quote]Originally posted by |-|05|:
[b]
yea i've played it....and i loved them.....unfortunatly i've on ly got the 2nd and 5th games in the series.I would like to get hold of the 3rd and 4th games....especially the 3rd.
hey.. actually i'm looking to getting my hands on the 2nd, 3th and 4th games.. but there is a error after i downloaded... any chance of me borrowing and burn myself a copy of the CC games u have,,,? looking foward to playing the series again.... like in real military excercise.. minus the sweat and commandos mosquitoes....
can send you the url.. see if you can manage to solve the error... if u can.. then bingo... u will have 2nd,3th and 4th game[/b]
baer, our friend has only computer war game experience. His tanks and artilieries do not need to be refuel or supply with ammo by the supply trucks, he have unlimited ammos and fuels. He also looking from the whole area from birdeye view in game, so click and use artilieries and hit enemy, he does not need someone with laser designator to mark the target.Originally posted by baer:"Guns blazing" means to shoot without looking or aiming is more like images of US troops in Vietnam not Gulf War where precision was key. Using night vision equipment does not equate with precision DUH. You are the MTV generation which think power equals effort and more is only way to do anything right. Sigh! so sad to think that our next generation think in terms of 10+10=100
Anyway Gulf War comprises of Desert Shield (protection of Saudi Arabia and Gulf states), Desert Storm (air war) and Desert Sword (invasion of Iraq and liberation of Kuwait). I think you need to focus on tactics not found in computer games.