YES, airsoft guns, whether gas/electric/spring operated are not to be imported/brought out/into SG unless u got license which i know u don't cos only 2-3 people in SG got the license and 1 of them closed down the range at Marina Sq a few yrs back. SG has very strict laws regarding toys mimicking guns, all toy guns have orange tipped barrel, airsoft guns also have. my advise is dat if u like shooting, go sign up membership at a CC and play there, but its not cheap. More info can be found in airsoft forum in here...Originally posted by beavan:kena jail just for thaT??
Tell me those things work like the real thing.Originally posted by zenden9:U can buy those Musket gun from suntec city!
Originally posted by Cpl Ho:Thanx for the reply, guys.... Just confirming what I know... S'pore is BORING...![]()
Hmmm... I think the problem does not lie with the gun, it lies with the person holding it...Originally posted by PatrickLTH:Singapore is that much safer for every body less the gun, real or toy one.
I understand you can join tour to Hainan and pay to shoot all kind of weapons. You pay for every bullets, or shells fired. Beware, it could cost you a lot of moneywhen you squeeze the trigger of the machine gun. Haha.
well, we are a small country, can't risk a mafia gun totting away loh loh.... things are better now, got airsoft ranges etc, last time don't have one leh....Originally posted by Cpl Ho:Hmmm... I think the problem does not lie with the gun, it lies with the person holding it...
I recommend everyone to watch Michael Moore's 'Bowling in Columbine'... Although it's an anti-gun documentary, there's one part which I find though-provoking... Canada has as many guns as USA, but why is it they have so few gun-related crimes compared to USA?
Well, going on tour to fire a weapon sounds fun... but I prefer to own one... whether real or airsoft...![]()
HEAR! HEAR!Originally posted by LazerLordz:Guns do not kill people.People kill each other.But we can only allow private gun ownership if we have a very educated population and they have a high level of empathy for fellow Singaporeans.Still, Canada and Switzerland does beg to differ.LET's ponder on them.
the risk and potential damage to the society and Singapore as a safe country far outweighs the contentment of a few to own airsoft/firearms. somemore Singapore population is so small, a riot is already very jialat liao...less say a few immature kids trying to be wannabes and go ard brandishing their airsofts. we already have a potential case of a forumnite here trying to get a thigh-ride holster...imagine if guns are legal...some people don't snap out from their fantasy world once the game console or PC is switched off, they think they are SFs or whatever, by denying them personal access to airsoft or replicas, we are potentially actually saving their lives.Originally posted by Cpl Ho:HEAR! HEAR!![]()
1) Not that I want a riot to break out... but the last time we had a riot here was in 1964, and it was politically instigated by the government then... not a spontaneous action by citizens... Anyway, I think our Police Special Operations Command PTF guys are just DYING to try their well-practise riot drills on some REAL rioters... Come on dun lie... Tell me you guys are 'baton-happy'...Originally posted by chunyong:1) a riot is already very jialat liao...
2) less say a few immature kids trying to be wannabes and go ard brandishing their airsofts.
3) we already have a potential case of a forumnite here trying to get a thigh-ride holster...
4) airsoft is not allowed is becos the pellet can cause grevious hurt too...
Originally posted by chunyong:1)Is it? Damn... We better ban PC games then since they're the root of the problem... Saving our lives??
[b]
1) some people don't snap out from their fantasy world once the game console or PC is switched off, they think they are SFs or whatever, by denying them personal access to airsoft or replicas, we are potentially actually saving their lives.
2) if we can deter, we deter and will continue to deter...
b]
1) Ha, why should police be happy when they have work to do ? why wouldn't they want peace ? duh... u think they can just arrest all the rioters and go back bunk sleep ? theres more to that, ask SOC people they will tell u...Originally posted by Cpl Ho:1) Not that I want a riot to break out... but the last time we had a riot here was in 1964, and it was politically instigated by the government then... not a spontaneous action by citizens... Anyway, I think our Police Special Operations Command PTF guys are just DYING to try their well-practise riot drills on some REAL rioters... Come on dun lie... Tell me you guys are 'baton-happy'...
2) U wanna talk about immature kids? Let u on a piece of info... Do you know nowadays there's a very prevalent practice going on in schools? Teenage girls are using penknives to cut themselves whenever they're sad. They even have a name for themselves called 'cutters' and there are a few websites dedicated to 'cutters'.... Anyone has a daughter, better check her wrists... Like that we better ban all penknives in S'pore...
3) Thigh holster?? Who wants it? Beach road got sell.... Auntie sold me for 15 bucks after bargaining...
4) Okie, let's say we arrange for a duel. I give you handicap lah, you can have an airsoft that cause 'greivous hurt', i just carry a kitchen chopper use for cutting chicken one... Fair?![]()
Thanx for spending time to reply point by point and suggesting alternatives... but you dun really get my point... Yes, i don't mind shooting an air-rifle or playing paintball, but I'll rather own a authentic looking gun, real or airsoft...Originally posted by chunyong:1) Ha, why should police be happy when they have work to do ? why wouldn't they want peace ? duh... u think they can just arrest all the rioters and go back bunk sleep ? theres more to that, ask SOC people they will tell u...
2) Penknives can be used to cut things, and other meaningful and useful things, it is a daily worktool for people working in warehouses. airsoft guns leh....u tell loh, is it necessity ? no, is it needed for work ? no. is it useful ? no. can it hurt people ? Yes.
3) I mean those moulded one like Safariland lah, not those cheapo nylon ones.
4) 1 pellet to the eye, dats it. and u can be over 15 metres away. dats the same reason why throwing knives are not allowed too... u can get blueblack from being hit by those pellets, if hit on the face or eye the result is very jialat. somemore the speed is very fast, hard to defend against, a chopper u throw can still step out of the way...try avoid a pellet or a throwing knife. pls don't try to use darts to counter cos darts is sports and leisure.
if u really like to shoot, try air-rifle, its much harder than air-soft, guaranteed and not so ex too...but the rifle is not as stylo mylo. i agree shooting sports is rather ex here due to strict regulations and no competition among licensee...hope the situation will approve. i did sign up as member for marina airsoft range but hardly 6 mths into it, the range + arrow range closed down.
paintball is more fun than anything else, u get to shoot at real people while avoiding being splatted with paint all over. got to work as a team else u will be splatted all over when u run for the crate or ammobox. there is another kind called FX rds but its for police and SAF only. same as paintball but the amount of paint is lesser and such.
does bowling and stamp collecting poses a threat to others ? no. does airsoft guns do ? yes...main thing is the damger it possess....why can't u understand dat ? wat if ur airsoft gets stolen or some small kids got hold of it when u were not around ? if we can ban certain item dat poses a danger to kids and us and the item only serves as an hobbyist item, why don't we ? airsoft is not required for work or wat too...the ability to hurt someone without his ability to fend the attack is very fear invoking, with a knife u need to be close and thus those who learn unarm combat or such could disarm but with an airsoft, its not possible to catch the pellet and the attacker could be 5-6 metres away. not forgetting its possible to modify the power of the airsoft itself.Originally posted by Cpl Ho:Thanx for spending time to reply point by point and suggesting alternatives... but you dun really get my point... Yes, i don't mind shooting an air-rifle or playing paintball, but I'll rather own a authentic looking gun, real or airsoft...
Necessity? Of course it's not a necessity... Is bowling a necessity? Is collecting stamps useful for work? Is flying a kite useful? Is your hobby, whatever it may be, a necessity?
If you read my earlier post carefully, you'll realise that my main gripe more then anything else is about a 'nanny-state' that treats its citizens like little children and controls very thing, does not dare to take the risk to let them mature... How to have creative society... forget it lah..![]()
Hey, look here... I'm not looking for an argument here, the purpose of my thread is to find an avenue to buy authentic looking guns as a hobby.Originally posted by chunyong:main thing is the damger it possess....why can't u understand dat ? wat if ur airsoft gets stolen or some small kids got hold of it when u were not around ? if we can ban certain item dat poses a danger to kids and us and the item only serves as an hobbyist item, why don't we ?
look at the big picture, the country as a whole, don't always think of small things like ability to carry arms, own airsoft. i rather do without it than compromise singapore's image.
airsoft will never be allowed to be owned by civillians, sad but true. i also love airsoft and replicas but i understand the rationale behind the ban. not as if its something we cannot do without...u get all ur chance to carry a real firearm if u are in SPF or SAF which most of us have to go through. treasure the moment loh...
Haha... I've always wanted to sign on but I discovered I dun have the necessary aptitude to be an army officer... No leadership quality lah...Originally posted by cleong:Cpl Ho,
If you are not in the military like your nickname suggests, perhaps you should sign on as an armskoteman specialist or something like that. Then you can play with the wide array of weaponry available to the armed forces, every day, strip, assemble, oil, adjust weapons till you go blue in the face from sniffing all that oil (which I forget the name of right now).
I'm not debating the rights and wrongs of not allowing replica guns, just offering an alternative.
haha, or if you really wanna action mama, go for those what ever "special forces for 2 weeks" tour where you will learn to be a spec ops, train by formal spec ops, use real weapons modify for paint rounds, and get to perform a mission. low down, it will bring you down by abt 5k USDOriginally posted by chunyong:1) Ha, why should police be happy when they have work to do ? why wouldn't they want peace ? duh... u think they can just arrest all the rioters and go back bunk sleep ? theres more to that, ask SOC people they will tell u...
2) Penknives can be used to cut things, and other meaningful and useful things, it is a daily worktool for people working in warehouses. airsoft guns leh....u tell loh, is it necessity ? no, is it needed for work ? no. is it useful ? no. can it hurt people ? Yes.
3) I mean those moulded one like Safariland lah, not those cheapo nylon ones.
4) 1 pellet to the eye, dats it. and u can be over 15 metres away. dats the same reason why throwing knives are not allowed too... u can get blueblack from being hit by those pellets, if hit on the face or eye the result is very jialat. somemore the speed is very fast, hard to defend against, a chopper u throw can still step out of the way...try avoid a pellet or a throwing knife. pls don't try to use darts to counter cos darts is sports and leisure.
if u really like to shoot, try air-rifle, its much harder than air-soft, guaranteed and not so ex too...but the rifle is not as stylo mylo. i agree shooting sports is rather ex here due to strict regulations and no competition among licensee...hope the situation will approve. i did sign up as member for marina airsoft range but hardly 6 mths into it, the range + arrow range closed down.
paintball is more fun than anything else, u get to shoot at real people while avoiding being splatted with paint all over. got to work as a team else u will be splatted all over when u run for the crate or ammobox. there is another kind called FX rds but its for police and SAF only. same as paintball but the amount of paint is lesser and such.
heard of it b4, they will teach u various shooting stances and methods. one of the small mission is vehicle hijack and u also learn how to drive offensively against an ambush and such.Originally posted by snk86:haha, or if you really wanna action mama, go for those what ever "special forces for 2 weeks" tour where you will learn to be a spec ops, train by formal spec ops, use real weapons modify for paint rounds, and get to perform a mission. low down, it will bring you down by abt 5k USD