Well not everyone who is with a scope rifle is a sniper.Originally posted by SpecOps87:Not right to that if you see a guy armed with a scoped-equipped weapon is a sniper.As on the normal infantry there is the section designated marksman.And now that SAF is gonna change to the SAR-21,the whole squad will be snipers?Nahz..that would be ignorant of the speciality of the Snipers.
Anyway,anyone have any idea what other weapon/s does the sniper arm himself with when out on a mission?As a bolt-action or a specialised semi-auto sniping rifle is both to long and heavy for upclose work.
Oh, how about being the most wanted USMC sniper? The one with the heaviest bounty on his head?Originally posted by observe:what are the 'wild things' that Carlos Hathcock has done to deserve this much admiration from you guys ?
Afterall, 93 kills is not the top score for a sniper.
I read that a Finnish sniper called Simo Häyhä killed about 505. I beleive no one has managed to top that.
spotter is normally armed with semi-auto firearms to provide some quick firepower should they unfortunately engage an enemy within throwing or touching range. of cos, both of them should avoid that but things don't and never always go as planned...Originally posted by Johnston:Let's not fall into the trap of calling everyone with a scoped weapon a sniper.
That's foolish.
Well, what about the spotter?
He could have a more standard weapon, LAW, or maybe even a backup rifle.
Haha... I suppose that's what happened at Abu Ghraib!Originally posted by Ito_^:Right, and the Americans taught them that.![]()
Originally posted by chunyong:spotter is normally armed with semi-auto firearms to provide some quick firepower should they unfortunately engage an enemy within throwing or touching range. of cos, both of them should avoid that but things don't and never always go as planned...
Hmm.Originally posted by SpecOps87:Hmmmz....Pretty interesting response so far.Anyway is it true that snipers when conducting ops will always save a single round for themselves?In case they might be captured or injured?
seen 2 much movies liao. a true sniper would get hurt unless the enemy had artillery fixed on his position who in the right mind wants to kill himself unless you are Vietcong or some loony Nazi, forward . snipers kill key enemy personnel an would not try to decimate a platoon unless he wants and MG fired on his general direction. most likely he would kill the commander, the signaller and render his signal set unusable or he would be in a reconaissance role and use his signal set to sent info. i heard Commando snipers have a longer stay duration in ops than infantry/guards snipers. Anyone knows?Originally posted by SpecOps87:Hmmmz....Pretty interesting response so far.Anyway is it true that snipers when conducting ops will always save a single round for themselves?In case they might be captured or injured?
Originally posted by decepticon25:?
[b]
seen 2 much movies liao. a true sniper would get hurt unless the enemy had artillery fixed on his position who in the right mind wants to kill himself unless you are Vietcong or some loony Nazi, forward . b]
dats true, they are 'forced' to survive longer. given as short NS stint, its impossible to truely learn the art for NSFs lah...Originally posted by decepticon25:seen 2 much movies liao. a true sniper would get hurt unless the enemy had artillery fixed on his position who in the right mind wants to kill himself unless you are Vietcong or some loony Nazi, forward . snipers kill key enemy personnel an would not try to decimate a platoon unless he wants and MG fired on his general direction. most likely he would kill the commander, the signaller and render his signal set unusable or he would be in a reconaissance role and use his signal set to sent info. i heard Commando snipers have a longer stay duration in ops than infantry/guards snipers. Anyone knows?
Tasted. Not tested. Tasted. Anyone?Originally posted by bcoy:"Tasted" TNT before, or tested? I know TNT flakes look just like corn flakes - but no way am I tasting that stuff.
There was a plan to have a dedicated sniper platoon there. ALL field snipers can expect a mission to last from anywhere between 2-7 days. If one were to be asked to pick between being a CDO and a sniper, one would most likely want to be known as the latter.Originally posted by decepticon25:seen 2 much movies liao. a true sniper would get hurt unless the enemy had artillery fixed on his position who in the right mind wants to kill himself unless you are Vietcong or some loony Nazi, forward . snipers kill key enemy personnel an would not try to decimate a platoon unless he wants and MG fired on his general direction. most likely he would kill the commander, the signaller and render his signal set unusable or he would be in a reconaissance role and use his signal set to sent info. i heard Commando snipers have a longer stay duration in ops than infantry/guards snipers. Anyone knows?
Don't agree that anyone who can shoot a rifle with telescope is a sniper.Originally posted by Johnston:In the civilian world, any one with a rifle + a telescopic sight is automatically a sniper.
like waxOriginally posted by crosshairs:Tasted. Not tested. Tasted. Anyone?
me and my mate will shoot ourselves if we're compromised.Originally posted by SpecOps87:Hmmmz....Pretty interesting response so far.Anyway is it true that snipers when conducting ops will always save a single round for themselves?In case they might be captured or injured?
make sure u drag a few of the enemy with u to hell....yes, u will go to hell, not heaven.Originally posted by crosshair II:me and my mate will shoot ourselves if we're compromised.
make sure u prime the nade and hug at least an enemy to die with u....remember "I'll never die alone" hahahahaOriginally posted by SibeiSuayKia:i rather carry cyanide and place a hand grenade with myself..
BTW it is not shooting alone....Originally posted by SpecOps87:Hey,can anyone share what a sniper team does when they do a harrasment mission?During Army Open House this 3SG from Snipers told me that for this type of missions they are usually equipped with the MSG90.So can anyone share?What is the objective of harrasment missions and what is done to ensure the enemy is harrased?
I dun think you'd qualify as a sniper if you do get detected, unless its purely by crap luck your OP got bundled into.Originally posted by crosshair II:me and my mate will shoot ourselves if we're compromised.
ha, heat signature hard to escape...if u anyhow make ur ghilliesuit, u will get spotted easily, especially when u are prone. gurkhas can trace ur route one leh, dun pray pray. ur partner is to make sure u dun get a55far-ked from behind when u are scouting ard for your target.Originally posted by Obersturmfuhrer:I dun think you'd qualify as a sniper if you do get detected, unless its purely by crap luck your OP got bundled into.
Chunyong, I think Houllier walked alone...![]()