Originally posted by Obersturmfuhrer:[/b]
[b]
Which country's intel agency would not detect the transportation of a nuclear transportation device? Components can be disassembled yes but the parts are all controlled and most are monitored by the CIA. An ICBM is not something you can hide in a briefcase.
And Y would we need to get one if we dun have LONG DISTANCE targets? Assuming China declares war (idiotic fantasy), which countries would they have to go thru. If you're gonna reply by sea, start reading up on your politics. Their agenda is Taiwan, not us.You think China capable of launching large scale amphibious assault on us why not settle their Taiwan headache first. Still adamant on getting nuke is a good thing? Read:
[b]BIG FAT WASTE OF MONEY[/b]
Can't agree with you more. Let's hope that all your postings educate this boy, and he does not go out and have similar discussions with any foreigners.Originally posted by esesce:Now you are just plain contradicting yourself. First you said that if China attacks S'pore we can launch a nuke at them. Then now you claim you were just giving an example of how a foreign power could occupy US not say China. WTF??? Seems like you don't even know what you yourself are babbling about.
And please lah, S'pore is so small. Where the hell are you going to store a nuke? And if the nuke should leak, the entire island will be wiped out in less than 48 hours. Not too bright a suggestion is it?
Sigh! If you want to engage in fantasies that's fine. Start a new thread & go & fantasise there all you want. Don't ruin this thread which is SUPPOSED to be about amphibious capabilities.
You are trying to make yourself sound real professional by talking about military stuff as if you're so familiar with it. But the crux of your views show just how infantile your thinking is.
so far it hasnt and most of us have given upOriginally posted by sgdiehard:Can't agree with you more. Let's hope that all your postings educate this boy, and he does not go out and have similar discussions with any foreigners.
God forbid! If he talks to foreigners like that, they might think all S'poreans are as mindless as that.Originally posted by sgdiehard:Can't agree with you more. Let's hope that all your postings educate this boy, and he does not go out and have similar discussions with any foreigners.
Singapore confirm no nukes but didnt disclosed that we do not have 'SILVER BULLETS'.Originally posted by esesce:Now you are just plain contradicting yourself. First you said that if China attacks S'pore we can launch a nuke at them. Then now you claim you were just giving an example of how a foreign power could occupy US not say China. WTF??? Seems like you don't even know what you yourself are babbling about.
And please lah, S'pore is so small. Where the hell are you going to store a nuke? And if the nuke should leak, the entire island will be wiped out in less than 48 hours. Not too bright a suggestion is it?
Sigh! If you want to engage in fantasies that's fine. Start a new thread & go & fantasise there all you want. Don't ruin this thread which is SUPPOSED to be about amphibious capabilities.
You are trying to make yourself sound real professional by talking about military stuff as if you're so familiar with it. But the crux of your views show just how infantile your thinking is.
Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:[/b]
[b]Please lor who says 1 nuke is the size of 1 football field?
Just imagine we hire over 10,000 researchers , and we only come up with 2 or 3 products every year, and don't tell me u need 3,000 researchers for 1 product? not adding in ST's 12,000 personnel? Surely some will be used for the silver bullet?
well brother... i share your sentimentsOriginally posted by Obersturmfuhrer:There just isn't any hint of realistic or logical reasoning in this guy.All we're getting is fantasy. Can we shut this down?
ive been reading this thread..wondering if i shld add some of my comment..Originally posted by sgdiehard:Can't agree with you more. Let's hope that all your postings educate this boy, and he does not go out and have similar discussions with any foreigners.
If you are in service now, you would see lots of incompetent NSF officers.I have the misfortune of having to serve with one.He's younger than me and has all these weird ideas about changing the way we run things, and they all sound good if taken alone but ludicrous when applied in the context of my Coy.Do I have a say?I can , but he won't listen.Would a self-professed expert listen to advice from ppl who have served just a bit more time than him?Nah.Originally posted by NathanG5:ive been reading this thread..wondering if i shld add some of my comment..
im starting to fear for our future...
if this guy become a SAF officer in future..im starting to pity those under him next time..
it is very obvious that he got no regard for human life..he think he can churn out hundred n hundred of grenadier n grunt just by harvesting tiberium???
im starting to see a trend in either SAF or military nuts forum...
kids are starting to invade both corners...well..i dun mind to have them around..if they just use abit of their common sense..
n things are going bad running 2 side..one side we have people like our CnC expert our very own damn bad luck boy n garang gang n on the other we have kengkia n keng gang who are trying very hard to get exempt from NS or get a downgrade..especially their leader who is trying to declare gay..
looking on both side..our future is bleak..when the last of Old Sch SAF NSmen ROD...
So sad but too oftern true.Originally posted by LazerLordz:If you are in service now, you would see lots of incompetent NSF officers.I have the misfortune of having to serve with one.He's younger than me and has all these weird ideas about changing the way we run things, and they all sound good if taken alone but ludicrous when applied in the context of my Coy.Do I have a say?I can , but he won't listen.Would a self-professed expert listen to advice from ppl who have served just a bit more time than him?Nah.
Malaysia has a population of 220 million? Anyway, most still do not have the indication of defending Malaysia especially the chinese as of the traditional bias towards NS. This is still in their minds. My relatives in Malaysia have this to say (I'm the only Singaporean in the family)Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:Listen to what in the first place?
You all are born in the generation of 70's and your way of doing things range back to the 80's and 90's
Total Defense means a full spectrum defense, maybe im having the sort of illusion that im staying in United states, but whateva, im just considering the same PAC-III Missile batteries mount on our air-bases , and the sales of all other AA stuff into other countries through ST.
No Aircraft Carrier , but long range strike capability provided by KC-135 ,
with some SLAM-ERs,
I do understand what you all are saying , regarding the feasability stuff , etc...
if you all are saying that there's peace for us , i don't think so.
There seems to be pro's and con's to every situation.
For Israel owning a nuke
-Prevent extermination of it's population
-Block from being bullied
Not
-Global Instability
-Fear of trading with it
I also don't understand why, USA , owning over 6,000 ICBMs would be so afraid of small countries like Iraq threatening it , or Israel.
Even for Singapore , you might argue that Singapore is already well defended
not much need to boost any stuffs , mights well disband the arm forces in peacetime? tomorrow you can't tell whether the armed forces will face a challenge or not...
1 thing which we must know
Balance of power between Singapore and Indonesia and M'sia
is getting narrower in the future, we must acknowledge it , after
all those corruption ends , their almost 220 million total population is gonna be more advantageous then us in the end , its awakening dragon.
1 Reason to illustrate this point is in the M.E , just look at IL and it's neighbours , Egypt and S.A all has latest F-16 jets, UAE with 80 block-60 F-16,
Egypt with over 400+ M1 Abrams , just imagine , do you think IL can survive a combined assault on it's 6 million population??
Answer is No, therefore to block off the combined assault nuke will have to be used as a deterrent. The reason why it cannot say no is because national security will be threatened. Cannot say yes because will have instability.
Sooner or later , we will face up to the fact that they will progress,
The Reason Why IL managed to progress so much is that
in 1970's the countries around it, Syria and Egypt were not using up-to-date weapons, now Egypt almost has the same kind of weapons they using.
NO more thing such as balance of power, Countries with higher population will ultimately be the winner in the end...
Conclusion : Singapore Armed Forces can maintain it's balance of power over it's neighbours for perhaps some years to come, but it must note down that the balance of power will 1 day tilt towards the others , due to higher population , and more contribution towards GDP
(Just like Normal tech and acad Vs Special stream, special stream go university faster, normal tech and acad slow, but 1 day will catch up with them, if ever.)
When the balance of powers tilts , thats when u panic , learn from Country X
I believe in this view. But you need to have educated troops to operate as well. Why I say this is because their RMAF pilots have to go through 1 year of english training which is stupid to our view. Also, they need to have more as their size demands it.Originally posted by foxtrout8:I do see that in the future, Singapore might need a nuclear weapon as a margaining card on the table when the strategic balance between Singapore and our neighbours get off balance, disadvantage to our side.
Eg. Malaysia can purchase in the future 50+ Astros2 system which can simultaneously in salvos blanket Singapore. Previously when they have 18 Astros, we purchase 20 Apaches as the next step, however when Malaysia purchased 50+ Astros, it is beyond our capability to purchase 100+ Apaches.
Thus you see there will be a limit to Singapore in terms of balancing ourselve by a conventional weapon to coventional weapon challenge. In my case of 50+ Astros, it is clear that malaysia have shear advantage over us, something as good as them having a WMD and we have none. I do see that in the future, for the sake of balancing the balance, we might just have to result in having non-conventional weapons against our neighbours overwhemming strength of conventional weapons.
In simple sense, if malaysia can have the capability to level Singapore, we must have the capability to level their's as a form of MAD deterrence. Many people will highly that malaysia might go nuclear as a result, which is yet detrimental to our balance. However i disagree. I do not see a difference between Malaysia having 50 Astros2 and 1 nuclear weapon (other than the political consequences and the military strategies involve), thus i do not see why their introduction of 1 nuclear warhead or more as a result of our introduction on 1 nuclear warhead or more, going to be detrimental to the balance as square one.
I think the nuclear weapon that we might have in the future got to be a strategic scarecrow. One might not be a nuclear scientist to know of the negatives of a nuclear fallout, thus eventhough we launch our nuclear weapon to neutralise our enemy's strategic weapon (in the case of 50+ Astros), we are still in the silent spring as our enemy. Thus i see that politicians both sides must see that the 50 Astro2 is as a form of deterrence as well as the nuclear weapon, because mutual destruction is never a continuation of policy.
Thus unless the strategic balance can balance using conventional weapons, Singapore might have to go nuclear if no conventional alternative is beneficial to us.
I think my post is to clear the sceptism that Singapore do not need nukes. Anyway, nice to know you share my views.Originally posted by sbst275:I believe in this view. But you need to have educated troops to operate as well. Why I say this is because their RMAF pilots have to go through 1 year of english training which is stupid to our view. Also, they need to have more as their size demands it.
Their mindset also have to change. RMAF cannot still use British Hawk 100 for fighter operation when it is a training jet. Only Malaysia is treating it like a fighter jet which is useless (Speed is less than Mach 1 and limited weapons)