Originally posted by tspg:Totally UNTRUE! My father's a M'sian & I did my NS in the army. During my BMT, one of our instructors was a M'sian (S'pore PR). At my unit, my PS was an Indonesian (S'pore PR). Who says if you have relations in neighbouring countries u are not deployed in SAF?
[b]This is unofficial.
Based on what I know SG citizens who have relations in neighbouring countries are normally not deployed in the armed forces. This is not a question of their loyalty to the country. It is to prevent the situation of "brother fighting against brothers" if conflict were to arise.
To me it doesnt matter where you serve. It can be in the armed forces, police or civil defence you are still doing your part for your country.
Not everyone of course. Its a general guidline. Depends on where you are posted to and the level of security clearance required.Originally posted by esesce:Totally UNTRUE! My father's a M'sian & I did my NS in the army. During my BMT, one of our instructors was a M'sian (S'pore PR). At my unit, my PS was an Indonesian (S'pore PR). Who says if you have relations in neighbouring countries u are not deployed in SAF?![]()
I dun think the topic starter is trying to fan any racial sentiments here. He just young and uncertain about his future. Having a bit of an identity crisis. Be a bit more accommodating lah.Originally posted by esesce:I really wonder what's the reason behind your frequent race related threads.
Its just that if you'd notice, quite a few of his posts are about race & we're just wondering why he keeps harping on race as well as allegations that Malays are not allowed in so & so unit.Originally posted by tspg:I dun think the topic starter is trying to fan any racial sentiments here. He just young and uncertain about his future. Having a bit of an identity crisis. Be a bit more accommodating lah.
I know. I have seen his other postings. I know a racist when I see one. His feelings and concerns are similar to that felt by many minorities although they may not voice them out.Originally posted by esesce:Its just that if you'd notice, quite a few of his posts are about race & we're just wondering why he keeps harping on race as well as allegations that Malays are not allowed in so & so unit.
This reminds me of this joker in our platoon who would always use race as an excuse. If he kena extra, he says its due to racism. If he kena scolded, he says its due to his race. Bloody wanker!!Originally posted by Moxie:I worry more that you'll end up rationalizing about perceived racial slights if you don't end up with the combat formation you want.
Not to worry, the NSF drill instructors should knock some sense into ya ~lol~
You'd do better to appreciate the work that everyone does.Do not slight clerks just because they fall short of your garang ways.You will regret when you piss off the clerks in the unit you end up in the future.If the unit is a car, the clerks are the gears that move the unit.You need to serve NS first and I 'm pretty sure you might take back half of what you espouse today.No offence, i'm beginning to see a trend in your post.You seem to feel the need to get into CDO or GDS just to make yourself believe that your race will not be a hindrance in this nation.I hope you really learn to humble and wise up, it's for your own good.Originally posted by Sardaukar:Why should I try to keng just because I don't end up in the combat formation of my choice?If I don't get it,then its my loss,but that's the way life is.Just try and do the best in the vocation they decide to put me in.I just don't want to end up a clerk stuck in an air conditioned office pushing paper all day.
As for racism,it happens.from personal experience,racism is rare in Sg but it occurs.happens in any country.
Had this same problem at Uni in UK, S African used "racism" banner (this was before N Mandela become free) at every possible opportunity, he was hopeless in everything he did all the time trying to use Apatheid as a sympathy card to open all doors. He was largely ignored when S Africa become free, no more song to sing.Originally posted by esesce:This reminds me of this joker in our platoon who would always use race as an excuse. If he kena extra, he says its due to racism. If he kena scolded, he says its due to his race. Bloody wanker!!![]()