Endurance is doing it, but that does not mean that it is totally suitable and enough for how many vessels - think about when we get all 6 frigates. If not why most respectable navy will get a proper supply ship.Originally posted by foxtrout8:How delicate you want it to be? Unless you need a plateform to support a CSG, our Endurance is enough.
The RSS Endurance can:
1) Carry fuel, ammunition, food supply for long range deployment. Look at it's deployment to the Gulf.
2) Medical facilities.
3) Command and control.
That what I am talking about, c-130 are not specialized tankers, they are modified to do it but cannot do as good a job or lack some equipment. That is why planes like KC-135 is created, to do the job more effectively and able to refuel more.Originally posted by eurofighter:That is because our KC-130s cant refuel F-16 due to lack of the boom. Hence the purchase of the KC-135s
With this configuration. Sure die.Originally posted by paperduck:yes, this is what i mean.
a mini mini air-craft carrier ..
1 stealth frigates
2 RSS
1 sub
1 patrol craft
equip with 10 anti-sub helicopter, 20 sea helicopter(forget what name). a way for 10 Jet to land.
(my military not really good, any pro can add on)
Because its totally senseless to own one that's why. Firstly, it costs the earth. Secondly, what you said about S'pore sinking doesn't make an ounce of sense. So what if S'pore sinks before the aircraft carrier? Even if the aircraft carrier is still afloat, with S'pore "sunk", there's not much use for the carrier is there?Originally posted by paperduck:why no1 really like the idea of owning a aircraft carrier?
we just need a mother-ship(carrier). we can easily form a mini AC
also dont say it so near..got aircraft-carrier also not use, other ppl one bomb can liao... dont u'll ppl see teebee ? how far the US deploy their Aircraft-carrier in Gulf.. even Singapore sink also havent AC turn. some more, if we have AC.. we must also improve our anti-air radar to prevent suddent attack from missile.
the equipment we owning now..what a waste not to form AC troop(mini 1).
-stealth frigates
-F-16CDs/ New Jet adding
-subMarine
-RSS level
-*anymore ?
let say war against malaysia , AC can park near indonesia.
if war with indonesia, we can park near malaysia.
if war with malaysia & indonesia.. no need to fight. *can consider throw white flag or just seek US help, because fight also not use..
Lets not make it sour brother, i truely understand what you mean but then if you look at our operation radius, requirement and cost, do we need a delicated support ship while the Endurance is enough for our requirement? Unlike Western navies which have large fleets with huge involvements, they need a support ship. While our 6 Frigate have a range of 7200kms, our Endurance have more and we dun have to operate that far often, do we need a support ship?Originally posted by storywolf:Endurance is doing it, but that does not mean that it is totally suitable and enough for how many vessels - think about when we get all 6 frigates. If not why most respectable navy will get a proper supply ship.
There is reason why all navy analysts in the world is predicting singapore next move will soon be getting a supply ship. Think it is very hard to argue with you that Endurance can do it properly or not. Let wait and see, I think within the next 5 years, if Singapore do get a proper supply ship, than I am prove right.
Paperduck, you see only the aircraft carrier, but did you see the whole defensive fleet around a aircraft carrier ? Each aircraft carrier need a whole battle group to protect it to be safe from enemy ships, airp planes and submarines. Take the US battle group - a typical group will have 2 missile cruisers, 2 destoryers, one frigate,2 submarine, 1 supply ships and others like mine sweepers.Originally posted by paperduck:why no1 really like the idea of owning a aircraft carrier?
we just need a mother-ship(carrier). we can easily form a mini AC
also dont say it so near..got aircraft-carrier also not use, other ppl one bomb can liao... dont u'll ppl see teebee ? how far the US deploy their Aircraft-carrier in Gulf.. even Singapore sink also havent AC turn. some more, if we have AC.. we must also improve our anti-air radar to prevent suddent attack from missile.
the equipment we owning now..what a waste not to form AC troop(mini 1).
-stealth frigates
-F-16CDs/ New Jet adding
-subMarine
-RSS level
-*anymore ?
let say war against malaysia , AC can park near indonesia.
if war with indonesia, we can park near malaysia.
if war with malaysia & indonesia.. no need to fight. *can consider throw white flag or just seek US help, because fight also not use..
Using Aircraft Carrier to fight against piracy??? You must be kidding..... It is hiring a Chinook because you are shifting house!!! Gross overkill!Originally posted by |-|05|:Honestly the only 2 countries in this reigon that need an AC is the Philipines and Indonasia.With they're coast line and many islands it would be easier to have a ship that can carry up to 25 choppers to help patrol and keep away pirates.
a mini AC dont cost us US$4-6b.Like I said, show me the money.
dont u know we can claim special military budget..like what we do for buying new fighter.
we already have the equipment and formation..just need the mothership.
i'm just wondering..wads an RSS?Originally posted by paperduck:yes, this is what i mean.
a mini mini air-craft carrier ..
1 stealth frigates
2 RSS
1 sub
1 patrol craft
equip with 10 anti-sub helicopter, 20 sea helicopter(forget what name). a way for 10 Jet to land.
(my military not really good, any pro can add on)
yeah i know this..but in this context..wad does 2 RSS mean? he wants to store 2 ships in his carrier?Originally posted by Moxie:You mean the RSS prefix itself?
It stands for Republic of Singapore Ship.
no. get a super flying doughnut that goes around eating peopleOriginally posted by SibeiSuayKia:GET The imperial star wars destroyer!
den launch out planes from then on!
sorry let me rephrase....and LPDOriginally posted by spencer99:Using Aircraft Carrier to fight against piracy??? You must be kidding..... It is hiring a Chinook because you are shifting house!!! Gross overkill!
Please name me one country that uses aircraft carriers to fight piracy!
1 whole crap of bullshlt containing stories from pearl harbor,vn war,Originally posted by spencer99:Fantasy scenario: RMN have aircraft carrier. RSN also have aircraft carrier.
The RMN Naval Air Arm of launched a surprise crippling strike on CNB. They did so before they declare war. Almost all our Frigates and MCV are destroyed. Luckily our sole carrier RSS Singapura is at sea at the time of the attack. Our SSKs also escaped damage.
With the RSN fleet destroyed, the RMN have almost total control of the South China Sea and the Straits of Malacca.
But the the SSKs did a lot of damage to Malaysia's merchant shipping. And the RMN believed that the radar on Pedra Branca is guiding the SSK.
The RMN decided to strike the tiny island of Pedra Branca and assembled a fleet to do so, including their Naval Air Striking force. Luckily the RSN broke the RMN naval code and positioned the RSS Singapura and its escort group to be in a correct position.
After the RMN Harriers launched its strike on Pedra Branca and were refueling on the carrier, the RSS Singapura launched a strike with its VSTOL F-35s. Without air cover, the RMN carrier is dommed.......
The lookout on the Carrier shouted.... "HELLDIVERS" opps... sorry.. "HARPOON" and then the entire carrier is engulfed in flames. With the Airborne Striking Arm of the RMN destroyed, the war at sea was turned.....
Question : Who can tell me what this story is based on?
Anyone with a bit of knowledge of military history will know this lah.....Originally posted by ray243:simple...in ww2, japanese vs USN at the battle of midway, USA won and stop the japanese advance which in hte end won the whole war in the pacific
Improbable, unrealistic scenario. RMN and RSN operating carriers? Ha!!! And why would the Malaysians' take the trouble to destroy our Navy when our airforce is a much greater threat?Originally posted by spencer99:Fantasy scenario: RMN have aircraft carrier. RSN also have aircraft carrier.
The RMN Naval Air Arm of launched a surprise crippling strike on CNB. They did so before they declare war. Almost all our Frigates and MCV are destroyed. Luckily our sole carrier RSS Singapura is at sea at the time of the attack. Our SSKs also escaped damage.
With the RSN fleet destroyed, the RMN have almost total control of the South China Sea and the Straits of Malacca.
Why the hell would anyone assemble a fleet to flatten Pedra Blanca? A single air strike can do that with less hassle and more effective.Originally posted by spencer99:But the the SSKs did a lot of damage to Malaysia's merchant shipping. And the RMN believed that the radar on Pedra Branca is guiding the SSK.
The RMN decided to strike the tiny island of Pedra Branca and assembled a fleet to do so, including their Naval Air Striking force. Luckily the RSN broke the RMN naval code and positioned the RSS Singapura and its escort group to be in a correct position.
Without air cover? The region is so small that RMAF's planes could easily provide protection for their carrier!Originally posted by spencer99:After the RMN Harriers launched its strike on Pedra Branca and were refueling on the carrier, the RSS Singapura launched a strike with its VSTOL F-35s. Without air cover, the RMN carrier is dommed.......
The lookout on the Carrier shouted.... "HELLDIVERS" opps... sorry.. "HARPOON" and then the entire carrier is engulfed in flames. With the Airborne Striking Arm of the RMN destroyed, the war at sea was turned.....
Question : Who can tell me what this story is based on?