Brings back memories of an incident when I was in 23SA. During a battalion exercise, a gun commander was acting BSM for his battery (not mine thank goodness). After O Group and briefed about the route, he somehow managed to make a wrong turn and ended up at the Causeway. The convoy that he led had to make a U-turn at the Singapore custom checkpoint. I wished I could have seen the look of the Malaysians' faces as the gun battery went past the checkpointOriginally posted by Johnston:Yes, last i looked, 21 SA was very very near johor. So near, they just had to cross the causeway.
The E-3 AWACS is built on a 707 airframe.Originally posted by tripwire:lastly, since when did airliners start carrying radars? somemore long range ones too? they minute they switch on their radar to look for the hawkeye, they are dead meat.![]()
Wow.Originally posted by dragonstar:The convoy that he led had to make a U-turn at the Singapore custom checkpoint. I wished I could have seen the look of the Malaysians' faces as the gun battery went past the checkpoint.
The correct military terms to apply to your "plan" are.Originally posted by tripwire:MIG-29 i use it to protect skies..SU-30 for attacking...then i would use F/A-18 to chiong CNB/TNB
Why not equip the A4s to perform Wild Weasel and be JDAM platforms to do arty suppression missions against the Astros battery.They are nimble bombers, able to twist their way around a tight jungle treetop cover.But there might be problems with the aging airframe that might make this a pipe dream but its worth a ponder.Astros batteries need a serious logistical involvement, therefore we do not need to attack the rockets , just target the main supply route, and disrupt comms to the radar sections.Originally posted by tripwire:IF i were malaysian CDO , i wouldn't wanna land my troops in singapore..
rather i would use jernas + astros and fire ..to protect it from APACHES..
and F-16
(The reason why i wouldn't land my troops in singapore because it's stupid..
defense is pretty strong..)
with the malaysian commandos , i will protect the astros by establishing a safe perimeter of 10km..
---------------------
hey stupid... i can still blow the crap out of those astros safely even if you surround them with 1 million JERNAS or whatever SHORAD or VSHORAD you have in your underwears.... since RSAF got LONGSHOT with a range of nearly 100km... but then again... a maverick missile with a range of 27km would do just as well, since the planes would remain beyond the reach of your SAMs.
but then again... maybe we might wanna try STORMSHADOW, SLAMER or watever SOW we getting with the NGF, but then again... astros arent really such valuble targets for us to waste such good missiles on.
perhaps the local firefly which is currently under development could be used instead if ST can mass produce them cheap like firecrackers.
but all the above are wasteful, we will just use the A-4 with maverick, and leave the falcons for other more important jobs.![]()
My Lord, your post is wasted on Mr SBSK.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Why not equip the A4s to perform Wild Weasel and be JDAM platforms to do arty suppression missions against the Astros battery.They
Astros batteries need a serious logistical involvement, therefore we do not need to attack the rockets , just target the main supply route, and disrupt comms to the radar sections.
i would leave the arty side to you, i am from the infantry side, i doubt he understands basic infantry movementOriginally posted by Johnston:you dont come and sian us ok.
I used to be in Artillery, i am quite sure you cannot here and now tell us what systems the Singapore Artillery use, or have used, or are going to use, or are thinking of using.
Can you tell us what is the main difference between Fh2000 and Fh88?
Besides caliber/range, there is one obvious external difference.
our Changi naval base is built next to the Changi airforce base... to get to the CNB, you will need to consider the airdefence and intercepts coming from CAB.Originally posted by Johnston:The correct military terms to apply to your "plan" are.
I would use MIG-29 Fulcrums for top cover, and CAP, while the force of SU-30s would be loaded for CAS missions and used to support my ground forces. The F/A-18s will be used solely to attack the naval bases, just so the RSN cannot deploy anything.
urh.. you should put it this way.. the changi air base is built next to the changi naval base and not the other way round.Originally posted by tripwire:our Changi naval base is built next to the Changi airforce base... to get to the CNB, you will need to consider the airdefence and intercepts coming from CAB.
with only 8 hornets to spare... and other limited air assets in RMAF, it would be alot wiser to keep all their planes for air intercept against RSAF attack sorties then throw away their precious few aircraft into the sea.
it doesnt matter, becaue i can predict that he will tell us:Originally posted by Geforce3:i would leave the arty side to you, i am from the infantry side, i doubt he understands basic infantry movement
you are indeed a gunner.. there are more to it than just some artillery bombardment.Originally posted by Johnston:it doesnt matter, becaue i can predict that he will tell us:
yah the difference is that one is newer and one is older
also one is 39 cal , while the other is 52cal.
longer range, shorter range lah!
one heavier, one lighter
wahahahahahah see i know so much kekekekeke.
????Originally posted by YI:you are indeed a gunner.. there are more to it than just some artillery bombardment.
liew eh, not all recs go SAs mah, some from tekong, some for SIR, some from SCE and SARs mahOriginally posted by Johnston:????
Wo bu kan dang.
We're still anxiously awaiting for his answer on "The main external difference between FH2K and FH88".
Even a Chow Recruit after the 1st week of BMT knows the difference if he has a sharp eye.
but does he?
Correction.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Haha.Yes , it's very obvious.I'm no gunner though.
unless the person concerned is a signed-on gunner, don't think anyone will be interested to look up information on even the Primus since they will have no idea where they will be assigned to in the first place.Originally posted by Johnston:Correction.
An Artillery Mono-Intake recruit, if he is sharp-eyed and ACTUALLY concerned about being a good gunner, will have studied the guns externally even in PTP, or just basic BMT. Not the Gunner's Cse.
There is one fricking big external difference and you dont even have to be a trained gunner to notice it.
actually hor... that changi area is now the fortress of singapore..Originally posted by YI:urh.. you should put it this way.. the changi air base is built next to the changi naval base and not the other way round.![]()
aster sams are useless against astro's rockets, since they travel much much faster than the Surface to Surface missles or Air to Surface misslesOriginally posted by tripwire:actually hor... that changi area is now the fortress of singapore..
you have the CNB, CAFB and Changi airport all 3 in the same place.
come war, malaysia astros wont dare to surprise hit changi AFB because very high chance sure hit changi airport with the tens of thoudsands of foreigners and hundreds of foreign airliner plus the large number of civilians there.
without surprise astro attack on all the usable airfields of RSAF.... their defeat is but a matter of time.
furthermore, the CNB would have constant visits by foreign major naval powers like USA, JAPAN, INDIA and maybe even PRC. if their missile suay suay hit an american carriers....![]()
worst yet... the 3 runways at changi can easily allow RSAF to launch fighters by the squadrons simultaneously.
while the Formidable FFG with their aster30 would create an incredible air defence umbrella for RSAF.
each formidable FFG aster SAMs can simultaneously launch and track up to 24 targets, 6 FFG and you can have up to a staggering.. 144 aster missiles in the air locking onto 144 enemy aircraft or astros 2 rockets.
how many astros 2 rockets can they fire per salvo?![]()
thats not including the I-hawks and other SAMs that may be placed at changi AFB.
those RMAF pilots thinking of doing a bombing run on changi must be either stupid or didnt know what they are getting themselves into....![]()