Hold a squadron? A squadron providing a 2nd strike capability? You got to be joking. The only true way to defend against a strike at airbases or airfields is to pre-empt them. Hit them before they get it off. Once you lost the control of the skies, don't talk about second strike capability you've lost the momentum.Originally posted by Sardaukar:With MY Astros,our airfields are vulnerable,and no matter how hardened or reinforced,if you bomb our runways long enough,they are still going to take time to repair.Same goes for our secret runways posing as roads,though nobody knows the majority of them.
We should have a 2nd strike capability for the RSAF,like some form of submerged platform out at sea or something a small aircraft carrier of sorts that can perhaps hold a squadron, that just stays out at the Southern Islands,to provide 2nd strike capability.
we could also think of converting a freighter or oil tanker to a helicarrier,perhaps modify our Apaches to allow naval operations?The Brits are doing that around now.
More thick armour makes ships heavier, heaver ship needs more power and better engines. And the result? More money. And also, so what if there is more armour? It's just like building thicker hulls for aircraft so that crushes will not be that bad. How thick can your armour go? It might protect the ship, its crew, but once a ship suffers a direct hit from a missile, it is hardly combat effective anymore. I think it is wiser to use the money to build more ships, not invest on armour.Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:ECM doesn't work 100% and A-MM doesn't always hit the missile
The last bet would be a ARMOR , if u got thicker armor , more lifes saved , thin armor more pple die
using a M1 Abrams and a Bionix as a example ,
which tank would u prefer to sit inside in time of a war?
A M1 tanks in which has been tested with RPG 7 and Bullets and cannons
or a locally built ST Bionix 17.5 tonnes newbie?
i'll take the M1 Tank , thank you =) just compare the thickness of the armor!
anyway the delta frigates are definitely going to be made of plastics..
anyway i believe the bionix was build to counter rifle shots and pistol fire
and not for countering RPG -7 ...
Anyone here did a TESTING of RPGs on Bionix?
care to share a little of the results?
my bet would be the rpg would completely vaporize the bionix
I will be LOL with u if its 300 hundred malaysian robbers that make their way to Pulau Ubin..Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:LOL even the malaysian robbers can escape to Pulau ubin..
Watching their Astros 24/7??
LOL
Even spy satellites got problem tracking down cause of its camoflage..
Spy satellites can only detect those nuclear facilities which emit radiation
etc etc...
UAV is definitely impossible cuz it can be detected and low flying.
If mini robbers can escape and land at ubin..you think can really detect??
i meaning scrambling jet fightersOriginally posted by LazerLordz:...your rambling all over the shop.AWACs can fly 24hours.If not why do countries invest in them?All you need is to allocate an overlapping schedule.
Watching does not mean really "see" them.Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:please lor ...
its either UAV or Spy satellites or spy planes...
cannot be spy satellite so has to be UAV to monitor them
unless we got spies..which is impossible
Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:ECM doesn't work 100% and A-MM doesn't always hit the missile
The last bet would be a ARMOR , if u got thicker armor , more lifes saved , thin armor more pple die
using a M1 Abrams and a Bionix as a example ,
which tank would u prefer to sit inside in time of a war?
A M1 tanks in which has been tested with RPG 7 and Bullets and cannons
or a locally built ST Bionix 17.5 tonnes newbie?
i'll take the M1 Tank , thank you =) just compare the thickness of the armor!
anyway the delta frigates are definitely going to be made of plastics..
anyway i believe the bionix was build to counter rifle shots and pistol fire
and not for countering RPG -7 ...
Anyone here did a TESTING of RPGs on Bionix?
care to share a little of the results?
my bet would be the rpg would completely vaporize the bionix
ISD? What ISD?Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:If armor don't work den ask SWAT team dun wear bullet proof vest lor..
since more energy needed and more strength and it hinders down the speed.
listening to MY's military net 24/7??
lol didn't know our ISD pple can listen and speak malay lol
dunno why leh... since the regulars left, a lot of pple talking cock around here...Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:Eh this is sgforums not my forums...
oi u wrong frequency la
our national language is ENGLISH Btw.
and btw commandos don't learn malay
Originally posted by branzzz:just to be objective, i don't think its absolutely impossible... its not just a grenade... its a HEAT warhead...
bionix get hit by an rpg will be destroyed? you think mindef is some dumb cock ah? doyou even know what rpg stands for? its a rocket-propelled-GRENADE.
if it hits a blackhawk's rotors, definatly will crash, but pls, a bionix? an ARMOURED-personel-carrier getting destroyed by a rpg? no way. and if you're thinking why armour a bionix and don't heavily armour a ship, you obviously can't compare shells and rpgs to harpoon missles.yup... its not impossible... trash the tracks, then slowly maul it to pieces. M113 is an ARMOURED personel carrier also... its well known that it can only withstand small-arms fire... up to 7.62mm...
oh...whats wrong?Originally posted by Arena:anyway for RSN to be efficient and to win in any conflict, i think the most important is the people it has...
With the current ship culture of some or most ship... I serious doubt the crew's loyalty and resolve... If u were ever in the Navy then u will know...
The competency of some crew's in their own vocation's system, eg. GFCS, C2 which are important in war situation are seriously lacking... And they are not juniors or NSF but regulars with ard 3 yrs of service...
Singapore's 1st tank u expect us to have super armor which can resist RPGOriginally posted by branzzz:sibeisuaykia, you're one big cock-talker. cannot train our guys in SIGINT to speak malay? even my chinese parents can speak malay. beside, even though they're malaysia, they also not as stupid as you to use malay in their military network. why do police wear bullet proof vests? because bullets can do damage to them. why don't ships have substantial armour? sorry ah, the battleship age was like 50years ago. missles of today are designed to do a pop-up manouvere before hitting the top or the superstructure of the ship, which would be super impractical to armour against missles. i guess only in your dreams could windows withstand an exocet's huge warhead. yes, awacs can stay airborne for a very long time, and with rotating shifts there is coverage 100% of the time, and that exactly is the reason why RSAF didn't get any fewer than 4 hawkeyes. oh, and yes, awacs can and do track sea and surface targets. how do you think the fokker 50s can fire their over the horizon harpoon missles? bionix get hit by an rpg will be destroyed? you think mindef is some dumb cock ah? doyou even know what rpg stands for? its a rocket-propelled-GRENADE. if it hits a blackhawk's rotors, definatly will crash, but pls, a bionix? an ARMOURED-personel-carrier getting destroyed by a rpg? no way. and if you're thinking why armour a bionix and don't heavily armour a ship, you obviously can't compare shells and rpgs to harpoon missles.
personally, one thing the RSN should look into and try to get is a sea based airborne attack unit. just like what the royal navy is doing by making the apache fully sea capable.
Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:the BX was designed and tested with survivability in mind... it CAN survive an RPG blast.
i will only believe you if Mindef tested a RPG on a bionix armor
or if i ever get to sit in 1 and survive a combat. "ever"
I believe armor now..is still important , but to certain extent, for example if courageous had better armor , its back would not be sheared offif the courageous had better armour, it will probably be underwater now. more armour = heavier, less nimble boat... the courageous was able to avoid a direct collission because it is light and agile...
BX is designed to survive a RPG blast..i know but did u really test it??Originally posted by CX:the BX was designed and tested with survivability in mind... it CAN survive an RPG blast.
u see and touch the BX, it LOOKS flimsy... but the way to defeat RPG is NOT with thicker armour... if u knew how a HEAT warhead works, u'll know exactly what that means.
its a known principle of warfare... bigger guns always leads to attempts to make better shields... eventually, the guns always wins. so the way to defeat the guns is to outsmart it, not to deflect
if the courageous had better armour, it will probably be underwater now. more armour = heavier, less nimble boat... the courageous was able to avoid a direct collission because it is light and agile...
a few seconds slower and it would have slammed into the hull of the ANI indonesia... SPLAT... like fly on a windscreen... thicker armour would've slowed it down and killed it.
Singapore's 1st tank u expect us to have super armor which can resist RPG
USA's tank building more den 50 years and still problems come out..
design no good etc etc
USA build tanks for 50 years..the m1 abrams oso will get quite damage in the side if get hit.
Singapore's 1 light armoured tank somemore and 1st one.
i saw the hell before, in army open house , not really that protective
i will only believe you if Mindef tested a RPG on a bionix armor
or if i ever get to sit in 1 and survive a combat. "ever"
BX is designed to survive a RPG blast..i know but did u really test it??wah, with these two statements you just contradicted yourself. you don't know how armour works but you touch can know it won't withstand. then suddenly you knew and tested other ppl's credibility. joker la you.
damn why not we secretly sell 20 of them to taiwan and if it gets destroy..
we will know the answer
Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:how many times do u have to piss all over yourself before someone tells u to hold it out when u pee???
BX is designed to survive a RPG blast..i know but did u really test it??
Courageous is nimble and agile definitely , thicker armour would slow it down , how about enough armor at that time so that it becomes slow so it can break before even coming close to ANL?u wanna redefine the laws of friction and inertia??? for your info, the only way a ship can stop is not by pulling on a handbrake like a car... the only way it can stop is by putting the screws in reverse... forget dropping anchor... at that speed, your anchor chain will break. u only drop anchor AFTER u stop...
lets say a aircarrier slammed into the hull of ANI indonesiaOriginally posted by CX:u wanna redefine the laws of friction and inertia??? for your info, the only way a ship can stop is not by pulling on a handbrake like a car... the only way it can stop is by putting the screws in reverse... forget dropping anchor... at that speed, your anchor chain will break. u only drop anchor AFTER u stop...
so under the best circumstances, it will take a few minutes before it will start to slow down... and the heavier the ship, the longer this will take.
the Courageous was fast. they were lucky to get away with only the stern sliced off. if they were slow, they would've slammed into the hull of the ANI Indonesia... no armour can help u oredy...