yea but they must be pretty huge bombs as what u said..Originally posted by SlowPoke:even the mighty M1A2 Abrams is not bombproof, several have been destroyed in Iraq by huge IEDs (Improvised Explosive Devices aka roadside bombs).
Heard about it leh...Originally posted by esesce:Discovery Channel had a documentary & claims US army is developing a new type of MBT which is air transportable. Dunno how true lah but I can't imagine it lor. If they really want to be more mobile, I guess tank killers such as Terrex or Piranha are the best choice since they are1 wheeled.
it call the M8 Buford tank. suppose to be for use for the 82nd airborne, project got cancel due to cancel budget, 3 existing prototype is pass to 82nd airborne.Originally posted by esesce:Discovery Channel had a documentary & claims US army is developing a new type of MBT which is air transportable. Dunno how true lah but I can't imagine it lor. If they really want to be more mobile, I guess tank killers such as Terrex or Piranha are the best choice since they are wheeled.
yes it is true, the decision came during Bill Clinton days. When some so call military experts decide the new generation war is depend on rapid deployment. They feel that M1 is too heavy and they are going for light armed armoured vehicles instead which is air-deployable and smaller easiler to shipped, travel faster and use less fuels.Originally posted by beavan:erm read somewhere in this forums that USA is going to decommission their abrams? is it true?