It call the C-Mag.Originally posted by LazerLordz:SOPMOD M4 Accessory Kit
Note the drum magazine fitted to this fine specimen.

Originally posted by LazerLordz:Interesting.Anyone here saw the SAR21 variant showcased at AA 2004?The one with the P-Rail, Front Grip, reflex Red-Dot sights and the GL attached.The weight distribution seems quite unbalanced.Unloaded, it feels clumsy to carry.Anyway, there are SAR21s on sale in USA, more for local police departments...That's what I heard so far.

1st point: err. aren't we on combat alert too? same thing what. if the button is pressed, our phones ring and off we go. and surely the saf isn't keeping a hidden stockpile of gear for use only in war right? what we have now - which isn't much - is what we're going into combat with if the button is really pressed.Originally posted by John Ching:Yes, the Australian guys did carry alot of stuff but also bought alot of stuff locally in S'pore.
Anyway, the reason they carry so much stuff is because they are on combat alert. Meaning that they are ready to deploy at the ring of the phone, very much like the U.S & British, Marines. BTW, when the U.S Marines were here in S'pore they had twice that amount of gears & a warship to back them up.
But its true, SAF only deploy new stuff when VIP are here but we can't blame them as this is part of DSTA, S'pore Aero Space, etc, control. To market their stuff & sell.
The plus side though is that most of our troops are willing to purchase their own personal gears for their duties & SAF/ MINDEF has yet to make a fuss about it. Just check out the Cdos' gear today during the NDP. Some of their stuff can be found at this local shop known as SHEARs TECHNOLOGY, at beach road opposite the old 1PDF camp.![]()
i think if you want high-speed-low-drag gear you should be spending the appropriate amount of cash to get it, and i must say that BHI is a good brand although there are many others out there(eagle industries, tactical tailor, s.o.e., paraclete, safariland, kifaru, maxpedition etc)Originally posted by quivalen:3. why should SAF/MINDEF make a fuss about troopers buying their own gear? saves them money...in any case, generally only regulars buy their own gear. no point shelling out $96 for a pair of blackhawk SBO straps ( just the shoulder straps! ) or similar prices for a single SBO back pouch if you're only going to be using it for a year or two. anyway is it common for regs from other units to buy additional personal gear? there aren't even all that many regs in cdo who buy them...are you sure "most of our troops" are willing to buy all that? i know i certainly am not, not on my measly nsf pay...
well i'm not so sure about this point but does the SAF fund their research? its not as if they're an independent company. if that was the case then yeah obviously profit would be their main motive and and as such they'd want to advertise to foreigners. but if their primary objective is to design for the saf then....Originally posted by John Ching:Aren't we on alert stats? Good question. But you already know the answer to that, SAF is always putting on show what, wayang.
Yes, DSTA & ST are developing stuff for SAF but that doesn't mean it sells only to SAF. Remember, they are making aloss selling only to SAF.
obviously. what i was trying to say was that presumably commandos are the most likely to purchase such gear 1. because they're most likely to have an actual need for it. and 2. well they are paid somewhat better although this is really quite secondary. this point is arguable - that's just what i'm presuming and i'd be interested to know if many regs in other units do in fact shell out dough on custom gear,As for purchasing gears, its up to individual really to decide if he should or should not purchase the gear. But here's an info that might amaze you, U.S military doesn't issue blackhawk gears to all its armed forces.[/quote]
uhm. i never said they do. i mentioned only australian commandos. their gear is issued. our commandos are not. that's my point.[quote] And cdos aren't the only regular force in SAF. Hopefully you get to visit other units during your 2yrs of service.![]()
go blackhawkindustries.com, tell u me wat u want and i let u know the price, note that it will take a month or so cos shipping from US over to here is abt 11-14 days and my friend not very active with email. sure-fire no use one lah, u are better off putting a maglight unless u are authorised to integrate the SF into ur weapon whereby the switch is a rectangular button on the armguard...like in mp-5.Originally posted by palmerised:i think if you want high-speed-low-drag gear you should be spending the appropriate amount of cash to get it, and i must say that BHI is a good brand although there are many others out there(eagle industries, tactical tailor, s.o.e., paraclete, safariland, kifaru, maxpedition etc)
anyway the material that their gear is made from is excellent, especially the ones from nytaeon, which is virtually untearable by hand. i have bought a couple of stuff from sheares and they seem ok. bought my surefire there.. woohoo it rocks man..
CHUNYONG: intro me the lobang pleeease? i need my HSLD gear but sheares is the only officail supplier of bhi gear in asia.
bah it's ok man.. need it like now.. haa thanks anyway. if i need anth ill just give you a buzz. anyway i don't really like maglites. ever since secondary school i have been using them for trips and all that and personally i find that their bulbs die out fast, esp from extensive usage. also the maglite isn't that bright. also, maglite isn't really water proof. if you open the head cap, you'll notice that the plastic lens that is covering the bulb comes out easily, and isn't secured by an o-ring or some other method. surefire is way better if you asked me.. and about the switch, you're referring to the pressure-switch right?Originally posted by chunyong:go blackhawkindustries.com, tell u me wat u want and i let u know the price, note that it will take a month or so cos shipping from US over to here is abt 11-14 days and my friend not very active with email. sure-fire no use one lah, u are better off putting a maglight unless u are authorised to integrate the SF into ur weapon whereby the switch is a rectangular button on the armguard...like in mp-5.
surefire too ex to buy here lah.....dun really need it also. if required, u will be provided with it liao mah..Originally posted by palmerised:bah it's ok man.. need it like now.. haa thanks anyway. if i need anth ill just give you a buzz. anyway i don't really like maglites. ever since secondary school i have been using them for trips and all that and personally i find that their bulbs die out fast, esp from extensive usage. also the maglite isn't that bright. also, maglite isn't really water proof. if you open the head cap, you'll notice that the plastic lens that is covering the bulb comes out easily, and isn't secured by an o-ring or some other method. surefire is way better if you asked me.. and about the switch, you're referring to the pressure-switch right?
SUREFIREs or STREAMLIGHTs. but i hgihly reccomend surefire.. have the m2 centurion now and i tell you it rocks.Originally posted by mika14:hiz!
got any better brands of torchlight to use besides Maglite?
i agree that Maglites couldn't last long.
......along with Trijicon ACOG, Reflex optics and a nightvision sight. This kit was designed to be configurable (modular) for various missions and the kit is in service right now with Special Operations units (though many operators have dumped the Trijicon Reflex sight for Aimpoint red dot sights and EOTech holographic sights).LazerLordz, don't forget the compact ACOG. Standard issue is a set of the ACOG, compact ACOG and the Reflex. Absolutely true that a lot of operators prefer the Aimpoint and the EOTech is fast catching up.
....and their Selective Integrated Rail (SIR) system, along with Lewis Machine & ToolIf I can find that SWAT Magazine article by Pat Rogers about the new LMT upper, I'll try and post a link.
I absolutely love this phrase. its hilarious. "teh neh neh equipment"Originally posted by quivalen:cannot stand the saf man.
when it comes to open houses and big-shots visiting then suddenly all the teh neh neh equipment appears from nowhere, whereas the end users - the people on the sharp end - have never touched it before.