Originally posted by wuming78:isit going to replace the LAW as the section estab wpn, or the 84?
and damn it sure looks bulky and heavy! pity the matador gunners...
well according to the article above it replaces LAW and not 84.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):if not change to the section then all the law gunner siao already lor...but 84mm gunner happy lor.... but... it's cannot be reloaded right?? so can replace 84 too meh?
ok.... but then law gunner siao already lor... look very THICK too...Originally posted by wuming78:well according to the article above it replaces LAW and not 84.
in the past, during training, LAW gunners carry dummy LAWs - the blue coloured tubes. and these tubes always knock on the soldier's head hard when he needs to prone down quickly upon contact, since one usually slings the tube around the shoulder.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):ok.... but then law gunner siao already lor... look very THICK too...![]()
ya lor.. that is wat mi think too....it look as thick as 84 somemore... although not as heavy... but... 2 in each section???? good luck lor...Originally posted by wuming78:in the past, during training, LAW gunners carry dummy LAWs - the blue coloured tubes. and these tubes always knock on the soldier's head hard when he needs to prone down quickly upon contact, since one usually slings the tube around the shoulder.
now its this 8.9 kg giant... imagine suffering a knock from that!![]()

Two men team ? Take turns to carry. One spotter one firer.Originally posted by wuming78:isit going to replace the LAW as the section estab wpn, or the 84?
and damn it sure looks bulky and heavy! pity the matador gunners...
is tis the real weapon or the dummy 1??Originally posted by foga:
Yes, the gun is quite old, but then even the US Rangers are using it (a lighter version) .. what you think?Originally posted by tvdog:Forgive my ignorance but isn't the Carl Gustav 84mm recoiless rifle quite old and obsolete by now?
I thought the warhead cannot penetrate front glacis plate of most modern MBT either. I thought the SPIKE, MILAN, and whatever Anti-Tank Guided Missile systems are supposed to have replaced the 84mm even at Battalion level?
Especially now that the disposable LAW at section level is already a modern 90mm warhead, what use is the support company if they have a 84mm old-fashioned recoiless rifle
it may be old fashion but it reloadable unlike the LAW or matador, true it cannot penetrate MBT armor but light armor vehicles it still can handle.Originally posted by tvdog:Forgive my ignorance but isn't the Carl Gustav 84mm recoiless rifle quite old and obsolete by now?
I thought the warhead cannot penetrate front glacis plate of most modern MBT either. I thought the SPIKE, MILAN, and whatever Anti-Tank Guided Missile systems are supposed to have replaced the 84mm even at Battalion level?
Especially now that the disposable LAW at section level is already a modern 90mm warhead, what use is the support company if they have a 84mm old-fashioned recoiless rifle?
Furthermore, the 84mm cannot be fired in a confined space cause it has a HUGE backblast. This gives your position away so even if you kill one tank, the other tanks and the other supporting vehicles or infantry will be firing at you. Even trying to run away carrying the 84mm - the thing weigh a TON.
The last time I encountered an 84mm was when I last did reservist in 2PDF more than 8 years ago. If they are still being used by SAF I'm sure those 84mm weapons are older than a lot of the enlistees.
Of course a lot of weapons are also very old like MG, rifle, mortaretc. Some MG I encountered looks about 30 years old. But human still made of flesh, so 30-year old technology can still kill. But tank armour improve every decade, so infantry AT capability must keep evolving to keep up.
84 is a coy support wpn la...Originally posted by Icemoon:Yes, the gun is quite old, but then even the US Rangers are using it (a lighter version) .. what you think?
Hmm, was the 84 ever a battalion level weapon? I thought that was the 106 gun?
Originally posted by CX:that pointy thing in the front...
is it the selector switch for the dual mode warhead?
Yea .. I know that.Originally posted by deathscythe99:84 is a coy support wpn la...