that one is bullshit one lah.... all the RMAF MIG-29 did was SIMULATING AMRAAMSKI firing and shouted FOX-3 first only mah..... like that also count as kill meh?Originally posted by Caesar95:I once read that in a exercise between Malaysian Air force and Australian Air Force, a RMAF MiG-29 successfully engaged and "shot down" the RAAF F-18(If i'm not wrong, or maybe a F-15) this should be a worry for RSAF.
Mig fighter have a very poor combat record because their usually third world countries's pilots are poorly-trained as compare to their western counterparts. Never assumed Soviet fighters are a piece of joke, when manned by well-trained pilots it can be as dangerous as the technically best fighter field by the west. This senario can be the same as with RMAF. Finally we have yet to see Soviet MiG-29 Versus American F-18 yet.Can you quote someone credible here whom say that soviet fighters are a piece of joke?
I once read that in a exercise between Malaysian Air force and Australian Air Force, a RMAF MiG-29 successfully engaged and "shot down" the RAAF F-18(If i'm not wrong, or maybe a F-15) this should be a worry for RSAF.The RAAF vs RMAF is by hearsay without solid evidence in the public domain to support it, however in the public-government domain, the British had released information that their Harrier|| manage to trash the MiG-29 in BVR combat.
Why in close dogfight the MiGs will win against the F-16 and F-18?Originally posted by paperduck:i believe in close dogfight MiG will win F-16 & F-18.
F-16 and F-18 r specially design to engage in dogfight too! F-16 is regarded as the best dogfight presently.By the way,it is mismatched to compare F-16/F-18 against Mig 21. The Mig-21 is 3 decades behind the F-16 and F-18!Originally posted by paperduck:i believe in close dogfight MiG will win F-16 & F-18.
but F-16 F18 is base on the whole fighting system.they will prevent not to dogfight with MiG..they will use their super long range missile to hit MiG from damn far away.
Well hahaha believed it or not if u read carefully i was saying the MiG-21 SHOT DOWN the F-18 in a dogfight in the Iranian war! I use this to prove that quality of pilots really mattersOriginally posted by zenden9:F-16 and F-18 r specially design to engage in dogfight too! F-16 is regarded as the best dogfight presently.By the way,it is mismatched to compare F-16/F-18 against Mig 21. The Mig-21 is 3 decades behind the F-16 and F-18!
Yes it is officially proven, Iraqi MiG-21 shot down F-18 manned by the Islamic Repblic of Iranian air forceOriginally posted by SibeiSuayKia:Haha..caesar..
IRAQIs CLAIM their MIG-21 shot down a F-14 Tomcat.
Do you not get it?
That means it was not officially proven.
dumb
So it is F-18 or F-14? U one time say F-14 then later F-14...., very confusing one leh...Originally posted by Caesar95:Well hahaha believed it or not if u read carefully i was saying the MiG-21 SHOT DOWN the F-18 in a dogfight in the Iranian war! I use this to prove that quality of pilots really matters
Caesar95 sounds like lying! By the way,Iranian F-14 r really badly maintain at that time! After the Islamic revolution,the US ban all comtacts with Iran.Iran has no spare part for their F-14.I will not be surprised if their F-14 is shot down by Mig-21!Originally posted by foxtrout8:So it is F-18 or F-14? U one time say F-14 then later F-14...., very confusing one leh...
Since he is just saying his opinion, he is not lying. It is just that he is confused by his own words.Originally posted by zenden9:Caesar95 sounds like lying!
I think MIGs are really impressive jets, the do give western fighter a run for their money. However, in air-fighting, there is a lot of other factors, not just looking at the jet performance and compare which is better and which is worst.Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:how many times must i say..
it's like impossible for MIG-21 to shoot down a f-14/f-18 jet..
unless the pilot purposely wanna be shot down
A soldier can have a lousy gun ..does not shoot well..Originally posted by storywolf:I think MIGs are really impressive jets, the do give western fighter a run for their money. However, in air-fighting, there is a lot of other factors, not just looking at the jet performance and compare which is better and which is worst.
Also in war, there is no absolute, even a MIG-21 if able to get a F-14/F-18 to get into a dog-fight and tight turn, within combat enevelop that bring out the best of the Mig-21 and disadvantage of F-14/F-18. Also who knows, a mistake may be make and why not a combination of factors may still see Mig-21 win.
How could refurbished Russian MiG-21 jets even be a threat to American fighters? "When you stuff them full of Israeli electronics, multi-function [air-to-air] radar, and a helmet-mounted sight for cueing its Python-3 missiles," said a Defense Tech pal in the USAF.
AND MORE: Air power's dirty little secret is that the airframe pretty much doesn't matter these days," says Defense Tech reader JA. What it does is "provide mounting points for weapons, sensors and engine(s). The MiG-21's airframe is quite sufficient for acting as a placeholder for state of the art toys. To my way of thinking the USAF's Fighter Mafia has never made the case for the need for either the (A)/F-22 or A/(F)-35. Rumsfeld's failing has been in not bringing these overeducated idiots to heel."
A soldier must remember, anyone with a gun is dangerous, he can have a lousy gun, and does not know how to shot well, but he just have to be lucky.
SBSK, like you say it seem to be better 99% . But what if robocop is so unluck that that 1% happen !!! Strike 4D !Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:A soldier can have a lousy gun ..does not shoot well..
how can he match up against robocop who seems to be better 99% of the time?