what you saw was probably the AWMP - arctic warfare multi-purpose. its a newer version of the AWP ( arctic warfare purpose-built ).Originally posted by martin_lim85:is that the sniper rifle we call AWP in CS???? i saw that in the open house yesterday
alamak, they only use 5 rd mag, dun really need 30. 30 rd mag very cumbersome to lug ur rifle ard and will hinder movement.Originally posted by SpecOps87:Well,the semi-auto version was also on display.It's the 7.62 calibre German made Hecklar & Koch MSG 90.Wondering why they do not feed it with a standard 30 shot magazine.Wahaha...that would be some serious firepower.
Anyway,another reason for the change is that it can easily handle a distance of 1Km, while the Styer SSG will max out at 0.8Km.But if the reason for the change is due to range,then perhaps SAF should consider the McMillan M88.50 calibre or Barret Light .50 calibre sniping rifle,both can reach out all the way to 1.5Km away.
i dun think our snipers will be particularly enthu abt humping a 10-12kg Barrett around... the Barrett Lite isn't much better than L96 past 1km, and it's 2kg heavier. less ammo as well... IMO you're better off carrying an extra P90 for short range n stuff.Originally posted by SpecOps87:Well,the semi-auto version was also on display.It's the 7.62 calibre German made Hecklar & Koch MSG 90.Wondering why they do not feed it with a standard 30 shot magazine.Wahaha...that would be some serious firepower.
Anyway,another reason for the change is that it can easily handle a distance of 1Km, while the Styer SSG will max out at 0.8Km.But if the reason for the change is due to range,then perhaps SAF should consider the McMillan M88.50 calibre or Barret Light .50 calibre sniping rifle,both can reach out all the way to 1.5Km away.
30 round magazines maybe be standard for 7.62x39 ammo, but definitely not for 7.62x51 weapons. For combat rifles with that ammo, 20 round magazines are standard, and for sniper rilfes, 5 or 10 rounds are.Originally posted by SpecOps87:Well,the semi-auto version was also on display.It's the 7.62 calibre German made Hecklar & Koch MSG 90.Wondering why they do not feed it with a standard 30 shot magazine.Wahaha...that would be some serious firepower.
A very common misconception of the .50 calibre rifles are that they are sniper rifles - they are not. They are anti-material weapons.Originally posted by SpecOps87:Anyway,another reason for the change is that it can easily handle a distance of 1Km, while the Styer SSG will max out at 0.8Km.But if the reason for the change is due to range,then perhaps SAF should consider the McMillan M88.50 calibre or Barret Light .50 calibre sniping rifle,both can reach out all the way to 1.5Km away.
we define sniper rifles to be able to hit a target over a long distance like 500m with lesser or equal to 1 moa with a cold barrel. BMG is a sniper rifle, it can be used to engage personnels in an armoured vehicle....Originally posted by dragonstar:A very common misconception of the .50 calibre rifles are that they are sniper rifles - they are not. They are anti-material weapons.
With a .50 AP round, sure, no problem. Think about an Olfa cutter going through popiah skin. Same logic.Originally posted by snk86:i find people who can use the M82A1 very power, can carry something a weight of a law rube and run around, then aim slowly at a target your bare eyes can barly made out, and handle a recoil a few times sionger then a M16, one question, is it true that 0.50cal weapon can penertrate old APC like the M113?
with BMG, can...BMG is the 'tank' of rifles leh, u see from the 'wrong' side is majiam like looking at the barrel end of a tank, similar shape.Originally posted by snk86:i find people who can use the M82A1 very power, can carry something a weight of a law rube and run around, then aim slowly at a target your bare eyes can barly made out, and handle a recoil a few times sionger then a M16, one question, is it true that 0.50cal weapon can penertrate old APC like the M113?
Whats BMG? Big Momma Gun?Originally posted by chunyong:with BMG, can...BMG is the 'tank' of rifles leh, u see from the 'wrong' side is majiam like looking at the barrel end of a tank, similar shape.
then something more heavy like the armor of a t-55?Originally posted by ditzy:With a .50 AP round, sure, no problem. Think about an Olfa cutter going through popiah skin. Same logic.![]()
Erm, surgical scapel through yellow pages residential listings 1995 edition?Originally posted by snk86:then something more heavy like the armor of a t-55?
The famous .50 rifle spotted in Fulltime Killers, used by Andy Lau. Barret Mxx lah, call BMG...also can called Big Mama cos the it got a big funnel thingy infront...Big Mama cos it is super 'power', power to the user too.Originally posted by ditzy:Whats BMG? Big Momma Gun?![]()
ha, ok...hmm, then one thing, is it only in service in US arm force? if not, any chance SG might get it? and when you said that, you mean it is totally effectless lah?Originally posted by ditzy:Erm, surgical scapel through yellow pages residential listings 1995 edition?![]()