Your assumption:Originally posted by |-|05|:I meant if airsoft guns were allowed and more robberies happen investor confidence will dip.After all if some1 pulls out something that looks and maybe even feels like the real thing,you cannot confirm that it is not....you dont wanna take the risk now do u?That would pose a problem.Especially if some ass does bring in a real gun and runs loose.With so many look alikes how the heck are you going to find out which?
What laws? well the lifting of the law for airsoft would most likely come after other less serious laws have been taken off.Namely having a casino and stuff like that.Honestly there are many other laws and rules that are less serious then allowing airsoft guns.
with a shape of a gun under the jacket, people will take 50% chance, but if u brandish an airsoft out, people will take 100% chance its a real gun and will cooperate and give u the $, much easier to rob. for robbing people, the same applies, people are taught self-defense against knife attacks cos of the requirement of proximity for the knife to work but if the robber uses an airsoft, , everything is different.Originally posted by Cpl Ho:Your assumption:
airsoft guns=more robberies
Not gonna happen... Armed robbers are deterred because it's capital punishment if kena caught. Not because they cannot find authentic looking weapons.... A robber now can hide a toy gun or a banana or whatever under his jacket and still rob... is the cashier gonna check under his jacket to see if it's real?
'well the lifting of the law for airsoft would most likely come after other less serious laws have been taken off...'
Well, take it all off then if they're less serious...![]()
Oh, so now we're talking about airsoft=successful robbery, not airsoft=more robbery...Originally posted by chunyong:with a shape of a gun under the jacket, people will take 50% chance, but if u brandish an airsoft out, people will take 100% chance its a real gun and will cooperate and give u the $, much easier to rob. for robbing people, the same applies, people are taught self-defense against knife attacks cos of the requirement of proximity for the knife to work but if the robber uses an airsoft, , everything is different.
"Well, take it all off then if they're less serious..." <- u sure u know what u are talking abt ?
hmmm, i better don't reply liao lah, u just die hard want to change the law and own an airsoft and refuse to listen to reasoning. go ahead then, but pay the price if and when u ganna tan-kup.Originally posted by Cpl Ho:Oh, so now we're talking about airsoft=successful robbery, not airsoft=more robbery...
That depends what laws we're talking about...![]()
Have you, ever, drawn down on a subject who was armed with an airsoft weapon?Originally posted by Cpl Ho:Oh, so now we're talking about airsoft=successful robbery, not airsoft=more robbery...
i'm waiting to see wat kind of one sided views he is gonna use to reply. maybe he will say 'nobody is gonna carry airsoft guns walking around' or 'all airsoft guns have orange tip, nobody is so stupid to spray blackpaint over the orange tip' or 'the POs should stop and ask if its an airsoft or a realgun b4 firing'....Originally posted by Johnston:Have you, ever, drawn down on a subject who was armed with an airsoft weapon?
Take it this way, if you were prowling and a bunch of buggers came over the fence armed with Airsoft rifles, would you take a chance?
Here's a scenario:
Police officers, chasing after a suspect, who is known to be armed, suddenly encounter a airsoft hobbyist who came out of a shop holding an airsoft gun and was pointed in their direction.
BANG. Goes the real gun.
Follows a long trial about "Why did you shoot when the civilian was holding an airsoft weapon?"
The answer, by expert witnesses such as airsoft shop owners, gunsmiths, and IPSC shooters, will be , "Unless you examine a airsoft weapon in minute detail, you cannot tell it is not the real thing".
they are not cops, they are Ciscos security guards. they could have shot the bugger but why they did not is most probably shock or they couldn't react in time....Originally posted by John Ching:Er! I just read about a bank robbery in S'pore, the robber was armed with only a kitchen knife. What happened to the cops?![]()
I have to say this.Originally posted by chunyong:i'm waiting to see wat kind of one sided views he is gonna use to reply. maybe he will say 'nobody is gonna carry airsoft guns walking around' or 'all airsoft guns have orange tip, nobody is so stupid to spray blackpaint over the orange tip' or 'the POs should stop and ask if its an airsoft or a realgun b4 firing'....
other countries allows airsoft doesn't mean we have to.![]()
if i'm not mistaken that was used during the army open house for the paintball game?But yea from what i hear the SAF guys love it.....cuz it's fun and it hurts lolOriginally posted by Xprobe:OIC, SAF also use this technology? For what?
Nope, who really wants to go thru' all that trouble to own a toy anyway... I'm just a SICKO who just DIE HARD wanna see how far you will go to RAM your opinion down ppl's throat...Originally posted by chunyong:hmmm, i better don't reply liao lah, u just die hard want to change the law and own an airsoft and refuse to listen to reasoning. go ahead then, but pay the price if and when u ganna tan-kup.
it is clear dat wat airsoft is capable of and what it can be used for, therefore our law prohibits it since the cons far outweighs the pros. we do not wanna leave things to the human mind and behaviour since we have always known dat human behaviour is unpredictable, dats why we have rules and regulations.
WRONG again... Mr I-MUST-BE-RIGHT... There's no need to reply when I know others can see my point...Originally posted by chunyong:i'm waiting to see wat kind of one sided views he is gonna use to reply. maybe he will say 'nobody is gonna carry airsoft guns walking around' or 'all airsoft guns have orange tip, nobody is so stupid to spray blackpaint over the orange tip' or 'the POs should stop and ask if its an airsoft or a realgun b4 firing'....
just wait to see the answer and u will be amused. i am, has always been, by his lack of thought and logic, which is a sign dat his fetish for airsoft has caused him not to think logically regarding such an important issue and the possible drawbacks which will come along with it, which to him, is just a minor issue like buying something and keeping it at home.
btw, i like airsoft too but i don't and won't compromise a hobby for other's safety and my own...
other countries allows airsoft doesn't mean we have to.![]()
Originally posted by Cpl Ho:WRONG again... Mr I-MUST-BE-RIGHT... There's no need to reply when I know others can see my point...
one sided views? Well, look who's talking...
his lack of thought and logic,
which is a sign dat his fetish for airsoft
Oh... THis is SO S'pore... belittling your opponent and resorting to personal attacks, r we? Sounds familiar huh? Wow... fetish... someone's a psychologist now... psychoanalysing me... I feel a certain closeness suddenly, do you?
'minor issue'? Then why make a big fuss?
yah, hurts more than those normal paintball balls but is more realistic cos when ganna hit will have a little paint, unlike those normal paintball balls (which u can throw at people when frustrated) dat make a mess out of you. but when using have to wear a vest else wait blue black then jialat. then if within 5-10 metres cannot fire also but with the vest is more or less ok if accidental unless dat bugger aim for ur neck or other hard-to-protect. normally will ganna blueblack at the arms one lah, if ganna hand then sibeh troublesome one.Originally posted by |-|05|:if i'm not mistaken that was used during the army open house for the paintball game?But yea from what i hear the SAF guys love it.....cuz it's fun and it hurts lol
ok, u are right. sorry for the inconvenience caused.Originally posted by Cpl Ho:WRONG again... Mr I-MUST-BE-RIGHT... There's no need to reply when I know others can see my point...
one sided views? Well, look who's talking...
his lack of thought and logic,
which is a sign dat his fetish for airsoft
Oh... THis is SO S'pore... belittling your opponent and resorting to personal attacks, r we? Sounds familiar huh? Wow... fetish... someone's a psychologist now... psychoanalysing me... I feel a certain closeness suddenly, do you?
'minor issue'? Then why make a big deal?
Originally posted by Johnston:I am reminded of "Time and Tide" in which Nicholas Tse's character carried an Airsoft Glock around, and pulled it on a person.
The answer was "Do you think i am born yesterday? THat isnt a real gun!"
Also, the pregnant lady pointed the Airsoft Glock at a criminal later, and the bugger thought it was real. Until he noted that she was pulling the trigger and the slide wasnt even locking back.
Maybe CPL Ho has X-Ray eyes.
No apologies needed... we're not at the Parliament debating a legislation or what... What we say here dun mean no sh-t in the REAL world anyway... No big deal to me who's right... ...Originally posted by chunyong:ok, u are right. sorry for the inconvenience caused.
Originally posted by Cpl Ho:No apologies needed... we're not at the Parliament debating a legislation or what... What we say here dun mean no sh-t in the REAL world anyway... No big deal to me who's right... ...
OF COURSE some of my replies are outright crazy, crafted so that people can think out of the box without quoting me the 'Official' stand or 'logical' view which I of course already know....
What matters to me is whether people are willing to tolerate alternative views, no matter how crazy and not shoot it down before some serious thinking and a good debate...
Perfectly fine with me if everyone agrees to disagree, without adopting a holier-than-thou attitude, talking down to ppl or resorting to personal attack... So my apologies if i cross the line...
Finally, there's no need for this forum in the first place if everyone already agrees with each other, rite?
shooting sports in SG is too ex, i rather u go to HK 4 a holiday and shoot all u want. u wanna shoot in SG, can...either u are fricking rich and i mean real fricking or u got some gahmen sector behind to support u like in shooting clays, else no $ or no sports excellence no talk.
Hey, chill la...your logic sound like George W. BushOriginally posted by Cpl Ho:Oh, so now we're talking about airsoft=successful robbery, not airsoft=more robbery...
Yah... one of my 'crazier' replies written between work... Read my earlier thread to understand why...Originally posted by Xprobe:Hey, chill la...your logic sound like George W. Bush
Anyway, if I am a robber, I wouldnt bother because the cops will shoot back with real bullets once I brandish an airsoft. Not worth it
Er...I dunno about the "And of course, from time to time, we have one or two criminals who manage to knock out/kill a officer and take their sidearm." Not that I know of many such cases happening nowadays expecially pertaining to the "kill" part....the last time it happened to a police officer was way back in 1991 at Tampines (it was, however, snatch before kill...not the other way round.Originally posted by Johnston:*chuckle*
I have enough arms and armaments at home to arm a complete Infantry Squad, with leftovers for 2 whole heavy weapon sections.
But really,
There have been several cases of publicised suicides/accident cases happening in the SPF/Cisco.
Last year i remember a case of a Cisco officer shooting himself, because his wife was two-timing him. (better yet, the wife was a DXO).
Several years back, there was a case of a officer got shot by his gf, because he allowed his gf to play with his gun. Oops. It was loaded that time. just once.
Lastly, we have several years back, another officer who ran amok right here in yishun. It was a VERY MAJOR piece of news back then.
And of course, from time to time, we have one or two criminals who manage to knock out/kill a officer and take their sidearm.
Pile all these cases together, and are there people in singapore who are legally holding guns at home? yes.
And for those in the know, a certain permit issued by a certain agency allows you to have a firearm.
He finished his craft in just 1 minute.Originally posted by John Ching:Er! I just read about a bank robbery in S'pore, the robber was armed with only a kitchen knife. What happened to the cops?![]()