I don't recommend Aegis destroyers although they are the most powerful surface warships in the world ( with SM-2 long range SAMs, and Harpoons, and Tomahawks.)Aegis is a combat system, it is not a destroyer or a frigate. The combat system consist of a command and decision computer with high processing capability and of course the phrased array AN/SPY1 radar.
I recommend DD-42 destroyers from UK .Actually, i do not see why do we need a larger ships such as a destroyer in which we can carry more weapons and naval helo.
( Can carry fair share of naval arsenals and 2 naval helos.)
well if you're speaking in terms of battleships (which none are in active service now), i'll let you know that one missile does shit to a BB. a BB's armor belts would prevent most subsonic anti ship missiles from even penetrating it. In ww2, the japanese battleship Musashi was subjected to twenty torpedo hits, seventeen bomb hits, and the destructive force of the detonation of sixteen near misses in the water before going down.Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:Enemy just need to fire 1 missile and bye bye
1 huge battleship needs over few hundred people to operate..
if it sinks..the parents gonna kpkb..and the mindef gonna payout $$ as compensation to parents..
thats why our biggest navy ship oso lesser then 70 so as to maximise effect and minimize losses
Im thinking of about 30 speed boat mini ship mounted with tinier astros + some sorta auto reload and with a guided missile laucher , with a even faster engine..more sleek design to reduce wind resistance....with about 5 pple each..+ a new military smoke grenade launcher which can float after being fired to create distraction..+ rear mounted double stinger launcher?
(need a mini radar? ) The front has armor like a tank..
That means im saying about a floating tank at sea..
a computer automated machine gun..so person can control from inside..
the boat will be build with special carbon fibre with protection against machine guns..a little bit small that enemies cannot detect..
Specially designed cabin like the inside cabin of volvo..crumple zones..and good inside construction , reinforced steel and titanium, using honeycomb in the cross section..strong and durable cabin ..with steel reinforced pillars to support the boat even when there's a explosion..
Special engineering capabilities which makes the atom inside the boat , more rigid and closer in a sense..something like a diamond
Can sneak into the enemy's river..not just cruise on the sealanes and fight a war perhaps in a tiny sorta stream..and drop off some commandos
I think it will cost about less then 2 million for each of these special boats..
better then the raft which guards is using .
+ night vision windscreen in the front.
We can easily design it using auto cad ..
some of the technologies are quite possible
den increase delta to 10..
upgrade the current ships's engines and radars..
and..build 1 more offshore base..preferably south for the 30 mini ships..
with arnaments stuff etc
BTW , are the mistral launchers on our MCV effective against flying FA/18s?
when war comes , we use the 30 mini boats and split 15 - 15 before sending in the deltas and the PVs..
the mini boats will be used to attack the enemy base and fire at it..
the 15 boats will all spread out around enemy base and firing at the enemy's base..and ship construction and repair area..
then the 3 pple each out of 15 boats..total 45..will capture enemy's boats..
and use it against them..and coordinate back to the delta ^^
Specially ejection capabilities..which automatically follows the aircraft ejection system..when missle lock system detect missile aimed at it..
immediately..this will happen
1. Ships detect..
2. Electronic counter measures..
3. Jamming
4. If all else fails..
Ejection through a gap in the boat's bottom area..
thereby firing the personnel into the sea..of course 5 metres/10 metres , computer will identify missile size..
therefore..this craft is TIAN YI WU FENG (flawless)
cool huh?
No sub and aircraft systems though , configured for assault only =D
about 2 million to create..
your boats would be obliterated by shore based artillery if you're thinking of strafing the beaches -_-Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:We can choose to base the boat design range to be less then a few hundred km..
just chiong all the way secretly close to the shore..while using the machine gun to fire at the beaches..
Those Huge big cruisers..can be rounded up by my tiny ships..
imagine having to track down tiny little ships cornering around you..and simulatenously firing and destroying them before they lay a hand on you?
furthermore you woundn't be able to detect it..only at visual range that means u got very little reaction time...when see it..position the aiming cross hair and game over..firing on the cruisers..while speeding around in circles..
those pple trying to escape on lifeboats?
round them all up....weee..if only i got tht kind of navy..
or we can just load up a ship filled with alot of C4 explosives
and purchase 2 speed boat engines and put a remote control used on the UAV..
ram it also quite worth..
Oh ya..re: last time BattleShip :Originally posted by sgFish:well if you're speaking in terms of battleships (which none are in active service now), i'll let you know that one missile does shit to a BB. a BB's armor belts would prevent most subsonic anti ship missiles from even penetrating it. In ww2, the japanese battleship Musashi was subjected to twenty torpedo hits, seventeen bomb hits, and the destructive force of the detonation of sixteen near misses in the water before going down.
MCVs aren't armed with mistrals, they're armed with the Israeli Barak I system..the PVs and LSTs are armed with mistrals. i'm not sure abt the mistral's capability but it is relatively short ranged and more suited for use against low flying craft. I'm sure the Barak would do well against fighters though..
you think capturing enemy warships easy arh? if your little assault craft doesn't get cut to pieces by naval gunfire first. and do you think so easy to pilot an enemy vessel?
commandos already have their little fast craft thingy for river insertion already btw.
these boats would have little significant use in terms of naval combat. how much ammunition for your 'mini astros' can a small boat carry, in addition to the machine gun, your 'steel reinforced pillars' and all that..and i would think that a small craft with this amount of shit in it can't really go fast, so it defeats the purpose..and a small craft does not have the endurance to go so far out in open waters and make it back alive..oh, and no matter how 'steel-reinforced' your boat is, its still a small boat. naval gunfire would make short work of it, and it would spray the crew with molten steel when hit.
a boat is not like a fighter aircraft. the crew does not sit in one place all the time, and having an ejection system in it is kinda stupid.
oh. and 2 million bucks x 30 can get you much better stuff..like more frigates or MCVs, or even a new class of stealth corvettes like the Swedish Visby..or maybe some missile-armed subs *wishful thinking*
the challenger-class does not use the whitehead which is a 324mm lightweight anti-sub torp. It has 4 533mm tubes and 2 400mm tubes. the 533mm torps should pack enough punch to take out or disable most surface warships today.Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:F-16 is expensive..A Block 60 version will set back alot of $$
With regards to refurbished training submarines the Challenger-Class ..doubt a second hand submarine can do much..with WhiteHead Torpedos..
someHow i still feel Scorpene is a better choice..
Ships are vulnerable to those U-boats stuff during WW II..
But nowaday's ship has advanced capabilities against subs rather then depth charges used in the past..
F-16 is indeed useful at sea.. but i think there would be some problems with regards to costs and expenses....
Anyway , i feel that a plane by itself would be also too expensive to lose in times of war..unless really bo pian..
almost $50 million USD each....now for block 60 those UAE 1s
Furthermore a F-16 C/D crash itself might be in-evitable..but during times of war..costs are going to surge very high , if we were to use a expensive aircraft 1 by itself in comparison to 30 small mini boats something like the police CG boats fitted with missiles..
I might take F-16 if it calls for precision strikes, but our reserves will deplete fast in times of war , so my thinking is that, if we can use cheaper craft
to fight first rather then F-16 , other then comparing overall effectiveness and efficiency..
Something like a low-budget army which suits us best, gotta maximise our dollar value..
Anyone knows the breakdown of our defense spending?
Please tell me or pm me the link, thx!
DD(x) is not known as the DD21 but the latter is part of the family of DD(x). The DD(x) is a future ship program which include new cruisers, destroyers and also ships for littoral warfare. The DD(x) is a rather interesting ship. Equipped with the Aegis Combat system, it is armed with 2 helicopters, 80 VLS cells, 2 155mm Cannon and run by gas turbine generator and magnetic driven propulsion system. The large stealthy ship only require a crew of 95.Originally posted by ray243:ok, could singapore buy a DD(x) class destroyer,also known as DD21 or LCS(littoral combat ship)
U are welcome.Originally posted by ray243:ok thanks for the info
Im thinking of about 30 speed boat mini ship mounted with tinier astros + some sorta auto reload and with a guided missile laucher , with a even faster engine..more sleek design to reduce wind resistance....with about 5 pple each..+ a new military smoke grenade launcher which can float after being fired to create distraction..+ rear mounted double stinger launcher?fat chance my friend.
(need a mini radar? ) The front has armor like a tank..
a computer automated machine gun..so person can control from inside..
the boat will be build with special carbon fibre with protection against machine guns..a little bit small that enemies cannot detect..
Specially designed cabin like the inside cabin of volvo..crumple zones..and good inside construction , reinforced steel and titanium, using honeycomb in the cross section..strong and durable cabin ..with steel reinforced pillars to support the boat even when there's a explosion..
Special engineering capabilities which makes the atom inside the boat , more rigid and closer in a sense..something like a diamond
Can sneak into the enemy's river..not just cruise on the sealanes and fight a war perhaps in a tiny sorta stream..and drop off some commandos
I think it will cost about less then 2 million for each of these special boats..
better then the raft which guards is using .
+ night vision windscreen in the front.
We can easily design it using auto cad ..
some of the technologies are quite possible
den increase delta to 10..
upgrade the current ships's engines and radars..
and..build 1 more offshore base..preferably south for the 30 mini ships..
with arnaments stuff etc
BTW , are the mistral launchers on our MCV effective against flying FA/18s?
when war comes , we use the 30 mini boats and split 15 - 15 before sending in the deltas and the PVs..
the mini boats will be used to attack the enemy base and fire at it..
the 15 boats will all spread out around enemy base and firing at the enemy's base..and ship construction and repair area..
then the 3 pple each out of 15 boats..total 45..will capture enemy's boats..
and use it against them..and coordinate back to the delta ^^
Specially ejection capabilities..which automatically follows the aircraft ejection system..when missle lock system detect missile aimed at it..
immediately..this will happen
1. Ships detect..
2. Electronic counter measures..
3. Jamming
4. If all else fails..
Ejection through a gap in the boat's bottom area..
thereby firing the personnel into the sea..of course 5 metres/10 metres , computer will identify missile size..
therefore..this craft is TIAN YI WU FENG (flawless)
cool huh?
No sub and aircraft systems though , configured for assault only =D
about 2 million to create..
We can choose to base the boat design range to be less then a few hundred km..Err...boy ar....few 100km is very far loh....and chionging would make ur fuel consumption go up alot.As a boater i should know.
just chiong all the way secretly close to the shore..while using the machine gun to fire at the beaches..
imagine having to track down tiny little ships cornering around you..and simulatenously firing and destroying them before they lay a hand on you?use sonar loh.....moving at 30knots....easy to pick you out lah......30knots...bouncing up and down.....high speed engine....make alot alot alot of noise loh.Use a quieter engine you say?Well if you want fast.....you cant have quiet...unless you want use battery loh..but at 30knots you'd move like 5km then stop liao
furthermore you woundn't be able to detect it..only at visual range that means u got very little reaction time...when see it..position the aiming cross hair and game over..firing on the cruisers..while speeding around in circles..
Yup and regarding the engine , we can always use fuel-saving stuff and noiseless stuff.. , regarding thie engine..don't think we will be deploying over 200km.. so i think it would be more deployed for speed ..
If your saying that the mini boat is vulnerable, wouldn't the fast insertion craft be more vulnerable?Yes it is.....somemore it's open top loh.But the whole point is to surprise them wad.
Furthermore , a shore artilery takes time to aim and reload and u wanna hit a super fast moving craft at sea which is also at the same time firing bullets at you?shore arty will be behind Visual range lah....then they use UAV and guided rounds.....you screwed liao loh
So thereby assuming the vast area of the enemy's coastline and how tough it is to be spotted before a real war starts, i think the possibility is less then 20%hard to spot frm the air?! WTF?! you've high speed boat makes a freaking big and long wake man.....see the wake....then whack the front of it can liao!!!
Just imagine, a small LITTLE boat going through over hundreds of islands..
i mean those closer to us 1 lar..
HaHaHa...Even a fighter pilot would have difficult spotting..somemore in dark grey naval and regarding helicopter, think we just throw in a stinger and some missiles together with it to settle it
Then we will make use of a navy's which doesn't use any naval gun..The US naval people also though that.......then they realised......if got no gun....how to give fire support!!! hence one of the DD(x) concepts is to deal with this!!!Besides a guided gun round is way cheaper
to charge and test it's missile system
The reason why the mini boats will win is that simply
Humans assume, they assume enemy always come in another large size destroyer..hence they are not ready to deal with another tiny threat..
and btw..when a boat about 5km away which u spotted reaching about 2-3 minutes..is 1 minute before aiming the astros at you..would you have enough time to react ?
and btw..when a boat about 5km away which u spotted reaching about 2-3 minutes..is 1 minute before aiming the astros at you..would you have enough time to react ?Horizon is around 80NM or 130km there abouts....and believe me....naval people have a good eye for spotting things that arent suppose to be in the sea
Just look at USS cole..just 1 hit on it's hull..the whole ship disable..Big bomb....small ship without armour.
You see....when firing at a ship in the old days a series of rounds was fired into the area....with the hope that at least 1 would hit considering how "slow" the bigger ships are.For smaller boats like you're mini boat it would be hard but the splash and wave caused by the round falling in could tip it over.And how is it aimed?Well there are a series of presets.They can set 30knots as speed then say 50km as range and everything is calculated...all the need is to point and shoot.The wonders of technologyOriginally posted by SibeiSuayKia:wah tiok flame lik siao liao!
wah the experienced navy can view outside with 130km range meh??
the artilery can hit moving targets so accurate? especially when target is moving?
My presumption is that.. when the target is moving , the artilery must fire a round which will be aimed at further down where the target is moving..
so if when ur firing..the target change course den how?
I do indeed now realise alot of vulnerabilities with tinier boats,
i also do realise alot of vulnearabilities with larger boats and patrol vessels..
so which 1 is better?
neither is better..thats where combined arms comes in..you need the small guys and the big guys..Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:wah tiok flame lik siao liao!
wah the experienced navy can view outside with 130km range meh??
the artilery can hit moving targets so accurate? especially when target is moving?
My presumption is that.. when the target is moving , the artilery must fire a round which will be aimed at further down where the target is moving..
so if when ur firing..the target change course den how?
I do indeed now realise alot of vulnerabilities with tinier boats,
i also do realise alot of vulnearabilities with larger boats and patrol vessels..
so which 1 is better?
lol..coast guard operating missiles?Originally posted by LazerLordz:The MGBs are here to stay for a reason.Even if transferred to a maturing Coast Guard, it would improve their firepower quite substantially.Gabriel, Harpoon Block I, 76 OTO Melara gun, which CG vessel would have that?ST Marine should specialise in this sized platform in the long term.