That's why with such an attitude in the regular cadre corps, whether junior or senior, generally still just want the big cushy rank or pay, and because of all these, we have never had anyone here with the equivalent of the attitude where even people with rank of colonel or general lead the charge in the battle and show the way for the men at the front, and by that, not just give the order, but to show what he wants the men to do by doing it himselfOriginally posted by LazerLordz:What matters in our armed forces today is not the amount of new-fangled toys we have, but how professional our regulars and NSFs are.Professionalism plays a big role in ensuring that the army remains as an effective institution in times of crisises, able to deal with threats in a capable manner, unlike all our common "army cock-up" experience.In the case of regulars, they should undergo a paradigm shift in their attitudes, instead of thinking that the Army is a rice bowl which will never crack, or should I say , harder to crack than the private sector.Many regulars sign on with the mindset that the risk element is low, and that Singapore might never go to war in their lifetime.When you have such attitudes amongst the professional soldiers, their thinking will infect the entire corps and slowly work its way to every nook and cranny.
In my NSF experience, I have seen us conscripts, be it men, specs or officers, being tasked a great deal more to do in our daily jobs, much more than the seniors.Why might this be so?Some may say IT revolution, the "lau cheks" may be quite unfamiliar with the new toys the Army is implementing, (remember that they are usually O-level holders or below, for the case of the Warrant Officers, which are mainly the leaders on the ground).Perhaps because of this inadequacy. they make use of us to perform their tasks.It's okay, we are under orders.However, what irks me is the main attitude amongst them that they think its their God-given right and an entitlement for them to have helpers like us, working on stuff that they should be working on.What is needed is appreciation and acknowledgment that we did a good job and we provided assistance and support.This is not a crusade against the senior specialists as a whole, but I'm trying to point out that many of us feel used, and that's where the morose and despondancy appears, when we do a great deal and we are not recognised.So much for ISO, MEA and all that bull, because if you were to go down to the ground, you will realise that all these are just paid lip-service and the Army , exemplified by the narcissists that have their insidious grip on the NSFs, demands commercial standards of production but pays and rewards in a 13th century penury system.
The old generation will pass on soon enough.In order for the rot to be stemmed, we should inculcate proper values in our younger regulars and have in place a stringent psychometrical evaluation and tests to analyse a prospective applicant's mind and character.We should not just accept any fit Tom, Dick or Harry.An motivated smaller and educated force is much better than a large but unmotivated and parasitical force.We owe the taxpayers this much.Let it sink in or we might have a crisis of faith in our green hands.
how do you know that their training is tougher than us? have you gone through it as well...For your info, Taiwan's term of conscription is only 1 year 8 months and being cut further. Their training has also been tapered off in terms of siongness..as for fighting a major war, tell me which of the 3 countries listed above have been involved in the past 35 years which is the main bulk of their conscripts now??Originally posted by Sardaukar:My contention is that we should aim for an Israeli,Korean or Taiwanese level of conscript training,as our training isn't churning out ppl of the former caliber as before.We should aim to train conscripts that can fight well,fight hard,have the mental and physical resilience and endurance necessary for their vocation and will be motivated when the need arises as well as flexible and adaptable.Thus my call for tougher training to increase the overall quality of the SAF,starting at the level of the soldier.
For god's sake,the Israelis have proven time and again that with the proper training,a conscript army can match and even outmatch at times regular armies,similarly the Koreans and Taiwanese have proven the efficacy of conscript training in their soldiers performance,though the cultures of both countries are very different from ours as they are driven and have a clearly defined threat facing them,whereas we are stuck in a state of peace.
What our culture in Singapore lacks is a military tradition and history,since we are still rather young and have never fought a major war,as well as a motivation lack,as there is no sense of threat and no clearly defined threat to us at this time.
Imo we face a possible threat of attack from unknown threats at anytime and should be as prepared as humanly possible to deal with them.We cannot afford to be neutral like the Swiss and they live in a very peaceable area of Europe.Our situation is rather different.
Just as there are known threats,there are known unknown threats.Similarly there are unknown threats waiting for an opening to strike.To echo that famous speech;there are known knowns,known unknowns and unknown unknowns,all of which we should be prepared for and take contingencies against,just in case they do happen to be threats.
starlight south ?Originally posted by Moxie:I had the chance to see the Taiwanese Artillery "take action" when I was in ROC in the mid-90's; we happened to end up sorta-sharing the same deployment ground.
Verdict: Gasak Buta (partly cuz they were younger conscripts & we were older reservists).
What is the meaning of Gasak Buta? So what happen? Could you please tell me more about it?Originally posted by Moxie:I had the chance to see the Taiwanese Artillery "take action" when I was in ROC in the mid-90's; we happened to end up sorta-sharing the same deployment ground.
Verdict: Gasak Buta (partly cuz they were younger conscripts & we were older reservists).
May be because Taiwanese are much smarter thats why they only need 1 year 8 months! Singaporean need 3 years!Originally posted by rancour5:how do you know that their training is tougher than us? have you gone through it as well...For your info, Taiwan's term of conscription is only 1 year 8 months and being cut further. Their training has also been tapered off in terms of siongness..as for fighting a major war, tell me which of the 3 countries listed above have been involved in the past 35 years which is the main bulk of their conscripts now??
Obviously you know know euff mat rockers in your kampong.Originally posted by want to know:What is the meaning of Gasak Buta? So what happen? Could you please tell me more about it?
Guess a young guy has got to learn how to phrase his questions in a more cordial manner.Thanx for words man.Originally posted by gonegoose:Sardaukar, in response to your original question, how do u qualify your statement that the training standard has fallen? Anecdotal evidence perhaps? I'm just curious.
and in response to your remarks about the Israelites (Koreans and Taiwanese soldiers...ermm wouldn't agree that they are well trained and well motivated... )and your perceived high regards for them, have you ever questioned their motivation for attaining such a high standard? For Israel, looking back into their country's formation, they have started off with peanuts and yet fought off their neighbours in 4 different instances (War of Independance, War of Attrition, 6-day War and of course the more well known Yom Kippur War). Why? was it because their trainer cadre were superior? Or jewish black magic perhaps? Of course not. it was the will to fight, they were fighting for their country!! As compared to their counterparts who by all counts had superior technology and larger number, were simply fighting cos they were told!
What am i saying? if and when the SAF needs to respond to a larger threat, we WILL rise to the occasion. Don't believe me? Ask the older reservists who were serving their in-camps in 1998, a yr when there was significant tension with our neighbour. How seriously they took their training! Don't assume for one second that all training takes place during your NSF cycle and you become little Rambos when you ORD. Its easy to criticise the current training methods, but if i were to promote you to ACGS (Trng) tmrw, you will understand the how complex/chaotic things can be.
I guess what i'm trying to do here is to tell you that the SAF is not an isolated organisation (not matter what the ppl inside thinks) and only after being in the organisation for a little while will you appreciate/understand why some things are done in this manner. and of course, by the time you ORDed, you would have grow a little wiser (not to say that you're stupid now or anything, don't take it the wrong way) and able to see the broader picture. One reason why your topic is drawing the amount of negative posts is due to the way this question was addressed.
I'm not going to dampen your spirit and your anticipation towards NS, in fact, i think its excellent! =) There are too many f**king cynics out there already, we certainly don't need another one!
You must consider in the event that the local military becomes very expeditionary in nature, you will never know when that will come. This means going beyond the state of general 'peace' within the immediate region and employing the conscript forces in theatres of action that may or may not be of high intensity conflict in nature, but nonetheless trying on the psyche of the individual.Originally posted by gonegoose:Sardaukar, in response to your original question, how do u qualify your statement that the training standard has fallen? Anecdotal evidence perhaps? I'm just curious.
and in response to your remarks about the Israelites (Koreans and Taiwanese soldiers...ermm wouldn't agree that they are well trained and well motivated... )and your perceived high regards for them, have you ever questioned their motivation for attaining such a high standard? For Israel, looking back into their country's formation, they have started off with peanuts and yet fought off their neighbours in 4 different instances (War of Independance, War of Attrition, 6-day War and of course the more well known Yom Kippur War). Why? was it because their trainer cadre were superior? Or jewish black magic perhaps? Of course not. it was the will to fight, they were fighting for their country!! As compared to their counterparts who by all counts had superior technology and larger number, were simply fighting cos they were told!
What am i saying? if and when the SAF needs to respond to a larger threat, we WILL rise to the occasion. Don't believe me? Ask the older reservists who were serving their in-camps in 1998, a yr when there was significant tension with our neighbour. How seriously they took their training! Don't assume for one second that all training takes place during your NSF cycle and you become little Rambos when you ORD. Its easy to criticise the current training methods, but if i were to promote you to ACGS (Trng) tmrw, you will understand the how complex/chaotic things can be.
I guess what i'm trying to do here is to tell you that the SAF is not an isolated organisation (not matter what the ppl inside thinks) and only after being in the organisation for a little while will you appreciate/understand why some things are done in this manner. and of course, by the time you ORDed, you would have grow a little wiser (not to say that you're stupid now or anything, don't take it the wrong way) and able to see the broader picture. One reason why your topic is drawing the amount of negative posts is due to the way this question was addressed.
I'm not going to dampen your spirit and your anticipation towards NS, in fact, i think its excellent! =) There are too many f**king cynics out there already, we certainly don't need another one!
Hehe I remember the enthusiasm I myself had before enlistment. Remember the disappointment when I didn't make CDO but went to Tekong for BMT instead. The reason I was so garang was that because of the seniors in my uniform group in my sec sch days kind of inspired me. My seniors and instructors all "zhai kar zhai chiu" (not your average sec4 kpkb power-abusing idiot), some were serving in the army as CDO, some even ORD liao. All damn fit fellars. Sometimes when they tulan will tekan us army style, but always they tekan with reason. Quite unlike those young sec3 sec4 gina in other uniform groups that tekan you for stupid reasons, and make you do ridiculous physical punishments that they themselves cannot do. During PT they did exactly the same things as us instead of standing there looking like kings.Originally posted by Sardaukar:I decided long ago that if I was going to serve anyway,might as well approach it as an adventure and a challenge.see how it goes.already went for all the testing as part of pre enlistment and PES A,also opted for Commandos or Guards,as in I approached the officer at the CMPB release counter after all the testing and they will consider my request.
Until after you enlist. No offense but after you enlist, you might be one of the first that's thankful that the govt reduced the serving time to 2 years. And as for me, I'm just glad my 2.5 yrs service is over.Originally posted by Sardaukar:This goes not only for physical training but for vocational training as well.I am of the opinion that a shorter time frame of 2 years is insufficient for training people in such vocations as Guards,Commandos or NDU,which are our elite forces.
We need to arrest this fall now and give more discretion to the PTIs,NCOs and PCs in regards to the training,to train their soldiers as they see fit,within limits that will test,harden and challenge our conscripts troops,before we lose our advantage over other armed forces within the region.
I've never seen the Koreans or the Israelis, but I have fought against the Taiwanese. And frankly if you ask me, any army that charges uphill without stopping against a hilltop position fortified with con-wire with mgs saws all already dug in in broad daylight has a lot to learn. As usual we "lost" because SAF says the attackers always win. In any case, either the taiwanese tactics are all outdated, or we fought against the worst the taiwanese had to offer.Originally posted by Sardaukar:My contention is that we should aim for an Israeli,Korean or Taiwanese level of conscript training,as our training isn't churning out ppl of the former caliber as before.We should aim to train conscripts that can fight well,fight hard,have the mental and physical resilience and endurance necessary for their vocation and will be motivated when the need arises as well as flexible and adaptable.Thus my call for tougher training to increase the overall quality of the SAF,starting at the level of the soldier.
Originally posted by meander:Does that mean when Singaporean soldier fought against the Taiwanese soldier. Singaporean always lost! Why? Are Singaporean soldier very lousy?
I've never seen the Koreans or the Israelis, but I have fought against the Taiwanese. And frankly if you ask me, any army that charges uphill without stopping against a hilltop position fortified with con-wire with mgs saws all already dug in [b]in broad daylight has a lot to learn. As usual we "lost" because SAF says the attackers always win. In any case, either the taiwanese tactics are all outdated, or we fought against the worst the taiwanese had to offer.
But i have to say the taiwanese are a bunch of funny people. We were trading fire and both sides were damn tired after chasing one another for the entire ridge line. Then suddenly this taiwan fellar whipped out a camera and asked us to take a photo for and later with them!! Anyway we didn't give a f*** coz our OC/CO were stretched too damn far away to see. Wahahahaa[/b]
i can only reply you this: this is not going to happen anytime soon. sure technology has enabled the automation of quite a fair number of things such that less manpower is required, but firstly, there are very many things you cannot automate fully. control of the battlefield can be had only by physical presence; and have you seen any robot infantrymen before? secondly, robots almost always need human controllers - they can operate almost (even then not fully) autonomously in, say, factory applications but battlefield robots need a very different subset of skills, the software for which is still a long way off in coming.Originally posted by dumbdumb!:i can only say something. warfare is going to revolutionalized using technology, cyber warfare, robots etc. thats the main reason why it takes shorter time lor. soon all soldiers will be managers of the warfield. not chionging.
First of all, want to know, are you from Singapore ? Have you served in a singaporean combat unit before ?
Originally posted by want to know:
Does that mean when Singaporean soldier fought against the Taiwanese soldier. Singaporean always lost! Why? Are Singaporean soldier very lousy?
Why do you said that the Taiwanese tactics are all outdated? Are Taiwanese soldier also very lousy?
I visited the PLA military forum people there have very low opinion of Taiwanese soldier? They like to make fun and also make sarcastic remark of Taiwanese soldier? What will happen when China invade Taiwan? Do you take Taiwan will lose very easily. China will be able to take back Taiwan within days!
Have any of you fought against Mainland Chinese soldier before? If given a chance would you want?
Thank You For Answering My Questions